We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, will definatly be staying again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Long Melford B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Long Melford B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Long Melford B&B and Inns
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, will definatly be staying again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night on the 9th August. The room is very, very clean and tidy. Bed was very comfortable and its a nice walk into the center of long melford. Breakfast was really nice and the owners are really friendly. Couldnt fault it at all, definalty reccomend it to anyone!! Will be returing again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellystuoscar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wedding to attend in Long Melford and most places were already booked so we took the last two rooms! Chris & Jane were great hosts, it was an extremely hot day and luckily we had a fan in our room (Room 5) - we couldn't fault it, great value for money - would definitely recommend and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samms41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed in one of the chalets on a week-end break. It was clean and comfortable with very good tea and coffee making facilities (generous amounts of tea and coffee). The walk-in shower was an added bonus for anyone with mobility problems. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cool in the very hot weather. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was freshly cooked to perfection. Very peaceful location. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the chalets if you have a mobility problem as the walk in showers are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Perhaps I was expecting too much, however for £78 (with early check in), I was not impressed with our Chalet room at the Long Melford Inn.

The room its self was very dark, which wasnt helped by one of the interal lights being broken. The decor is dated, whih could easily be fixed with a lick of paint and some coloured paintings/curtains etc.

The Shower Room was very small, dark and extremely cold. (the light above the sink also did not work)

Unfortuntely the WiFi did not work for us, despite being told upon check in that they had high-speed internet.

In terms of cleanliness, I would give this an average rating. The TV screen has smear marks all over it, the skirting boards were cracked and dusty and the drainage/stale water smell around the front door was not pleasant.

We did not stick around for breakfast in the morning, therefore I can not comment on this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very nice helpful owners and lovely breakfast . Dining room very nicely decorated and comfortable. Slept in one of the chalets because I wanted an ensuite but I found it very chilly even with the heating on. I expect the rooms in the inn itself were probably much warmer but I wouldn't recommend the chalets if you're staying in the winter.

Room Tip: Not sure I would recommend the chalets in wintertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Same as the other reviews-great little place to stay, really lovely friendly owners and fantastic breakfast-served at a normal time (when you want!) rather than silly o clock in the morning! Beds were lovely and comfy, tea making facilities great and really, well, just a nice place. Convenient to get to the village and easy to find

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very good B&B, with owners who are really helpful and very friendly. Extremely dog friendly, which is a massive bonus! The chalet room had its own little garden area, and we were told that the owners intend to make each garden enclosed in the future which will be a fabulous asset (for dogs!). The full English breakfast is excellent and the dining area very spacious. Lots of easy parking right next to the chalet. Very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Chalet rooms take one dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthandSouthDivide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
1.2 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.1 mi away
Melford House at The Long Melford Swan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Long Melford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Long Melford B&B

Property: The Long Melford B&B
Address: Rodbridge Hill, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9HN, England (Formerly The Long Melford Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Long Melford B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Family run B&B has comfortable accommodation offering free cooked breakfast, Wi-Fi and large car park . - Our 3 secluded En suite chalets have a hairdryer, complimentary water and biscuits, also Patio with table and chairs are dog friendly. These are twin beds but can also be a Superkingsize bed on request. - Rooms are upstairs in the main building, share a shower room and also have complimentary water, biscuits and toiletries. A unique B&B which has its own flock of Doves flying freely . Set in a fascinating village ,that has the amazing Holy Trinity Church, Kentwell Hall and the National Trusts' Melford Hall . Lots to see and do and worth spending some time enjoying this special place , ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Long Melford B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Long Melford B&B Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing