We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George & Dragon Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Long Melford B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did the job”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were looking for somewhere cheap to stay the night after a friends wedding and this fit the bill.
The room was fine, a bit on the small side and shabby in areas but generally clean. The room faced onto the main room and I imagine it could be a bit noisy if you were sober, but I wasn't so I didn't care!
The bathroom to the room was huuuge.
Breakfast was served in the morning, sausages were lovely but the fried eggs and fried bread were a bit overdone. Still enjoyed it though.
Staff were friendly and polite and there was a lovely fat cat who loved attention.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    40
    35
    12
    22
See reviews for
36
81
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a friend's wedding at nearby Alpheton Hall Barns. We were able to check in early before the wedding and had a superior room in the block next to the pub. We were pleasantly surprised as it has been very well refurbished with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage, flatscreen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was large with a good power shower and nice toiletries provided. The only improvement I would make is to double glaze the windows as there is some road noise.
Breakfast the next morning was served in the dining room at the back of the pub. It was a light and airy room and the breakfast was one of the best we've had in a long time.
Most of our friends from the wedding stayed in Lavenham (and paid over £200 a night!). We were so glad we stayed here as it was far better value and much nicer, in our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirstycarter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed in the George & Dragon to hole up for a night's break between christmas and the new year. In these cold, foggy, still winters' days we did not plan on extensive sight seeing, though Long Melford has much to offer in this regard with its abundance of antique shops, opportunities for walking and cycling, and proximity to Melford & Kentwell Halls. Instead, we just wanted a cosy place to stay, ideally with character, and within a short walk of decent places to eat and drink. The George and Dragon was perfect. A smiling welcome, a massive family room to ourselves (room 6) with modern ensuite and large p shaped bath. A delicious, filling full English breakfast rounded our stay off. As a pub, not without competition in Long Melford, it wasn't half bad either. We'll definitely be back in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We booked a superior room (no 12) in an annex. The room and bathroom (bath with good shower) size are good and the bed is comfortable. The decor however is looking shabby, with obvious signs of the conversion to ensuite not finished off or poorly done - hole in ceiling, towel rail loose despite having been refixed and the previous holes not filled in, paint badly chipped. This room is facing the busy street but has no double glazing so is noisy late into the evening and early in the morning. With deep windows it also needs privacy curtains. The attention to detail is lacking - on arrival bedside lamp bulb blown, only one saucer for two cups, no outside door key initially provided - little things that could make a difference. The main pub can also get noisy so not one if you're looking for a quite stay.

The breakfast options are very good; cannot comment on the evening meals as they closed the first night we were there and we also ate at other restaurants on the other two nights of our stay.

It's location half way down the main street means that you are within walking distance of several good eateries from the reasonable to more expensive.

Overall, ok if you want a low cost stay and are prepared to put up with some noise and functionality rather than excellence.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scriptwriteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltash
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed at this inn with my elderly Mother, first I must say we enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was the best we have eaten in along while. we had a twin room no.4 up stairs but has hand rail, room itself is quite small, the bathroom with wardrobe init is about the same size, there is also a dip in middle of the floor, the traffic can be heard alnight as room is only single glazed, some parking or on road. if you want a place with some chacacter and not to many staight lines this is a good place to start.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltashcornishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Spent two nights in the George and Dragon whilst in Suffolk visiting relatives. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had Sunday lunch in the pub dining room and it was delicious. We also had and evening meal - again delicious and great value. Needless to say, the breakfast was great. I had the full 'English' while my wife had the 'healthy option'.

The accomadation was basic but comfortable. On the day we left, a major refurbishment of the pub and accomadation was beginning. Hopefully the George and Dragon will retain it's great atmosphere when the refurbishment is complete.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our room was shabby with a filthy carpet which was frayed at the edges. The bathroom was not cleaned during our stay and neither was the bed made. It appears that the whole place is being refurbished which it very much needs but not while guests are in residence. There was no warning of this and the description of the accommodation by a previous guest review on this website did not resemble our perception of this venue.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenisapickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Long Melford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.2 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
508 reviews
3.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
438 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George & Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon Inn

Property: The George & Dragon Inn
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George & Dragon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True East Anglian Inn! A traditional Inn with 14 bedrooms all but one of which are en-suite. We pride ourselves on the warmth of our welcome to all guests and 'regulars.' Our food is fantastic, traditional English style fayre and the bar is as popular with locals as it is with visitors. Almost uniquely to Long Melford, we offer live entertainment throughout the year for your enjoyment. There is ample parking at the rear and a large garden as well as a huge patio area with an equally huge, heated parasol. A quick pint, a family get together or a week's holiday - whatever the occasion ...We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George & Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Inn
The George & Dragon Hotel Long Melford
The George & Dragon Inn Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing