We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George & Dragon Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Long Melford B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend stay.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the George and Dragon 16th May for 2 nights as we were attending a friends daughters wedding in Great Waldingfield (12 min drive from hotel). There were 4 adults and 3 rooms booked rooms 7 and 8 which had front doors straight off the street and room 11 which was situated in a building next door to the pub. My husband and I stayed in room 11 which was very large with a seating area. The room was full of character and the bathroom was a good size but word of caution MIND YOUR HEAD WHEN GOING TO TOILET as the door frame is low, this is NOT a negative comment as I found it quite querky. The bar staff, receptionist, and housekeeping were pleasant and polite and could not do enough for you. The full English breakfast was superb (scrambled egg was creamy and yummy) our compliments to the chef. We have stayed in many 4/5 star Hotels and have not had the friendliness of the staff. This is a pub hotel and although basic we would definately stay here again. Thank you all for a delightful stay. Just a final note good eateries nearby and shops, the food at The George and Dragon is reasonably priced and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house next door are bigger with setee, It can be noisey at the front (road noise) but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    39
    35
    12
    22
See reviews for
36
79
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the George and Dragon on a Saturday evening as we were going to a 40th Wedding celebration in Sudbury and didn't want to drive home afterwards. We had tried other Hotels nearby but found they were either fully booked or very expensive for 1 night. Even so this Hotel charged £89 for B & B which is not cheap these days. We were given a room at the front of the Hotel facing the road. The door opened directly to the street. It was obviously once a separate cottage and there were just the bedroom and bathroom. It was very clean but quite basic. We only had 1 bedside table and I bedside lamp! The bathroom was also quite basic with a toilet, wash basin and cubicle shower. The blind was broken and could not be raised. As we were a bit late we changed quickly and went off to the party. When we returned after midnight the room was very cold (being an old cottage) and there was no heating on nor could we get it to come on. There was no handset for the TV so could not get it to work despite pressing some buttons on the set.The next morning it was still cold (especially in the bathroom) as still no heating so we showered quickly (fortunately the shower was very hot!) and went to breakfast in the pub. The breakfast room faced the morning sun so we were able to warm up! Service was good and we had tea and fresh coffee followed by an excellent cooked breakfast. Breakfast cereals were available but no fruit. When we checked out we mentioned the cold room to the lady on the reception desk and was very apologetic and said we should have mentioned it on the night before but as it was after midnight we did not think there would be anyone about. It could be a nice place to stay but needs a bit of attention to detail especially at that price. The good points were the hot shower and cooked breakfast. The bad points are the coldness of the room with quite basic amenities.

Room Tip: perhaps rooms inside the pub are cosier?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we were visiting kentwell hall over the Easter weekend. We booked a family and was impressed with the size of the room and the fact the child had its own separate room to sleep in. The room was clean and tidy upon arrival. One thing to note is the family room we stayed in was at the front so you got some road noise and was above the bar area and as they had a live bad on the room was fairly noisy. The staff were very friendly here and also helpful. The breakfast was good and we also had some lunch in there which was also good.
If I was to stay in long melford I would definitely consider staying here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the rooms in the next door building which were quite large, clean and nicely fitted out. All in all a very pleasant experience and reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank andantrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked a stay for new years eve and was really happy. Our room was very spacious and had lovely beams in the centre,it was also spotless. We asked for a cot for our little one and it was set up when we arrived. Staff were so friendly and always happy to help. Breakfast was very good also. Overall I would recommend this hotel as we had a fantastic stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkkkkkaaaaaalllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a Superior Double. Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast, food, and staff was great. Very friendly and welcoming inn. We had no problem with any of our stay. Would stay again and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelhar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Spent a few nights here with my wife, but must say, it was somewhat noisy and if the weather had been very cold, I don't think the heating would have been adequate, as it was only just, with the heating on full time.

The room could have been cleaner, with the floor still showing flakes of paint from the bathroom threshold still in evidence after at the end of our stay. The bathroom sink was not cleaned during our stay, either, which wouldn't have so bad had there been some cleaning materials left for the purpose.

The room let out immediately onto the street, which was a factor in the noise. I do think that a decent mortice lock should have been fitted for security, rather than the standard Yale type.

Breakfast was good, with a reasonable variety and a decent full English offered.

Room Tip: We later found out that, we were in a standard room; the superior ones may be better and there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryc894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.1 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
434 reviews
3.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
124 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bridge Street Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George & Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George & Dragon Inn

Property: The George & Dragon Inn
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George & Dragon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True East Anglian Inn! A traditional Inn with 14 bedrooms all but one of which are en-suite. We pride ourselves on the warmth of our welcome to all guests and 'regulars.' Our food is fantastic, traditional English style fayre and the bar is as popular with locals as it is with visitors. Almost uniquely to Long Melford, we offer live entertainment throughout the year for your enjoyment. There is ample parking at the rear and a large garden as well as a huge patio area with an equally huge, heated parasol. A quick pint, a family get together or a week's holiday - whatever the occasion ...We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George & Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George & Dragon Hotel Long Melford
The George And Dragon Inn
The George & Dragon Inn Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing