We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We came for a wedding at the nearby Kentwell Manor and just wanted somewhere to stay for the night. The village of Long Melford is adorable and the Crown is situated in the heart of the village with ample free parking.
Ian, the proprietor could not have done more to make us welcome and was particularly understanding of the needs of our 83yr old disabled mum.
The rooms exceeded our expectations and the beds were very, very comfortable.
The food was great, an imaginative selection and hugely enjoyable. Our only regret was that we hadn't come down the night before and spent more time at the Crown and Long Melford.

Room Tip: A good idea to mention disability issues when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    56
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
61
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the annex which suited us well as we had a dog. The room was very clean and well appointed T.V. had freeview,double bed ideal for a mistress but a bit narrow for a wife !! Staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast good and location central, altogether good value for money and enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The corridor outside the room smelt of damp, the room was full of cobwebs and the bathroom floor was filthy. The strong smell of urine in the bathroom came from a large, very old, brown, sticky looking puddle of urine behind the toilet. As soon as we went down to dinner (against my better judgement having seen the hygiene standards) I reported what I had found & the bar man made a note of it.

The food is not bad, but breakfast is strange with just a choice of two juices and corn flakes or muesli, both served to you at the table. Only muesli left on Sunday.Pots of tea, but no pot of coffee, so you have to keep asking for more from the coffee machine. The cooked breakfast was ok, but small.

Despite further complaints to the bar staff, our bathroom was never cleaned, although the bed had been remade.

Room Tip: Don't bother - there's plenty of choice in this pretty & central village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I was staying for a friends wedding at Streetham Barn, really convienient.

I spent two nights in a single room in the annex. The room had a double bed, perfect for a single & would have been ok for a couple, although room might have been a bit small for a couple.

The room was basic but nice & clean. Tea/coffee & trouser press, toiletries included & a nice change to find a proper bath. Sky TV was a bonus. Breakfast was included and was delicious, cooked to order and pouched eggs were perfect.

Staff were welcoming and friendly and towel and room were changed everyday. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Had lunch here last weekend from bar menu. Very welcoming establishment, fire, clean and busy - which is a good sign!

Bar staff really friendly and with a very good understanding of the products used in each dish. Good selection of items on menu from burgers/wraps/sandwiches/salads/soup etc. Hubby chose marie rose prawn doorstep sandwich which he rated as very good with fab fresh brown bread. I had chicken salad which was nice and tasty but the homemade coleslaw and potato salad where wasted with way too much mayonnaise (not home made either) and the chicken came with caesar dressing drizzled on top - too much for the poor chicken/salad. Such a shame as all the ingrediants were really fresh and colourful. Came with a baguette that looked a bit anaemic to be honest - panini bread really. Should have changed for the brown bread - my fault!

Drinks were spot on.

All in all the bar staff were fantastic and yes I would try it again when in Long Melford but will try the main restaurant as the menu board looked amazing. Lots of customers coming and going.

PS: dogs welcome and water bowls offered instantly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesseboyonhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Comfortable room and friendly bar service, alas I did not get to try the food as we were booked in elsewhere, but the menu looked interesting. Good real ale. Will definitely revisit next time in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Having paid £85 for a room I was expecting at least an average level of room. However, the room I received was small, incredibly dated and generally of pretty poor quality.

The staff were very friendly though which was nice! Just a shame that the rooms couldn't have been given a bit more attention. The room I stayed in could pass as a single.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.1 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
434 reviews
3.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
122 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Crown Hotel and Restaraunt. We are a family run business in the centre of the beautiful historic village of Long Melford. It is known for its charm and character, stately homes, stunning church also a fantastic choice of shops from antiques to boutique shops which has offers for all keen shopper. Our selves at The Crown being the last remaining free house in the village we provide an exstenive range of wines, real ales and hand pull cider, with home cooked meals available from the bar or restaraunt menu. If you want to just stop off for a drink and a light meal or have a family gathering we can accommodate both in our cosy bar and restaraunt. If your looking to make your stay a little longer we have 12 en-suite rooms that have just been refurbished which look out of this world. If you are a couple looking for a relaxing weekend break away or business person looking for a one night stop this is the place to be. Our door is always open where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing