We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch as saw the beautiful church and it was close, had 2 of their great open sandwiches (beef & Sausage) these were wonderful, good service good price, lovely toilets great view across the green

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were pleased to be upgraded on arrival to a nice room with a view of the green. The room was spacious and well equipped with a comfy bed - we were surprised to have blankets not a duvet. cotton waffle robes and quality toiletries and biscuits made a very relaxing stay. We had a pre dinner drink sat outside then our meal sat in the bar area. The menu choices were all tempting, the Dingly dell pork was very good, and the cheese selection delicious.
Breakfast was a Suffolk treat, even the apple juice was local. All the staff made us feel very welcome, it was a great start to our holiday.
The only negative would be that some of the furnishings and decor are looking rather tired, but all was very clean.
We did visit the Church and Melford Hall, both very interesting.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We took up the Sunday evening deal for dinner, Bed and Breakfast and were not disappointed. The room was large and yes, it was warm but the fan and a big open window sorted that out. The food was uniformly excellent and the service beyond criticism.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned for the Black Lion we have had GREAT service from ALL the staff, from the first welcome from Micheal to when we left. good food (including the mushrooms ) big thank you we will see you again. Bob & Elizabeth Brewer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLizEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you want to wait an hour for a breakfast that has been baked dry then this is the place for you. Upper rooms unbearably hot and stuffy and fan does not work. Certainly not worth the money, distinctly moderate!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea for two at the Black Lion in Long Melford. Oh dear, very poor. The sandwiches were ok but not very well presented. The scones looked liked 'value' super market scones. The tiny piece of chocolate brownie was not too fresh and the piece of cherry tart looked as though it had been on the plate for some time. Neither of us fancied it so don't know how it tasted. The clotted cream was very good. Very poor value for money. Don't think I will go again!!

Not only disappointing for us but also for the person who gave us the gift who assumed it would be in the setting as shown on the web site.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simpson008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night in the Chablis room, which has an inter-connecting room with bunk beds - ideal for families. As we only booked the day before, the hotel allowed one of our children to stay for free (the cost is usually a rather steep £37 per child). The rooms were both pretty small - the bunk bed room only has room for the bed. But this didn't matter too much for a one night stay.

Positives: the very friendly welcome on arrival, huge fluffy white towels, comfortable bed. En suite bathroom is a good size. The breakfast was generally excellent - large tasty portion of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, good Full English, fantastic (homemade I think) granola, good quality fruit juice, leaf tea and cafetiere coffee. Shame the toast was from a standard cheap sliced loaf. Easy to park outside. Children enjoyed a small toy box in the reception area and the rocking horses around the hotel which staff said they were welcome to ride on!

Less good: we found a beer can under the bunk bed (the children were asking what the smell was!) and someone else's hairbrush under our bed. The rooms seem a little bit tired and in a need of a renovation. For example, the paint on the bunk bed was wearing off, the carpets are worn, the wallpaper was scuffed quite a bit, the paint on the bath panel was chipping off. For the price, I would have expected better. The shower was very weak, and fixed, so that if you are taller than about 5'9" you wouldn't be able to fit your head under it without stooping. If this place is renovated soon (and the toast is made of nicer bread) then it could be 5*.

Room Tip: Chablis is good if you have children as there is an inter-connecting room with a bunk bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Teacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.4 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
542 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,223 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Long Melford
Black Lion Hotel Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing