We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding Weekend”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

For any future brides looking for the perfect bridal suite I would fully recommend the Black Lion Hotel. On the morning of the wedding we had photographers, videographers, family and friends all coming and going from our room and the team of staff at the hotel could not do enough to help it all run smoothly.
We also loved the fact the hotel allowed us to bring the four legged member of our family with us which meant he could be a part of our big day.
Our wedding photographer LOVED the room due to all its beautiful features and light that flooded in.
Myself and my new husband :) will 100% be going back there on an anniversary .
Thanks Black Lion for helping make our stay so special

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    127
    45
    12
    11
See reviews for
49
286
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from our daughters wedding and stayed at the Black Lion, Michael greeted us on Friday with a lovely warm welcome, he could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Even coming to the rescue when one of the roses in the bouquet got broken. The rooms were lovely, loads of room, lovely bed. View was great. Breakfast was yummy! Thank you Michael & Nikki for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Delightful setting in a lovely location. The Black Lion is a building full of character. Great for a special treat away for one night.
Very attentive and extremely pleasant staff throughout.
On the down side, we found the bathroom water pressure was so low that the toilet cistern took 40 mins to fill up after each flush and the bath shower attachment was un-useable. The shower cubicle had mould on the grouting at the bottom, but at least worked well.
However the biggest disappointment was the food. Very, very mediocre (and that's being generous).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_and_D_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the very beginning, when we first broached the idea of asking the Black Lion to host the wedding of our daughter and Paul, manager Michael Ruthven was most informative, helpful and supportive. We enjoyed having exclusive use of the Hotel and rooms over the weekend for our families including an excellent (as usual) evening meal on the night before. On the day, everything went smoothly, and was effortless for us, because of the attentiveness and leadership by Michael. All the staff were highly motivated and committed, right from the early preparations, top class wedding breakfast and faultless service through to the late evening. Even after a very long day on the Saturday, Michael was as fresh as ever on the Sunday when the families enjoyed lazy breakfast and drinks ‘til well in to the afternoon before guests finally departed (no one wanted to leave!).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_and_Jackie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this delightfully situated hotel with a very old friend for lunch. Service was patchy by young ladies who speared to be not terribly well trained regularly asking whether everything was alright! food disappointing ordered smoked haddock kedgeree that was more rice than fish! Not a good experience

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend as a birthday treat/base to explore the local areas wedding venues and were really impressed. The rooms are large and well decorated, the location is excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and professional. Then we come on to the breakfast, oh the breakfast! There were lots of options, the quality of the food was great and so was the selection on offer. No greasy spoon cafe, this breakfast was delicious. We will hopefully be getting married in the area next year and will be recommending the hotel to all of our guests. Thanks Black Lion, you made a base for a great weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jomes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch as saw the beautiful church and it was close, had 2 of their great open sandwiches (beef & Sausage) these were wonderful, good service good price, lovely toilets great view across the green

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
3.5 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Property: Black Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Long Melford
Black Lion Hotel Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing