We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kentwell Hall

Kentwell Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kentwell Hall is a beautiful moated red brick Tudor Manor House in the historic village of Long Melford, Suffolk. Whilst not a stately home, this 'little great house' remains a lived-in and much-loved family home; something it has been for over 500 years. Surrounded by timbered outbuildings, tranquil gardens and a large estate, Kentwell is popular for family days out, weddings, filming and functions and is noted for its special events programme including living history re-creations and the award-winning Scaresville experience.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to the Tudor recreation day. Had a fascinating time. Loads to see and people to talk too. Takes a bit of getting used to. No signs, tours or directions but that is all part of the charm. You are stepping back into a world not a theme park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwell H, Manager at Kentwell Hall, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are pleased you understood and embraced the event and enjoyed your visit. As you state, our full-scale re-creation aims to transport visitors back to the Sixteenth Century and it is a fully-immersive experience - far more than a signposted route around a theme park! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    74
    27
    23
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Easter re-creation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A truly amazing place. I visited all of the days it was open at the Easter weekend. The weather was great most of the time. As always, so many things to see, especially around the hall. The kitchen is my favourite place, the smells, the action, brilliant. It is open again this month, so hopefully will be visiting, couldn't recommend it more, really great value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

we went there for the May day celebration, the price for two adults was reasonable and the little gift shop not over priced. The Tudor re-enactment was very good and we were given a little talk before we went in by a guy dressed in Tudor clothes telling us that all the Tudor people would interact with us but to expect the Tudor way of speaking, the attention to detail was fantastic and very well done. Yes the catering could be beefed up a bit, there was a queue for tea and food but we were served within ten mins and the price was reasonable. all in all a good day out, and well worth the visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
649 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A terrific day out - not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We first visited here with our children on a number of occasions approximately 30 years ago, to experience some of the Summer Events. This time we went with the grandchildren for the Easter Event and they (and we) enjoyed it just as much.
It is a beautiful house, painstakingly restored over the years and still a family home. It's set in extensive grounds, well manicured where necessary with a moat, farm yard, stable yard cafés serving food, walled garden etc - and, not to forget, the topiary hedge at the rear of the house.
The food choice was limited and expensive for what it was, but not out of kilter with cafés in similar stately homes, so we were not disconcerted. And the facilities were clean, tidy and comfortable, with adequate seating.
But the high spot of the visit was the Tudor Re-enactment. As others have reported, everywhere you go in the house or grounds you find craftsmen, servants, gentry and others dressed in Tudor garb and speaking in the vernacular of the times. They are ever ready to engage with the visitors and explain what they were doing, how, and why. To hear them converse on an equal footing with an 8-year old and a 5 year old, answering their questions patiently and passing on their knowledge, was such a pleasure. The kids enjoyed the "Tudor-speak" and seemed to have no difficulty in understanding what was said. The apothecaries, the cooks, the smithy and the wood carvers were particular favourites.
Yes it is expensive, but when you consider the number of actors etc involved on the day, and the quality of the interaction, you can't expect it to be cheap and it's definitely worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely day out but very over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

After paying £52 to get in ( 2adults 2 children ) no family ticket available. It seemed quite a steep price to pay.We got a sheet for the children's Easter egg hunt and then had to buy pencils to fill out the forms.the kids loved looking around for the eggs although they were not really fussed about the Tudors walking about. We loved the lambs and the piglets and the snoring pig :0). We loved walking around the grounds and sat and had a picnic in the walled garden which was lovely. My favourite part of the garden was the the " fern stumpery" we managed to find all the eggs and went to have a hot drink from the restaurant which again £16 for 4 cups of tea and 3 cornflake Easter nests. Was also abit steep and it seemed a little unorganised as the queue was massive. We ended our day by going into the house firstly having a hot cross bun freshly made in the kitchen which was another £2 each. My 10 year old son seemed interested in how they were made etc and ask sensible questions but was thrown back with how the lady spoke as he didn't really understand her "Tudor talk " .we did look around the house but I must say it was my least favourite part of the day. Simon leaving the boys handed in there Easter egg forms and they had even got the cospde right the lady said she had run out of eggs but found some tiny chocolate eggs at the bottom of the bag. On reflection of our day, a lovely house , although not for us , set in stunning grounds really overpriced for an Easter egg hunt, cup of tea and hot cross bun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwell H, Manager at Kentwell Hall, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Festive Easter is one of Kentwell’s Tudor Re-Creations, hence ticket prices are higher than for general house opening. Entry price during the Easter Bank Holiday included access to all areas of the house, gardens and farm, over 100 Tudors celebrating Easter about the manor, as well as the Easter Egg Hunt and Eggheads Quiz.

We are glad you enjoyed the house and grounds - the snoring pig is always a draw! And we hope you do not think your £2 was wasted for a fresh hot cross bun; all proceeds from the sales were donated to St Nicholas Hospice Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kentwell Hall also viewed

Long Melford, Babergh District
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds
 
East Bergholt, Babergh District
Long Melford, Babergh District
 

Been to Kentwell Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing