We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic day”
Review of Kentwell Hall

Kentwell Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kentwell Hall is a beautiful moated red brick Tudor Manor House in the historic village of Long Melford, Suffolk. Whilst not a stately home, this 'little great house' remains a lived-in and much-loved family home; something it has been for over 500 years. Surrounded by timbered outbuildings, tranquil gardens and a large estate, Kentwell is popular for family days out, weddings, filming and functions and is noted for its special events programme including living history re-creations and the award-winning Scaresville experience.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We go to at least one Kentwell re-enactment every year and it never fails to deliver an excellent day. This year the 400 or so Tudors were anxiously awaiting a visit from Queen Elizabeth the 1st. Everyone was going about their daily tasks but there were also the extra chores for the royal visit. The Tudors never slip out of character and speak in the manner which would have been spoken in the 16th century. Even the children, who were aged from a few weeks upwards, played their part very well A truely enjoyable day but be warned you do need the whole day to make the most of it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    80
    28
    23
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kentwell Hall Tudor Festival”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Get the right weather (and we did on mid-summers day) and you will see pure theatre.
There are somewhere around 400 re-enactment actors wandering around the estate doing the various jobs that would have been appropriate in the year 1578. Additionally the estate was buzzing with the news that there could be a visit by Queen Elizabeth I in the next few weeks. The household were therefore busy working out how they could entertain her both in food, music and dance.
You can talk to the actors and they will answer you in the type of language that would have been right for the period. In the whole day I never heard one performer slip bag into 21st century English.
Reckon to spend at least 5 hours on festival days and time will fly by, you will come out wanting more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caltours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Tudor day - well worth the price”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I read the description of the day and I thought it was probably not that good and wouldn't be worth the price (£20) - but it was and we all enjoyed the day. The entrance is through the 'Time Tunnel' - this is basically a dark tunnel. I found it hard to navigate and had expected some display, sound track or something.
On approach the grounds seemed a bit sparse, a few tents flogging their wares. Some musicians to the side , and I really enjoyed the music. It was a hot day, and I felt for the people wearing costumes in heavy fabrics. The kitchen was even hotter, but interesting. It made one think about the servants of the time. There was some procession of food to the Hall but it got a bit crowded, so we moved on. Apart from this, none of Tudor 'characters' were engaged in displays, they just wondered around as if engaged in their usual routine. There really was a lot of them all over the grounds, it gave a very natural effect, engaging and charming. Trying to talk to them is a bit difficult, so worth using the crib sheet given. Had some entertaining chats along the way, but they clearly know their stuff, so if you have the time and inclination, I think it could be very informative.
Lovely house, beautiful grounds, we only had a few hours to spare, but could easily have spent the whole day. Nice restaurant, check out the tea room on the first floor.
Plenty of parking, grounds are grassed, fairly spaced, which might be difficult in access terms. Some steps to and within building and some narrow passages.
We went because we were in the area, but it's really well worth the trip, a wonderful day out for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After going past Kentwell Hall quite often we finally went in to see it. Everything about the day was good fun from the currency exchange on the way in to the "sick man" who seemed to be everywhere. We found the interaction with the Tudors was very good especially the use of the Tudor language as well made it all the more enjoyable. The cost was £19 each which sounds a lot but we spent the whole day there and never got bored. The food prices inside were ok and there's also places to have a picnic if you bring your own, but we found the pottage and ale quite good. All in all a good thoroughly enjoyable day out, and we will visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to the Tudor recreation day. Had a fascinating time. Loads to see and people to talk too. Takes a bit of getting used to. No signs, tours or directions but that is all part of the charm. You are stepping back into a world not a theme park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwell H, Manager at Kentwell Hall, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are pleased you understood and embraced the event and enjoyed your visit. As you state, our full-scale re-creation aims to transport visitors back to the Sixteenth Century and it is a fully-immersive experience - far more than a signposted route around a theme park! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kentwell Hall also viewed

Long Melford, Babergh District
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds
 
Long Melford, Babergh District
East Bergholt, Babergh District
 

Been to Kentwell Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing