We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with friends”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great dinner with friends”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Me, my husband and our friends had a wonderful dinning experience at the bull on Monday 11th November. The food was excellent, in both quality and value for money. I opted for a fillet steak and I'm so glad I did as it was cooked to perfection. The ambiance and the waiting staff rounded off our evening and made our whole visit worth shouting about. Will defiantly be recommending this venue to our other friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Bull Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    160
    92
    47
    26
See reviews for
101
249
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Went to the Bull for dinner on Monday evening . Ordered the belly pork when was told it would be crispy.....it arrived soggy and in edible. Complained to the waiter (who was very apologetic) and the soggy meal was taken back to the kitchen "for further cooking in a hot oven ". It arrived 15 mins later just as soggy!! My partner had already eaten his fish dish, whilst I awaited the return of my meal. A red faced waiter then asked if I wanted to re order a different meal which I did. They didn't charge for this meal. Upsetting as it was a special celebration dinner.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank helenashenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks for your review. We were sorry to hear that your Belly Pork did not live up to expectations on this occasion. Your feedback has been shared with the Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the bull on 1st / 2nd November 2013. Looking for a nice break with my wife to see the local area, On arrival the when asking the receptionist what the difference was between a Superior Double Room and a normal one - the answer was nothing really just a bit bigger. The Hotel looks great from outside and you can see the history and attractiveness of the village. However, when in the room it had seen better days, the settee had a ripped arm and all the dark wood furniture was stained in some capacity, through spillage, the hotel had no mats / coasters etc so clearly had no desire to keep in good order for others. One aspect that the Bull caters for is weddings, which is great and the venue looks great, but if you are not at the wedding the experience can be different. At no time were the weddings mentioned at booking, check in etc, but we still were given a room over the receptions. I am not an old humbug, but you would think these guys would use their brains. Hotel looks good, young serving staff hard working & polite. But unless it is kept in better order it will lose its charm. Again Room 20. The village is lovely & has charm it is a good location for many attractions. If the cost of this hotel is based on the history fine, but it was expensive given the condition within the room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the functions and if you book a superior room ring ahead to see what you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiaBenfleet_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks very much for your post. Maintenance and redecoration is ongoing at the Hotel and we are currently waiting on delivery of some new furniture, including a new sofa bed for Room 20.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely Halloween break here. Rooms immaculate, staff friendly and welcoming, the menu and food is absolutely fantastic and extremely well priced. Breakfast is simply delicious, and the ladies who serve are a delight.

Just one tiny niggle. We had room 20 that I believe is situated above the function suite. Due to a wedding going on, we didn't sleep till after midnight as the disco music was a little loud, not good for those with an early start, Be sure to check about upcoming functions.

However the Bull is still lovely, and will definately return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernowfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks for your review of the Bull Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Gary and the team look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked The Bull for our Wedding on October19th and it was quite simply a magical day. Theresa the wedding planner is lovely and from the word go made the day relaxed and enjoyable for all involved.
Our guests were bowled over with the venue and the service, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very efficient and couldn't have been more helpful.
Every step of the way from the Ceremony to the Wedding breakfast right through to the evening disco went like clockwork thanks to Theresa and her staff.
The rooms were clean and tidy with lots of atmosphere, the beds really comfortable, and the breakfast the following morning delicious.
If i had to find fault the only thing i could say is the pillows are a little firm but that is just personal preference.
I would recommend the Hotel to anyone wanting a Wedding package all under one roof, great value for money, good food and wonderful staff you really couldn't ask for more.
We can't thank you enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Many thanks for the kind comments regarding your recent Wedding at the Bull. I was pleased to hear that all your guests enjoyed the day and will pass on your thanks to the team there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Bull for one night, we stayed in the old hay loft room 11. The room was quiet as it was the furthest away from the wedding and party venues as well as the bar. The room was clean and had all that you would want, we had a good nights sleep as the bed was also comfortable. We walked after lunch, which we had in the bar, there was a good choice and it hit the spot. After walking we had a couple of hours to kill, so we thought lets have a couple of drinks in the bar however we were told that the 3 empty tables were reserved ( A bit odd ) so there was no room in the bar and the other bar was rented out to a wedding party, so we left and found another really nice place across the road The Crown Lovely place ( another review ) so we decided to have dinner at the Crown as well. The staff were friendly and attentive and this added to the atmosphere of the place. The breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about but did the job and there was plenty to choose from the menu. A nice place, comfortable and old building with lots of quirky features, a bit pricey at £110 for a double room, that said I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from the party rooms and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the Bull Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and do appreciate your feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to The Bull Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We popped into this hotel for lunch on a visit to Long Melford.
The hotel is full of charm and at the rear has a small funtion roon reputede to date back to the eleventh century which we were llowe to view even though it was closed at the time of our visit.
We ate there and the food was of a good standard and the service friendly and welcoming and the prices about what you would expect to pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We do appreciate your comments and were glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us here at the Bull. Gary and the team hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing