We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greene king but with more of a classy twist”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well we was with a xmas party night , and the place was rocking with atmosphere, we arrived and was directed to our tables the ambience of the Bull is very pretty, our wine we previously had arranged was ready on tables, we received our food and how very nice it was to, everybody said how nice it all was and presented, much much better than some others of the local area. very nice and clean and bedrooms are very clean and comfortable to. Exceptionally nice, will return. Cant understand the other reviews we have read which just seem to be moany old people!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E8578DYmichael_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thanks for your excellent feedback regarding the food, service and atmosphere at your Christmas Party. We are delighted that you had a great time with us and hope that you celebrate with us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Took our parents for meal prior to Xmas. Ordered wine (white) which was warm and we were told there was none in the fridge!. Water started dripping on us from ceiling above. Waitress suggested we just move across a bit and have a bucket between us to catch the water. (Really!!!) Eventually moved to another table. Waitress was often missing and twice I had to get up and find her for some service. Staff were too busy setting up adjacent room for another event, leaving customers ignored. Food was at best OK although one person had a pie that was all grissle. Heard other customers complaining of poor quality food and excuse was made that usual chef was off. We were given free coffee after complaining about service but at no stage did any manager come out to see us. Very very disappointed as I had heard so much about the Bull. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your meals did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

A party of 10 of us at £30 per decided to head to the bull for our annual Christmas meal,what a grave mistake we made......
Party night was more like a wake only a wake is slighlty more entertaining,we were cast aside in a back room away from the main function room where it seemed like people were having fun.
The starter did eventually come,it was very poor..We decided enough was enough and called for the manager and asked about the poor service , poor food, why we were not seated in the main room.etc.He gave a lame excuse that they were very busy(not really our fault was it??)
We asked for a full refund which was paid and decided to leave the premises.
My advice is be very careful of this place it seems very understaffed,and is run to a very low dis-organised shambles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank kevin666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the arrangements made for your Christmas Party with us. These nights are always extremely popular and all of our ground floor areas are used to accomodate diners on these nights. Our apologies again for your disatisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We paid 30£ a head for one of there party nights , they stuck us in the back room on our own served us starters 25 mins later our plates were still on the table never asked us if we wanted drinks we called the manager who did not have a clue on customer service tried to palm us off into the bar just didn't care less , we got a refund and left and we will never return to this hotel . We are all local people who will do our upmost to spread the word .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the arrangements made for your Christmas Party with us. These nights are always extremely popular and all of our ground floor areas are used to accomodate diners on these nights. Our apologies again for your disatisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights this week, room was a bit small but cosy, bed really comfortable, as were the pillows. Had a bath which was a bit scratchy but the shower was wonderful, so much power! Lovely location , breakfast fine. Had snack first evening, one of the items was awful but staff dealt with it promptly. Staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bull. The team look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We found everything was excellent for our overnight stay but the great let down was at breakfast. My wife was looking forward to having her porridge but when it arrived at the table it was similar to gruel. If you pored the "porridge" through a sieve you would be left with just a table spoon of actual porridge oats. What a disappointment to an otherwise good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRAHAM Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thanks for your comments. Our apologies for the Porridge, Chef will look at the way it was prepared and consider using a diffenent product if necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic stay for our anniversary at this character hotel. We can't really fault it, comfortable surroundings, two large roaring open fires, comfortable lounges, relaxed atmosphere, pleasant staff, superb breakfast, delicious dinner, great beer, really comfortable bed. Then there's the local town which is long, as the name suggests, with a varied selection of shops, boutiques, pubs and restaurants. We would have no hesitation recommending The Bull and have already planned to return in the Spring.

Special mention goes to "Beanie" who was entertaining and told us lots about this wonderful building. Although not a paid member of staff he was very helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jezbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to review The Bull Hotel. I have passed your thanks onto Beany for his local knowledge, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
2.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,181 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,244 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range: £48 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing