We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really historic place to stay”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a lovely couple of nights here for a weekend break. Lovely sized room and very quiet. Great to be able to take the dog with us. The hotel is over 500 years old and has some amazing old parts to it. The staff are very down to earth and friendly, unlike some historic hotels that seem to have gone rather pompous and stuffy. There are a few tweaks that could have been picked up - toilet roll holder had come off the wall and tray holder in shower was missing, but these are small points really. Breakfast was good, but the fruit was beginning to go in the heat. Overall we had a lovely stay and would come here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies for the short-comings you experienced during your stay with us. I will share this with the rest of the team. It’s with feedback like yours that we are able to better improve the service we offer to our guests. It’s good to hear that the majority of your stay was positive. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at The Bull for one night and can't really fault it. We ate dinner in the restaurant, which was very good pub fare (they serve the same menu in the bar) and breakfast the next morning was, again, really good. We found the staff very attentive, with great customer service. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road, and thankfully the traffic died right down after dark, but we were woken up quite early when rush hour started (we did have the windows open due to the heat). Long Melford is a lovely village, but take a drive out to Lavenham, a beautiful example of a medieval village with many crooked, timbered houses, nice little one-off boutique shops and the odd tea shoppe!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel may be noisy due to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senorita26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Thank-you so much for taking the time out of your day to leave such a wonderful review of our hotel. It is always heart warming to read such kind comments relating to a guests stay with us, and in particular about the team at The Bull Long Melford. Please rest assure I will share this feedback with the team as I’m sure they would love to know that all the hard work they have put in really does make a difference. Once again thank-you for leaving such a kind review of you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I could spend hours relaxing in the bar with the log fire burning. Their locally sourced breakfasts ...yummy! All in all a very enjoyable experience. Long Melford is a lovely place to visit the Bull is the icing on a very nice cake!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Econolodgesurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and in particular enjoyed breakfast and our open fire. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here end of May and had our reception at the hotel and have to say the whole experience was fantastic!!

From the pre wedding meeting with the wedding planner and the champagne arrival on the day down to the perfectly cooked beef and service during our meal.

All staff were attentive and special thanks to Gary the general manager whose professionalism throughout was superb.

Everything we asked to make it unique to us was accepted and welcomed even the morning breakfast was nice.

We have to say that overall we had a really lovely wedding in a perfect surrounding handled by experienced friendly and professional staff.

Thank you to all the team at the Bull, Simon & Rosimar

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank si_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you Simon and Rosimar. It was great to hear that you had a fantastic Wedding Day and the team at the Bull looked after you well. I have passed on your thanks to Gary and everyone involved on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter weekend for 1 night. We were so disappointed.

We were staying with our 2 year old son so had requested a travel cot. The travel cot provided was just so dirty. Despite being assured it would be cleaned, it wasn't.

The biggest issue though was that we were in a room with a fire escape. This meant had our 2 year old been a little more curious he could have pushed the handle and ended up on an iron fire escape leading down to a car park. Upon seeing this problem I reported it to the receptionist but she did not move us. We looked at two other rooms - one wasn't big enough for a travel cot and one smelt of smoke! Overall I felt that the room we were in was unsafe for our child.

I complained during our stay and was offered a small discount but quite frankly I wish we had stayed somewhere where we felt safe with our child.

As an aside the place needs a good clean and some renovation. There are cobwebs everywhere and there are walls marked, carpets torn etc particularly in the communal areas.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks very much for your feedback. We do value all comments received and are sorry to hear that your room and the alternatives offered by Reception did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

was at the bull sat & sun for our best friends wedding and wow it was lovely, the building itself was stunning rooms huge and very comfy beds, the staff were all lovely,the bull is a great place for a wedding everything went wonderful for the girls the food was superb the beef just fell apart talk abt melt in your mouth wonderful....cant fault the place and would highly recommend the bull for weddings, we stayed a second night and were still treated as kindly breakfast plentyfull and lovely service..well worth the money and we will be back. i am myself disabled and i must add i had no problems.

Room Tip: personally id say all rooms are of excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minxykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you had a great time at your best friend wedding and do appreciate the feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Old English Inns again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had our wedding at The Bull on Sat 31/5/14. An amazing day with Gary, Sue, Sally and the team. Everything was absolutely perfect! Everybody worked so hard to give us the best possible day. We couldnt have asked for any more from any of them! Nothing was too much trouble, and we were looked after beautifully. Thank you so so much to Gary and your team! We would recommend The Bull 1000% to ANYONE looking for a wedding venue. Our room for the night was beautiful and spacious, as were the ones booked by our guests. A beautiful venue in a fabulous setting. Go check out The Bull!!! Michelle & Tina Davison.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tazwump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

It was great to read your review Tina and Michelle & thank you both very much for your comments. I have forwarded your fantastic feedback on to Gary, Sally, Sue and the team at the Hotel who pass on their very best wishes to you both for the future & hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
2.9 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
460 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,269 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range: £60 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing