We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, the wedding was nice, but...”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bull
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well, the wedding was nice, but...”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We recently stayed a night to attend a wedding on the premises, but I'm not sure we'd stay again. It's a lovely hotel, rich in history...which is fantastic. And to give credit where credit is due, the bride and groom seemed extremely pleased with how smoothly their day played out. Everything fell into place. As it should be. The wedding meal was decent. The staff assisting with the wedding seemed helpful and friendly. The staff elsewhere in the hotel, not so much. My husband stood at the bar to order a pint for nearly 10 minutes, with a queue accumulating behind him, before a surly bartender finally turned up and grouchily started serving drinks. The next morning, the waitress in the breakfast room was apparently in need of a cup of coffee herself, as she was equally irritable. The wedding guests who had also stayed over were all seated together on one side of the room and several empty tables were available on the other side. There were only a few scattered seats open amongst the guests, so we opted for a table on the other side, where we could sit together with plenty of room for a high seat for our baby. When the waitress came over, she abruptly asked "Are you with them?", gesturing to the wedding party. "Then you need to sit over there." Now, I understand wanting to ensure there are enough tables for all hotel guests, but we're a family of four and there weren't four seats together available on the other side. What exactly are we supposed to do? March over and ask two tables full of people to kindly collect their breakfasts and play musical chairs so we can sit with our children? She grumbled something along the lines of "Well, since you're already settled in, you might as well stay there." The breakfast itself was...eh. As for our room, it was fine for the most part. However, we were greeted by a large dead spider in the middle of the floor when we walked in. To be fair, it's England, it's getting to be that time of year...and at least it was already dead. Fair enough. It was still a bit disconcerting, though, because the spare "bed" that had been set up for our son was actually a wooden platform with a mattress that sat directly on the floor. In all, it was an okay place, but between the grouchy staff and our child sleeping with the creepy crawlies, I think we'll look elsewhere for accommodation should we find ourselves out that way again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    161
    92
    47
    26
See reviews for
101
250
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye, United Kingdom.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fantastic building in the heart of the most interesting village of Long Melford. Stayed one night at this extremely historic Hotel and it was a last minute booking. Nothing but praise and highly recommended. Comfortable room and bed, at a competitive price. First class supper in the bar and fine, plentiful and tasty breakfast served by two warm and welcoming ladies. Free car parking and wi-fi and staff cheerful, friendly, professional and accommodating. A lovely old building overflowing with character and charm. A quiet night and relaxing atmosphere. Will most certainly return when this way again and for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Possibly some rooms could be troubled by extractor fan sound in warmer weather. 39 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Bull Hotel in Long Melford.This was a last minute booking and we were lucky to get the last room available.
Our bedroom was very nice with very comfortable beds but maybe needed an update. The breakfast were excellent and the two evening meals we had very good, well cooked and presented. The weekend stay was made special by the extremely helpful staff. On arriaval we were greeted with a great welcome and throughout our visit we found the staff exceptional remembering our names and being so friendly. The owners of this hotel should certainly reward their staff as they make the hotel special. We would certainly recommend this and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at The Bull for two nights in the Melford Suite. The room was delightful- very spacious and a comfortable bed. The staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. The breakfast menu was superb and the food delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel.
Mr and Mrs Rees

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Melford suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audreylillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle Solihull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Made to feel very welcome by helpful,willing staff but the biggest downfall was the toilet in the ensuite being wholly unreliable.It had clearly not worked for some time and reception knew about this.Apparently, they are not permitted to undertake maintenance without permission of the owners who are unnecessarily slow to respond to their requests.We gave up using it ultimately.This is unacceptable in these times.

We were not offered an alternative room, but as were only staying two nights,we did not feel it worth the effort of making a fuss.

The room was large and comfortable, though an additional light would have represented an improvement.

On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable and the food was good.

We have travelled widely, and feel that this hotel just needs a little zip and attention to make it a more memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask if it is room 23!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raleigh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a great weekend at the Bull,would not hesitate to return,the place has lots of character and history,nice warm welcome on arrival and staff very helpfull,
Only bad point was no kippers for breakfast on the Sunday! Thanks to everyone for a great stay we will return........

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights from Saturday until Monday in a large, comfortable and clean room. However, we arrived during a large wedding and the car park - in which we had been assured of a place - was completely full. We had to fight through wedding guests to reception, where we waited for 10 minutes to check in - the receptionist was serving the wedding guests. Although told that we "were on the quieter side of the hotel", we were kept awake until late by the wedding band. At Sunday breakfast, we were kept waiting for 10 minutes before our order was taken. Not wanting anything else, I had croissants from the buffet, which were very cold and very greasy; the coffee was very mediocre. Although we said when we arrived that we wanted dinner on Sunday, the restaurant was not open on Sunday evening. On the Saturday evening, the bar was uncomfortably crowded with wedding guests and the residents' lounge closed to ordinary guests - again for the benefit of the wedding guests. I suspect that those at the wedding were as inconvenienced by us as we were by them. The hotel cannot cope with weddings and normal guests simultaneously; to attempt to do so is simply commercial greed.

Room Tip: We were told that those at the back were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that all your comments will be shared with the team in order to improve the service we offer. The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
18.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
The Bull Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing