We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Karrioke night if you want to sleep”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #8 of 11 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Staff were friendly but the pub has seen better days. Rooms were cosy and bed was clean and comfortable, toilets could do with a clean. The noise coming from the pub made it difficult to sleep after a long journey. Had to shut windows to keep out the smell of smoke.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murdo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Have just spent a week at the Wheatsheaf and was pleasantly surprised. The web description of the Inn really sells it short, the rooms are lovely and warm, and myself and my colleagues’ all had en-suite rooms. The beds are ludicrously comfortable and an excellent night’s sleep was had. The pub itself is a little quirky but absolutely lovely either for a quiet drink or a meal (excellent steak and kidney pie) We had to be about in the morning to get to site and the owner was always ready at 7am sharp with fruit juice and a mug of tea, swiftly followed by a yummy full English. Would have no hesitation in staying at the Wheatsheaf again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raggedroyalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Holy god, what a toilet!

I have seen the adverts locally for 'traditional inn' and 'great ales' so I thought I would pop in as I don't live far away.

My first visit will be the last. There was one ale (GK IPA) on sale and it had seen better days. We also took a glass of wine that had obviously been open a few days.

The place is filthy and devoid of life. I cannot see it staying open much longer

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Comfortable, simple accommodation, with a clean compact shower room and central heating working ok, all very convenient and friendly, kettle & coffee, quiet location, can be warmly recommended as inexpensive and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank JHP17FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I only booked this stay on the reviews I had read. What a shock when I turned up to find a dump!Although the satff were friendly the room was disgusting, dirty and smelt musty and the added pleasure of a big wet patch in the middle of the carpet. Went to make a tea and found the cups stuck to the saucer with dirt!
We returned late back after a night out and had to use the back entrance having to find our way in the pitch black and through a filthy marquee tripping on steps and wires and my husbands suit got covered in grime!

Room Tip: Dont bother, pay more and stay somewher e better
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
8  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

What is there to say!! They say you get what you pay for in life. This is true with the Wheatsheaf plus a bit more. Ken, the host was very friendly. The staff very helpful. Food amazing. Lovely clean room and for the price that is charged I do not see how anyone could complain. We had a great night and the locals are so friendly. So all in all. Very good. Oh and the breakfast was the best. I cannot see how other people come up with these reviews. I would stay there over and over. See you soon

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank parklane46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Another great stay at the Wheatsheaf Inn. Fabulous hosts Ken and Ginny can't do enough for you. Lovely spotless clean room and great shower. Everything you need for a comfortable stay and the price is amazing. Try the restaurant as the food is great - suburb choice, lovely home cooked locally sourced ingredients. Great value. Breakfast excellent, try the sausages. Can't fault this place - if you are looking for amazing value, great hosts, lovely clean room this is it. Have stayed all over Newmarket as I am a regular visitor and the Wheatsheaf is the best by miles. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
972 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Packhorse Inn
The Packhorse Inn
#1 of 1 in Moulton
263 reviews
5 mi away
Golden Boar Inn
Golden Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Freckenham
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf

Address: 45 Chapel Street | Exning, Newmarket CB8 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range: £59 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Under new management from 2nd November 2015*** A charming Suffolk gastro pub just 2 miles from the famous racing town of Newmarket. We serve fresh, quality, homecooked food, offer a selection of cask ales and consider our pub to have a friendly, cosy atmosphere. We also have 6 en suite rooms starting from £55 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheatsheaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing