We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the races”
Review of Byerley House

Byerley House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Byerley House
Ranked #3 of 11 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here after going to the racing on the July course, it is a few minutes drive away. It is also a short walk from the High Street and Tattersalls.
We received a friendly welcome and were shown our room despite arriving early when we called to collect the key.
The room was clean, attractively decorated, spacious with a very comfortable bed. Although our room faced onto the street it was very quiet.
There is a good TV plus Tea/coffee making and a bottle of mineral water provided.
The bathroom was large and well appointed with both bath and shower and contemporary fittings.
The breakfast was generous and well cooked with quality ingredients, with apparently unlimited tea/coffee and toast.
We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious with a large bathroom. The Wi-fi signal was weak and unreliable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Byerley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in August .The location is great ,the welcome excellent and they couldn't do enough for us .My wife is gluten free and bobby went the extra mile including gluten free sausages and bread .Her husband is a horse trainer and took us to the gallops before breakfast to see the horses train -a wonderful treat !
Highly reccomended !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Byerley House was a lovely place to stay. The hosts (Bobbie and Conrad) were very friendly (as was Pippa the dog) and super helpful! Excellent full English breakfast served. Rooms were spacious and charming, with amenities you'd expect at a much more expensive hotel. Location is ideal - close to train station, High Street, and Tattersalls. Would recommend this highly and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked in here as our friends had, it was for one night as we were attending an event at Tattersalls. We were made to feel very welcome by the lady of the house. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. Intially the little dog was nervous, but she became friendly very quickly, which added to the experience. The breakfast in the morning could not be faulted, there was a good selection of items, the full english was nicely cooked, toast was in abundance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ring direct rather than going through a company if you want separate beds.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I was heading to Cambridge for an Arts Auction held by Rowlyes fine arts (who are based in Ely, Cambridgeshire), Previously i had booked a B & B at Ely, later which i cancelled this and opting out for something which was closest to the Tattersalls auction rooms.

The room was an en-suite (i believe all of their rooms are en suite), very spacious even for one person, the room looked very cleaned. More importantly it was a few minutes walk from the Train Station, and a few minutes walking distance to the Auction rooms. A few more minutes to the high streets. Both Konrad and Bobby were wonderful, the breakfast was very pleasing and Bobby was ready to make you something special if requested...though im not a breakfast person myself.

Free wi-fi is provided so thats a bonus for someone like myself. I will certainly stay here again if im in Newmarket. I would recommend Byerley House, though i dont wont everybody to book the rooms otherwise next time i might not get a room myself. Thank you for the pleasant stay Bobby/Konrad.

Room Tip: I was in room 4 which faced the garden, i belive all the other rooms are equally good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComputerGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My partner and I were staying with family in Huntingdonshire and intending to spend a few days touring round the East of England. We both hail from the North and West Midlands and had never been past St Ives and Cambridge before.
We had no route organised and before leaving St Ives, we made our booking in Newmarket. The reviews were very good, so we set off with hopes high and weren't disappointed. On trips such as the one we were about to embark on we usually book our accommodation via the local tourist information board, but this time we went through Last Rooms.com.
Bobbie was very pleasant and helpful and showed us to our room. It was very comfortable and loads of space. Later that evening we walked into Newmarket to have our evening meal. It was only a short walk - 10 minutes at the most and well lit.
We were about the last to have breakfast and it was served in a lovely room, surrounded by lots of racing memorabilia. Horse racing is one of my interests and going to Newmarket to me is what Gracelands is to an Elvis fan. It was a pity there wasn't any racing and I was too early for the sales.
The next time we are in St Ives and intending to travel Eastwards again, we will know where to go. Brilliant.

Room Tip: When looking at pictures of Byreley House, ours was the one with bay windows at the front!! Very qu...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pen9175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Fantastic weekend stay, We stayed at Byerley House for the Fri and Sat 27th and the 28th of July, Went down to celibrate my daughter Laurens Birthday, Bobbie and Conrad are lovely, Home from Home in everyway, Rooms are spacious Clean and the Beds are so comfortable, Breakfast is really special, Daily Newspapers provided, Town centre is just a nice 10 minute stroll, Perfect location to stay in Newmarket, We will be staying again.

Thanks Bobbie and Condrad

Room Tip: Stay at Byerley House you wont be disappointed.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
0.3 mi away
Crown Rooms Newmarket
Crown Rooms Newmarket
#4 of 11 in Newmarket
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byerley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byerley House

Address: 34 Warrington Street, Newmarket CB8 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range: £66 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Byerley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Byerley House enjoy the use of a resident’s lounge with wide screen TV and a private dining room. All bedrooms are equipped with TV’s and En Suite bathrooms. Flexible check in / out, High speed Internet wifi access is also available throughout. Room rates include full English breakfast. Local restaurant discounts, Gallop tours and stable visits arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Byerley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byerley House Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing