We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Byerley House

Byerley House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Byerley House
Ranked #4 of 11 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Byerley House for two nights in July for a visit to the races. We were met by the lady owner and shown to our room which was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The owners were very helpful and informative about the area and even booked us a taxi for the races, which is probably a little too far to walk to, although it is only a five minute walk into the town centre. The breakfast was delicious and although my wife and I went for the full English, there was also cereal and fruit available. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return next time we go to the races.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Picture does the house no justice its like a Tardis, I have to travel as part of my job and as a single lady away from home I need to feel safe, visiting this house was like staying at the in-laws, Bobby, Conrad and teenager Jordan, were funny and very welcoming. Their little dog did bark as you entered the house but as soon as you were in she was fine, she actually made me feel more at home as it was nice to have a pet there to add to the homely feeling. I played with her and at no time did she jump or bark at me so whoever said mean things is simply a grump.

The room was very spacious and clean, en-suite bathroom surprisingly large, fresh fluffy towels and a few things like shower/shampoo/soap, cotton pads if you forgot yours

Nice firm bed that smelt of cleanly ironed sheets. I had no need to go out as I only stayed one night but ordered a pizza and ate it while chatting to the family, it was much nicer than a stuffy informal hotel!

Location: You could throw a ball to Tattersalls entrance and stroll 5 minutes to the high street which looked like it had plenty of place you could eat drink and club if you wanted.

Free Wifi worked fine in the living room and bedrooms

I did not know or see the gym / pool so can not comment, breakfast is served at a large oval table which was lovely as everyone chatted rather than kept to themselves, if I has stayed longer I would imagine it could have only got better.

Room Tip: I paid £65.00 for a large room at a guess it was 14ft square + nicely sized en-suite bathroom, bay w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember11152016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We didn't get any of the welcome you expect from good B&B's. They had this little dog that barked and growled every time someone came to the door, and while he was harmless, he was noisy, which wasn't conducive to a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very, very basic. Ok but not to rave about.
And when we left, well we just paid and left. No thank you, no nothing really, and that pretty much summed this B&B up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadowfax500, Owner at Byerley House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Byerley House, were most surprised by your comments. We are not quite sure what you expected when you arrived but your comments are very welcome so we will take them on board and try harder in future. We are slightly confused regarding your description of the very basic breakfast ! If a selection of cerials, fresh fruits, yoghurts, probiotics, white and brown toast (unlimited), tea (including various herbal varieties), coffee (including decaf), fruit juices, and a Full English comprising of Eggs (anyway you like), Newmarket Sausage (including gluten free), bacon, tomato, mushroom and hashbowns is very basic we would welcome any suggestions on how we could improve on this! We were also very disappointed that you failed to mention in your review that your daughter who was not staying with us was able to join you for breakfast without any charge. We apologise on behalf of the family dog who has been warned about her behaviour in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a great stay in June for 3 nights. Comfortable, good sized rooms, spotlessly clean with little extras that make it a home from home. Free wi-fi. Very nice, good quality cooked breakfast and plenty of choice of cereal, yogurts, fresh fruit etc. Unlimited tea/coffee & toast, also a good choice of herbal teas. Bobbie & Conrad are very personable hosts. Conrad took us to the gallops one morning, a fantastic experience & much appreciated - thank you. Byerley House is well placed for the railway station (no noise heard though) with regular trains to Cambridge & Bury St Edmunds and the local bus will take you to Ely. Recommend The Pantry in Newmarket, we ate there in the evening - food & wine was great and the staff very friendly & helpful. To sum up, a lovely stay at Byerley House, Bobbie & Conrad made us very welcome & looked after us well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcrBristolSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here after going to the racing on the July course, it is a few minutes drive away. It is also a short walk from the High Street and Tattersalls.
We received a friendly welcome and were shown our room despite arriving early when we called to collect the key.
The room was clean, attractively decorated, spacious with a very comfortable bed. Although our room faced onto the street it was very quiet.
There is a good TV plus Tea/coffee making and a bottle of mineral water provided.
The bathroom was large and well appointed with both bath and shower and contemporary fittings.
The breakfast was generous and well cooked with quality ingredients, with apparently unlimited tea/coffee and toast.
We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious with a large bathroom. The Wi-fi signal was weak and unreliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwick upon tweed
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in August .The location is great ,the welcome excellent and they couldn't do enough for us .My wife is gluten free and bobby went the extra mile including gluten free sausages and bread .Her husband is a horse trainer and took us to the gallops before breakfast to see the horses train -a wonderful treat !
Highly reccomended !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Byerley House was a lovely place to stay. The hosts (Bobbie and Conrad) were very friendly (as was Pippa the dog) and super helpful! Excellent full English breakfast served. Rooms were spacious and charming, with amenities you'd expect at a much more expensive hotel. Location is ideal - close to train station, High Street, and Tattersalls. Would recommend this highly and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
1.2 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
0.3 mi away
Crown Rooms Newmarket
Crown Rooms Newmarket
#2 of 11 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byerley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byerley House

Property: Byerley House
Address: 34 Warrington Street, Newmarket CB8 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Byerley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Byerley House enjoy the use of a resident’s lounge with wide screen TV and a private dining room. All bedrooms are equipped with TV’s and En Suite bathrooms. Flexible check in / out, High speed Internet wifi access is also available throughout. Room rates include full English breakfast. Local restaurant discounts, Gallop tours and stable visits arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Byerley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byerley House Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing