We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect - a weekend to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Byerley House

Byerley House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Byerley House
Ranked #5 of 15 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect - a weekend to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just arrived home from a wonderful weekend in Newmarket, thanks to Conrad and Bobbie Allen at Byerley House.
Our room and en-suite were large, modern, comfortable and extremely clean. The hearty cooked breakfast served by Bobbie, together with the choice of cereals and fresh fruit was both welcome and delicious, following an early morning spent watching the horses on the gallops. Bobbie’s great advice and wonderful suggestions on where to go, what to see and where to eat in Newmarket all added to the enjoyment of our stay.
Byerley House is ideally located for everything you would wish to do and see in Newmarket - it is only a very short walk from the town centre and is especially suitable for anybody who loves their horseracing. The combination of all of these elements gives you a fantastic B&B.
BUT a couple of great days away was turned into an absolutely perfect and totally unforgettable weekend by Conrad and Bobbie. Their knowledge and enthusiasm for horseracing together with their wish to make our stay special was truly exceptional. We were both honoured and privileged to accompany Conrad on his morning rounds of his stables. His pride and love for his sport shone through it was fantastic. Only a few hours in his company and we were both energised and lifted.
Please whoever loves their horseracing believe me when I say you will not find two better hosts for your stay in Newmarket (actually anyone staying in Newmarket will not find two better hosts).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawsonAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a Lovely B&B and we will be staying again, Far better than staying in the usual chain of not so budget hotels.
We stayed just one night whilst visiting family, We felt right at home from the moment we arrived and our room was just perfect everything you could need - a home from home.
The breakfast was excellent and the whole family were a real pleasure to meet.
We will be back on our next family visit to Newmarket without a doubt.
Have a Great Christmas everyone at Byerley House

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lourogclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This B&B ticks every box. We had a lovely stay, the room was clean and well maintained and Bobby and Conrad couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. It was a perfect place to stay and well situated for our racing weekend. The attention to detail and little extras like bottled water in the room make the difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLnLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We chanced upon this little gem of a small hotel where Bobby and her team have achieved making it feel a home from home. In the heart of horse racing country, virtually opposite the Tattersalls, this is a must for lovers of the sport. A short walk from the centre of Newmarket too. We are already planning our next trip up there and hope Bobby has space.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieCoventGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandlers Ford UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Most of what I would say has been expressed by other visitors. I have seldom encountered such attention to detail in what is essentially a Bed and Breakfast establishment.Bobbies standards are very high indeed and we look forward to staying here again after this our first visit.What elevates the experience is that if you are a horse lover or a racing enthusiast your stay becomes unique because you are likely to meet a number of like-minded people as we did and this makes things so much more enjoyable.Coupled with this ,Conrad took me to his stables and out on the Newmarket gallops and I came away much more aware of the racing community and the pressures on them.Its also very handy for the tour of Newmarket,National Stud,Tattersalls........all being within a short walk of the town centre.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 which is spacious with a big bathroom containing bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeJillW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton in Makerfield, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Byerley House whilst I indulged my passion for all things horse-racing (minus the actual racing!) Bobbie is an excellent hostess, providing all you need for a comfortable stay, including bottled water and plentiful tea/coffee/milk to make yourself that much needed brew after a long day. We had a standard room overlooking the garden at the rear. The bed was comfortable and the area was quiet so there is nothing to disturb your sleep. Breakfast is plentiful and very tasty, and if there is anything missing from the selection of items on offer, I certainly can't think what it could be! Byerley House is right next to Tattersalls if you are lucky enough to be visiting Newmarket to buy a horse at the sales. And for the rest of us, it's a mere five minute walk to the town centre for a good selection of restaurants and pubs. All in all, the best short break I've had in years - even my non-horsey husband agrees!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojoworkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Everything about our stay was excellent. The warm welcome, the lovely clean room (and the tea and coffee and replenished bottled water every day), the very comfy bed, the soft thick towels and some toiletries in case you forgot your own, the great choice and quality of breakfast (I have never seen Actimel available anywhere else at breakfast).....there was nothing to fault. The wifi was fine, even though Bobbie said it didn't work too well where our room was, it did. Bobbie was always happy to help and have a chat, and Conrad too. It was like staying with friends, which made the trip all the more relaxing. It is within easy walking distance of the town, and we could see the Tattershall paddock from our bedroom window. Whether you are a horse and racing fan or not, it is a great place to stay...my husband who is, had the time of his life, as Bobbie and Conrad are happy to share their knowledge and experiences. I am so glad we stayed here. PS yes, the dog Pippa, barked when we arrived, but she is absolutely harmless, and once she got to know us, she was fine. The negative comments are way over the top, and not necessary.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room to overlook the garden...apparently there are larger rooms, but we were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
1.2 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
0.3 mi away
Crown Rooms Newmarket
Crown Rooms Newmarket
#4 of 15 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byerley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byerley House

Property: Byerley House
Address: 34 Warrington Street, Newmarket CB8 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Byerley House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Byerley House enjoy the use of a resident’s lounge with wide screen TV and a private dining room. All bedrooms are equipped with TV’s and En Suite bathrooms. Flexible check in / out, High speed Internet wifi access is also available throughout. Room rates include full English breakfast. Local restaurant discounts, Gallop tours and stable visits arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Byerley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byerley House Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing