We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate in the restaurant ...not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ate in the restaurant ...not a good experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just to point out that I have written to this hotel with my complaints over a week ago! giving them time to respond before I go public. However, no response so here goes. Myself and 7 friends ate in the restaurant last week. We were the only party in. We ordered and then waited 40 mins for it to arrive...with no explanation as to why it was taking so long. When it did arrive, mine was Okay but my colleagues monkfish was dismal..it was about the size of a fish finger, shrivelled and not appealing. Other dishes were about the same standard. We ordered desert...again, a long wait and then when mine came, I sent it back as it was Luke warm. Such a disappointing night's food..shan't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Budslat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathCourtHotel, General Manager at Best Western Heath Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I would apologise for your letter not being responded to in a timely manner, I had forwarded it to my Kitchen Manager to enable him to respond to you directly.

I understand that he has now addressed and resolved your comments and concerns, if however I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Should you wish to discuss anything with me further, please do not hesitate to contact me and I would offer my personal apologies for your dining experience and the delay in responding to you.

Kind regards,

Robert J Nobbs
General Manager

feedback@heathcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    129
    70
    52
    25
See reviews for
57
147
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we stayed for 5 nights for the july festival of racing an had a great stay at this hotel.First of all the staff were excellent they were worth the 5 stars on their own,nothing was too much trouble for them.The food was also of a very high standard ,breakfast was lovely and had everything you could want,and on the other occasions we ate there it was of a high quality with excellent service.The rooms were very clean and clean sheets everyday,there were a few very small issues with our friends room but nothing to bad to leave any negative comments on,i sometimes wonder what some people expect when they visit hotels like this as although there were some very small,niggly complaints we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathCourtHotel, General Manager at Best Western Heath Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Lynda,

Thank you for reviewing the Heath Court.

I am pleased to see that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and that the Team looked after you, I do hope the weather didn't dampen your spirits at the Races!

You mention a few niggly complaints, if it is not too much trouble, please Email me with these so that I can address them in order to enhance our Customer Experience.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Heath Court.

Kind regards,

Robert J Nobbs
General Manager

feedback@heathcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I will keep it brief.....

- Dark, small, old, dirty bedroom. (rate £120)
- 70's olive green bathroom suite. Dirty & stained. Grey looking hard towels.
- Window opened onto corridor. No fresh air; that was much needed.
- Very poor customer service.

Room Tip: They have six updated bedrooms in the whole hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bean011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On arrival the lobby and the dining area have recently been decorated, which is modern and welcoming, we checked into our room on arrival (good point the room was ready at noon before 2pm check in) rooms are outdated compared to the lobby I guess these will be the next to be updated and modernised, room was clean but a little small, prices are hiked up during the racing season i wouldnt expect to pay more than £60 for the room that we stayed in not £102 which we paid for a double without breakfast. We came back early from the races due to the weather being awful on ladies day, we were wet and hungry! we ate in the bar area I had sausage and mash and my friend had burger and chips, after this me and my friend went up to bed, we both woke around midnight and were violently sick one after the other this continued through the night we did not stop feeling unwell until 24 hours after we started to feel sick it maybe a coincidence that we were both sick but we both werent intoxicated and it seems very strange that we were both very ill after eating at the hotel, not happy and no I will not be eating at this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

dont be fooled by the room pictures on the internet site they only have 8 refurbished rooms which they show,the rest are terrible.the first room we went in smelt so bad of smoke and had a musky odor that we went straight down stairs to change rooms which they did straight away but it was just as bad. our friends room was even worse.the tv was hanging off the wall it smelt awfull the bathroom was from the 70s green suite with all sorts of stains on it and mould in corners .we went back down to reception and asked to see a duty manager he said there were no other rooms available so we asked him if he would stay in that room and he said to be honest no i would not.the rooms were off an internal hall way so if you opened a window it just opened on to it which mad the rooms so hot but you could not turn on ac unit because it gave off a terrible smell.the list is endless,but on a positive note the restaurant and bar has just undergone a total refurb and is very nice but untill the rest of the hotel has been refurbed i would stay well away.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 23chris1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here on the 6th July and I had a fantastic stay. The staff were all so friendly and they went out of their way to help me have a lovely stay. The hotel has also just had a beautiful refurb :)

Room Tip: Room 4 was absolutely lovely and spacious and I know they even have nicer rooms too. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
293 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Heath Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Heath Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Address: Moulton Rd, Newmarket CB8 8DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Heath Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Heath Court Hotel is just 350 yards from Newmarket's Town Centre which offers a wide variety of independent and national retailers The Towns two race courses are a short car drive away. Hotel facilities include a restaurant, free parking, free WiFi and 24-hour reception. Our restaurant offers a wide selection of dishes, and Tipsters Bar has a patio area for guests to enjoy a drink or meal outside. The hotel stands at the bottom of the Warren Hill Gallops where horses can be seen training daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Heath Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newmarket
Newmarket Best Western
Best Western Heath Court Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing