We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Kesgrave
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Treated ourselves to a night following a day at Newmarket races. Reception was friendly and helpful and had arranged for a taxi as we had requested.Our Junior Suite was spacious ,spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. Good size bathroom, again spotlessly clean and nice fluffy towels Good breakfast with ample choice. Will defiantly stay again. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBriKesgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    199
    66
    26
    13
See reviews for
119
395
17
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was a very nice relaxing break away. We stayed in the Executive Suite 1 which looked out over the neighbouring stables and paddocks. The view was really interesting. The room was lovely, very spacious, clean and lots of complimentary extras!! My husband especially loved the sky movies!! The leisure facilities were great. Nice size pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, Squires. The food was excellent!! Not cheap but definitely worth a treat!! We opted for breakfast in our room and as there was no tray charge we were very impressed!
All in all a lovely location with great facilities.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to an Executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband had the most incredible spa day yesterday at the Bedford Lodge. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional, the spa is immaculately clean and well maintained inside and out. We stayed from 9-7 and enjoyed every moment. Our package included a 2 course lunch and a 1 hour treatment each. The food was delicious and again service was superb. The treatment was excellent and the treatment rooms are very luxurious and the therapists are very attentive at all times. We enjoyed our treatments together in a couples room which was a lovely touch.The spa is not overbooked so therefor feels very private, we felt that most of the time we were on our own and not having to share the pool/hot tub or heat experiences with any other visitors. We felt that there was nothing missing on our day (which we've felt at other spas!) all the little details are spot on and this truly was a very luxurious experience for us and we are already planning our next visit! Special thanks to Helen who greeted us on arrival and made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank star2475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend surprised me with a black tie dinner at the Squires Restaurant with a large group of friends for my birthday, we were very well looked after the food was lovely and the services just as good. The Hotel grounds, bar & restaurant are all impressive, I cant comment on the Spa or the Bedrooms, but I look forward to visiting again and experiencing them, definitely one of Newmarkets best hotels!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Attended a Ruby Wedding lunch and decided to stay the night. From the moment we entered the reception the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The food at lunch was delicious and well presented and again the staff were very attentive and met all our requirements.
The hotel itself had a contemporary decor and benefitted from air conditioning which was a god send given the weather. After a very social evening in the bar we crashed into a king sized bed with clean soft bedding. Our breakfast ,particularly the continental element, was as good as we have had in any hotel followed by a deliciouly cooked pouched egg on toast. If you are looking for an excellent hotel I can recommend the Bedford Lodge without reservation. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here recently, arrived at lunchtime and were able to check in very easily, reception staff were so welcoming. We put the nags in the room and had a fabulous lunch on the terrace, again the waitress's were on top of their game and just ensured that our glasses were always full. The room was great, really good nights sleep and the breakfast was Devine. Well Done!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury, u.k.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night in a standard room. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Pillows were a bit 'lumpy' and we couldn't get our TV to work. Two calls to reception were not answered. Had drinks and a meal in the bar which were nice. Staff very friendly and work hard. There was a wedding on but that did not affect our stay. Loved having a view of the stables from our room. Breakfast was superb. Hotel is set in lovely grounds and an easy walk into town. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank babe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
19.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Lodge Hotel

Property: Bedford Lodge Hotel
Address: 11 Bury Road, Newmarket CB8 7BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedford Lodge Hotel is Newmarket's only four-star hotel. Set beside the rolling paddocks and only a short distance from Newmarket Racecourse, Bedford Lodge Hotel is perfect for a leisure or racing break. Guests can use the excellent two AA rosette Orangery Restaurant and the Edge Health & Fitness Club on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bedford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Newmarket
Classic Hotel Bedford
Classic Hotel Newmarket
Newmarket Classic Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing