We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent museum!”

National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The National Heritage Centre is situated in the remains of Charles II’s sporting palace and stables, and spans five acres in the heart of Newmarket. It comprises three complementary attractions; the new National Horseracing Museum, a National Art Gallery of British Sporting Art, and a chance to meet former racehorses, in the flagship yard of Retraining of Racehorses.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An excellent museum!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were a party of 45 folk from Essex. The Staff who dealt with the booking were friendly and most helpful, and on the day of our visit, were equally so. Our arrival was dealt with promptly, though we did create a slight delay to other visitors, whilst they had to wait for 45 tickets to be printed...it really was not much of a problem.
There was so much to see in all the museum rooms and cabinets, especially some superb silver and silver gilt items. There was also an art exhibition on show, which added to the wonderful collection of paintings and sketches held.
Other things of interest were videos of historic horses, races and incidents to view.
A room which caused much hilarity, was one where those, who wished, could don fancy hats for the ladies and toppers for the men, and have photos taken with a model race horse. Here too, brave souls could wear silks and ride a simulated horse in a race....not for the fainthearted.
After all this excitement, there was a welcoming tearoom, which served a variety of refreshments, including a range of wonderful homemade scones and cakes, plus a well-stocked shop.
The museum obviously welcomes children, as there was much evidence of their activities and art work.
Much enjoyment can be gained from visiting this interesting place, even if you don't have a strong love of horses and racing - well worth the visit!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shebilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    78
    14
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“For the thoroughbred enthusiast!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We really enjoyed a recent visit to the National horse racing museum with loads of memorabilia, statistics & general horse breeding information available. The facilities were pretty average to be fair, however, it appears a new museum is in the process of being funded/built! Being the capital of horse racing in the UK, most people visiting Newmarket should have some sort of interest in the thoroughbred, so it would be well worth a visit! PS don't expect too much from the cafe if you want a coffee or a snack! Make sure you are fed & watered before you enter!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexys E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

One of the best exhibits we have ever visited. Newmarket came alive watching all the horses cross to the gallops this morning. We then walked down to the national horse racing museum thinking maybe would pass an hour, three hours later we left because it was so interesting. Amazing works of art to see, the history of the racing industry and a lovely tea room. All the staff are so friendly and knowledgeable, but I have to say there was a member of staff called John who was charming and so interesting , a jockey himself, and his father a famous jockey who to my shame his name escapes me as I am writing this , made it even more special. There are big plans for the museum over the coming months, it is well worth the trip now anyway, but when I hear it has moved to its new home I will drive 4 hours north to South to see it. Go... You won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbotsdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton abbot
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great place to learn more about racing and its origins. My girls enjoyed the "hands on" experience of the mechanical racehorse, which was brilliant, especially as they could have their photos taken and wear Jockey Silks. Alfie Westwood was fantastic with the girls and we had a great chat about horses he had ridden and people he had met throughout his racing career.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kilnclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great sense of history”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great collection of paintings, silks, statues, trophies. Really interesting to explore history of horse racing through the ages and the Royal family connections. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreylilywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing