We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As you would expect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“As you would expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Constant for a premier inn, good beds and quiet rooms. The parking is not too bad, it's over the road and only a short walk. The bar and food is rather better than most places. In this day and age you would expect the wifi to be included, the free 30mins is not really worth that much (better than nothing I suppose). For Newmarket this is probably one of your best options the hotels in the area are all a little run down and old fashioned unless you are willing to pay quite a bit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    147
    53
    13
    11
See reviews for
107
141
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here for one night .The draw backs are as others have stated .We were not too bad as left car at my sons and walked but ,if it had been a stay during the week the car parking would have been a pain. We love the Beds in Premier Inns they normally guarantee a good nights sleep but unfortunately they can do nothing to stop the noise from outside.A final point would be how good iy is to see reception staff who are good at what they do and appear ti enjoy it!

Room Tip: Room 318 has views across the heath so you can see horses being exercised
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireKando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday and Saturday night. The room we were given was (I think) a family room and had a double bed, two singles and still plenty of room for a cot too. The window was a little small but this wasn't a big issue for us. We didn't encounter any of the noise problems other people mentioned, but we were on the 3rd floor which may have helped. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. The car park was easy to access and was free after 4pm and on Sunday, so the cost was minimal. Breakfast was as expected - plentiful choice of hot and cold choices. We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner but the menu looked good. There were also plenty of different choices within walking distance, as well as a Waitrose just over the road, which was handy for getting snacks.

Room Tip: 320 was a large family room, but didn't have much daylight or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here on the way to the coast this easter. It is in a great spot for the town and in the heart of horse racing country.
Upsides- clean,modern, restaurant bar in the building, near shops & pubs.
Downsides- virtually no parking(there is a shoppers car park across the road), hard to get close to by car as it sits on and island, outside rooms face the fairly busy road, inside rooms are quiet but look onto an ugly roof with vents/ducts, walls are thin and it often feels like people are almost in the room as they pass down the corridors.
Our room was inward facing and quiet, maybe noisier in summer when aircon is running?
Heating/aircon a bit noisy and some noisy plumbing from the bathroom above.
Tip for breakfast..avoid tea as the water provided is in flasks and the tea tastes bad as a result.
If you like horses this hotel is good as you can watch them going off to the gallops from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for an inward facing room if you want to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starstationearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Because I'm a light sleeper I'd rung ahead of my stay and asked for a room away from a main road but still ended up in a 3rd floor room on the main road at the lights??? Even though the traffic eases during the night every car sounds like an HGV.
I ended up sleeping on a mattress from the sofa bed in the bathroom! Only way I could reduce the noise. Come on Premier Inn - You're always my 1st choice but please put double gazing in when it matters.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is a new hotel which has 3 floors above ground level. The hotel is situated right on the edge of the town centre, opposite a Waitrose.
There is also a pay and display car park opposite the hotel that is open 24 hours a day and charges from 8am to 4pm, 60p for 2 hours and £1 for up to 3 hours. The most direct route from the car park to the hotel means walking up about 20 narrow steps and then crossing a quiet side road.
The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious and have lots of plug sockets, but there are no telephones in the room. The only issue with the hotel is night time noise from the outside. On our first visit to the hotel, which was on a Friday night, we had a room that overlooked the racehorse gallops and could see many racehorses from our window. But at night we had our window open and there were a lot of people going past up until 2am that had been drinking and were being very loud as they made their way past the hotel on foot. We were on the top floor, but I woke several times. Then at 5.40am the dustmen arrived and emptied bins filled with glass bottles from the restaurant next door. The Reception later informed me that they were not supposted to do this before 8am. The hotel had no issues with me making use of their goodnight guarantee.
On this visit we were again on the top floor, but overlooked the Waitrose. As it was really cold outside we had the bedroom window shut and had a really good nights sleep. We did not use the restaurant on either visit as we had already made plans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor for the best views and for more chance of no night time disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Usual high standard associated with Premier Inn. Good location in Newmarket. Ample parking in nearby multistorey carpark. A £1 ticket secured our space until 11am the following morning. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good restaurant (Table Table) adjoining hotel and plenty of other places to eat out nearby if required. Right on edge of town centre so all amenities on hand. Race course 5 - 10 mins drive.

Room Tip: You have to accept that Newmarket comes to life early due to the nature of the horseracing industry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.8 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Address: Fred Archer Way, Newmarket CB8 8NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoroughbred hotel just two miles down the road from the thrills of Newmarket Racecourses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing