We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosery Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Huesca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Romantic Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The Rosery is absolutely lovely. With a stunning garden and very friendly and accommodating staff, our stay was really great. My boyfriend and I stayed for the weekend and they put us in garden room 1, which was lovely and spacious and had a beautiful wooden four post bed, and a huge shower, it's like its own room w a waterfall shower head. There was wifi and an electric kettle, an LCD TV, the bed and bedding was comfortable, and a delicious full English breakfast was included. Dining in the conservatory was wonderful. Close by we had dinner at Rhubarb which was exquisite. Overall everything was lovely. The room was very quiet except for a brief period where we could hear the children next door, but nothing to complain about. Would definitely return for another romantic trip. Thank you!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SkySeeksWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    29
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
35
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We live not very far from The Rosery Hotel and have regularly used their restaurant for both breakfast and dinner meals. There are both continental and a full English breakfast on offer and they are good wholesome meals with local fare and very competitively priced. The dinner menu has a good variety of dishes plus a good list on the Specials Board all being competitively priced. Our favourite is the fillet steak with a nice bottle of Chilean merlot, excellent! The staff including mine host are all very friendly and welcoming in the nice cosy bar for a pre-dinner drink. In the summer months the pleasant and secluded garden is a nice venue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Got a room in the garden, which was properly heated at arrival. Spacious bathroom, but no proper desk in the room. Bed wasn't great (slatted base which had had too much people).
I had dinner, which was ok, but nothing special. Breakfast was quite poor. Only one egg and two small rashers of bacon. Staff wasn't friendly but impersonal. All in all not worth the 60 pounds they charged for the room and the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arek K, Owner at Rosery Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi we have taken your comments on board and will upgrade that room over the summer but just to let you know if you had taken more time with your booking you would of been able to book the same room at a lower price with your chosen booking agent . Regards Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights last week for work. On arrival the lady was expecting us and gave us a choice of two very nice and characteristic rooms. A very a quiet but big hotel. A freshly made breakfast by the manager greeted us on both mornings. The manager was a very friendly fella and made us feel very at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. Good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idiakez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I spent 5 weeks at The Rosery Hotel & was made to feel totally at home. The owner & staff were fantastic & went out of their way to make it a smooth stay. Almost every evening I had dinner at the restaurant which had a great menu & very tasty. Also loved the cereal & juices buffet & the full English breakfast every morning. My room had just been given a full makeover & was fresh, clean & cosy. Great location & free parking & the local bus stops just outside the door which was useful on occasion. Fully recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barmy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Its a lovely place to stay, It has a pretty garden with some courtroom suites which are large and well acquired. We had a party in the large conservatory and the food was good and there was plenty for everyone.
The staff are friendly and helpful and its got free parking and its quite close to town

Room Tip: Lots of free parking, close to town and A11/A14 Rooms are good size and comfortable, staff are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It poured with rain for our two night visit and staying in their Garden room meant we needed the brolly for breakfast. The room and shower room was clean and warm had all the usual amenities for a comfortable stay. However, we would have appreciated some bedside rugs on the tiled floor, it being nearly winter.

The wall separating our room from the next was thin, however, and I had to bang on it to get our neighbour to turn off his TV at 3:45 am the first night.

The staff were charming and helpful, the cooked breakfast (by the owner) fresh and non greasy.

In all, reasonable value but not exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
1.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
869 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
7.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosery Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosery Country House Hotel

Property: Rosery Country House Hotel
Address: 15 Church Street, Newmarket CB8 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosery Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosery Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosery Country House Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing