We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No heating?”
Review of Cadogan Hotel

Cadogan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cadogan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Gdansk,Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No heating?”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My room was very cold all the time. When I have asked the staff to help, I was told that there is nothing they can do because the windows are in bad condition. The hotel building was not clean.

Never ever again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polish_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, Owner at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
I have just seen your review and am sorry that you found your room to be cold. I would appreciate if you can provide additional information regarding the date of your visit and if you know who you spoke to at the hotel. We are currently in the process of changing all the bedroom window to double glazed units and this has been completed in all but 3 of our 12 rooms. Under usual circumstances we would provide guests with additional portable electric heaters and increase the boiler settings if necessary. The heating of the hotel operates on a timer and is not usually on during the day or over night however this has manual over-ride switches which are used whenever we have guests staying during the day, or it is very cold over night.

I am also disappointed that you have also found the hotels cleanliness to be below your expectations. We have recently increased our cleaning procedures and staff to concentrate on this area. Again if you can contact me to discuss any specific problem I would appreciate your call. The phone number is 01638 663814.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
11
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were a party of 10 and Kevin and Julie were most welcoming and hospitable. The breakfasts were excellent and due to the location being so central there was real value for money. The decor was tired and the whole place needs some TLC, otherwise the stay was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good location, friendly staff and fantastic breakfast. Parade of horses down the street outside made breakfast an even better experience. However, bathroom could have been cleaner and there was a lot of dust around, (maybe the result of open windows during the hot weather). Breakfast cups should be inverted if tables are set night before. Ours were not clean inside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattco46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very basic rooms but as it is about half the price of other hotels in the area please what do you expect.
Julie the owner a very lovely lady who looked after us very well,the breakfast was excellent,we needed it after a stag day at the races.
overall a good value hotel for a day at the races,you get what you pay for so don,t expect the Ritz

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallygator43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel through laterooms.com where the checkin times says 2pm, however on arriving at 330pm, my partner who went to check where we could park as the car park was rammed was told we were early as checkin is 4pm. However we were checked in without an issue which was great as we had to be at the races at 4pm.
Our room was to the front of the hotel and i thought the noise from the busy road was going to be an issue as the window was open, but i was pleasently suprised that when closed you couldnt hear a sound.
Room large and spacious, decor dated but it doesnt take away from the stay. Nice touch with the penguin bar, not had one of those in years.
Owners helpful and pleasent, even moving their own car for my partner to have their space. All in all it was a good hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Very pleasant. Ideally located near the centre of town and a short walk or taxi ride to the races. Lovely and friendly owners. I will stay again no problem. Your always going to get positive and negative feedback. I wasn't expecting Buckingham Palace just a clean hotel and thats what I got. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. A good location and sensible room pricing make it a good choice compared with other more pricey hotels. The room was a little tatty with a broken toilet seat which is quite poor as well as other tired decor such as the wardrobes falling apart, minor things that should be sorted. The main problem is the price of the meals..£16.95 is really quite expensive and when there is such a choice in town it wasnt surprising no-one was eating in and the late (4pm) check-in is a little poor.That said it is better than a lot of places in the area and is good for the price of the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avisius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, Owner at Cadogan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
I am pleased that you consider that The Cadogan Hotel has a lot going for it and that it is better than a lot of places in the area. With regards to your other comments I am sorry that your visit was marred by minor things. Obviously, the toilet seat should have been replaced upon the departure of the previous guest using this room, however as soon as you mentioned the problem on the first day of your stay it was immediately replaced. All meals are cooked tnd prepared to order with many regular customers who consideri that the price refects the quality and quanity provided. I am pleased that you were able to find meal within the town to suit your budget. The 4pm check in has been implemented as 99% of our guests do not arrive before this time; however if guests require an earlier check in, it is not a problem so long as we are aware in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
1.6 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
899 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
7.1 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadogan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadogan Hotel

Property: Cadogan Hotel
Address: Fordham Road, Newmarket CB8 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadogan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadogan Hotel is a small 3 * family run hotel 300m from Newmarket High Street. 12 ensuite rooms with flat screen TVs, power showers and teas and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Cadogan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadogan Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing