We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Packhorse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Packhorse Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My family took three rooms here for a get-together and could not have found anywhere better. I remember the pub as it used to be and can only admit to a bit of envy that I dont live near Moulton any longer.
The bar area of the pub has become extremely welcoming and very girl friendly. The dining was fantastic - the service, quality of the food and the decor all first rate. The accommodation upstairs was five-star - quality beds and linen, excellent decor, large baths (reminiscent of Babington House) etc.
Well worth it and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    49
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
106
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

19 of us went to my fathers retirement party, very clean and impressive but it stopped there. The staff obviously didn't want a party of 19 on a Tuesday night. The food was cold and the cod cheeks inedible ,the plates were slammed in front of us. The main course arrived and the side dishes 5 minutes later. 4 small bowls of chips and 4 very small dishes of mushrooms between 19 of us. 2 chips each!!! My father put all the chips and mushrooms on his plate and was then told that it was 1 dish between 4 and there wouldn't be any more. The waitress then took my fathers plate and scraped the mushrooms and chips back into the bowl.They got the deserts wrong and the person that didn't get the proper desert was told that he wouldn't be getting it,he would have to have rice pudding or nothing.A special wine was ordered but it ran out very soon as they hadn't ordered hardly any ,and despite numerous requests for a wine list we were repeatedly ignored.A lovely looking place but considering what we were charged per head we should have been treated like royalty,it was astronomical, and considering the service and cold food a total rip off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lehltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

As long standing customers of chef Chris & manager Hayley this new venture of theirs won't disappoint !!
Superb food from Chris's kitchen ,as always, and Hayley always makes you welcome.
The rooms are all beautifully furnished so it's worth a stay too !!
Enjoy.......

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robertlintott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

It is obvious that a lot of thought and effort has gone into this new build. The Menu is different and unique to other neighbouring pubs and restaurants so you get the chance to try something you may not have eaten before. Not the place for your scampi and chips pub lunch, much more for a special lunch or night out. Lovely building and function room with a few rooms available for stayers. I will be looking forward to going back very soon, occasion or no occasion!

Room Tip: Close enough to Newmarket Racecourse but out of the way from the hens/stags on the high street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darj33ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Newmarket has a dearth of decent restaurants. Apart from a couple of good Indians, which are not really what you are looking for for lunch. The managers have come from The Crown at Bildestone, which was very much a favourite of my in-laws and we visited whenever we were in the area. They have brought to The Packhorse all the fabulous food & excellent service we experienced there. It might appear to be a little on the expensive side but it is more than value for money. I have eaten there as a couple and also attended two private parties in the separate dinning room. All I can say is that every occasion was excellent. Well done & thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louize H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My friends and I were due to dine at The Packhorse Inn for a celebratory meal in 2 days time, having made a phone booking 6 weeks-2 months ago. I contacted the pub via their website/email facility last week to request an extra person be added to our table, thus making us 6 persons. I had no confirmation that this was done, so decided to call them today to make sure. Imagine my disappointment when they explained that they had no booking registered! This obviously demonstrates a complete level of incompetence within the management team. Bookers beware.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tessaneyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Wilbraham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I were taken to the above for a birthday celebration dinner by her aunt and her daughter. Fantastic is the only word for it, packed car park on arrival; always a good sign and it was only on a Wednesday...!!! I was very impressed with everything that was served to us and the place is lovely too. I had the scallops for my starter served with chicken wings; well these wings were delicious and the scallops divine, in fact the best I have ever eaten. We then had the pheasant tikka curry; strange choice for an English restaurant but it was magic..!! We all had a pudding and coffee and the entire bill, including wine and bar drinks was under £50 a head.
Go try it for yourself, it really is worth it..!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
2.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
5.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Packhorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Packhorse Inn

Property: The Packhorse Inn
Address: Bridge Street | Moulton, Newmarket CB8 8SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Packhorse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revitalised and reopened in October 2013. The Packhorse Inn offers a truly stunning dining and staying experience. Mediocrity is most certainly not on the menu or indeed any aspect of this eight bedroom country inn, which deliberately sets out to stretch the definition of "pub" to the limit. Awards/Recognition: • 3 AA Rosettes • 5 AA Stars for accommodation • Listed in The Times' 'Ultimate 100 British hotels' feature. • Sawday's "Favourite Newcomer" • Winner "Best Food Pub" in The Great British Pub Awards • Sawday's "Favourite Newcomer" • Listed in the Michelin Guide and The Good Food Guide Location: Rural Suffolk village just two and a half miles from Newmarket, the historic home of horse racing. Facilities: • 8 individually designed en suite bedrooms • a large dining and bar area • garden/terrace • club room for business meetings & events Food & Drink: The menu is best described as Modern European, catering for all tastes, from our affordable fixed price menu through to the a la carte, which delivers smart, contemporary dishes full of vibrant flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Packhorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Packhorse Inn Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing