We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Packhorse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Packhorse Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Newmarket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My boyfriend decided he'd like to eat here for his birthday meal after a recommendation from a friend. We made a night of it and were glad we made effort to dress smartly as this is not your average village pub. The service was very quick and warm and friendly even the kitchen staff were welcoming. We were most definitely wined and dined and thoroughly enjoyed every bite of the delicious food served to us. The bar staff were even more than happy to make me some frilly cocktails and allowed us to be at our leisure. It was a beautiful country setting, with delicious food and great service. It was reasonably priced even for such a fine dining experience. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    48
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
105
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is fine dining at its best.
Its not pub grub its fine dining.
Setting great
Food excellent
Service friendly
Great choice of wines
Great choice of non alcoholic drinks
By far my favourite place in suffolk to eat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just had a lovely stay at the Packhorse Inn. Somehow they knew it was my Birthday and upgraded our room. We stayed in the Warren room, which was beautifully decorated and had a fabulous huge bathroom.

Dinner was excellent, really delicious food and the staff were friendly & welcoming. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We decided to treat orselves to a night away from the kids resonably close to where we live and decided on te packhorse on the recomendation of some friends.

We arrived and settled in to our room - with a roll top bath in the bedroom. We opted for the room without a shower as we were only staying overnight and had to get back quite early. The only drawback with the room was that it was quite warm as it is situted over the kitchen.

We then dined in the restaurant and we were highly impressed by the food. The complimentary first course was truffle popcorn, blue cheese macarons and some bread. The flavours were well put together. The rest of the meal also surpassed expectations, the scallops were perfectly cooked and the bananas and custard was a clever combination of the two items. We were very impressed and will be going back!

The breakfast was also great and the room had a few nice touches like the coffee already being in the cafetiere and fresh milk that we collected after the meal.

Thank for a very pleasant night away from the kids!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldeneye243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a 1 night stay in this lovely Gastro pub/ B & B. Staff were very friendly and accommodating considering we arrived during their lunch time service. Yann the Maitre'd checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were staying in Primrose Room which was decorated very tastefully with great open plan bathroom facilities. We dined with friends that night and the food was really exceptional and again staff were attentive. The owners have done a great renovating this pub and I would highly recommend staying or even just dining there.

Room Tip: Primrose was the biggest room with dual aspect and free standing bath and walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaG1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had lunch at this beautifully appointed inn in the lovely village of Moulton near Newmarket.
The food, staff and service were excellent in such a beautiful inn overlooking the village green with all the trees in blossom on a nice sunny day. What could be better?!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Was recommended to stay at The Packhorse Inn when back in Newmarket, we weren't disappionted, checked in efficiently the staff are welcolming and friendly, our room was very smart tastefully furnished, the huge bathroom immaculately clean.
Dinner was superb we'll look forward to staying again.
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
2.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
5.0 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Packhorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Packhorse Inn

Property: The Packhorse Inn
Address: Bridge Street | Moulton, Newmarket CB8 8SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Packhorse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revitalised and reopened in October 2013. The Packhorse Inn offers a truly stunning dining and staying experience. Mediocrity is most certainly not on the menu or indeed any aspect of this eight bedroom country inn, which deliberately sets out to stretch the definition of "pub" to the limit. Awards/Recognition: • 3 AA Rosettes • 5 AA Stars for accommodation • Listed in The Times' 'Ultimate 100 British hotels' feature. • Sawday's "Favourite Newcomer" • Winner "Best Food Pub" in The Great British Pub Awards • Sawday's "Favourite Newcomer" • Listed in the Michelin Guide and The Good Food Guide Location: Rural Suffolk village just two and a half miles from Newmarket, the historic home of horse racing. Facilities: • 8 individually designed en suite bedrooms • a large dining and bar area • garden/terrace • club room for business meetings & events Food & Drink: The menu is best described as Modern European, catering for all tastes, from our affordable fixed price menu through to the a la carte, which delivers smart, contemporary dishes full of vibrant flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Packhorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Packhorse Inn Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing