We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bet for a place”
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Blandford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good bet for a place”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I have stayed at the Rutland Arms several times over the last 15 years and its always been friendly and workmanlike. Its decor seems to be the same as my first visit but on closer inspection its clean and subtly updated . I always seem to get a room which requires athletic standards of stamina and a gps to find at the back of the hotel it really is a maize, but now I am understanding it better. The room was pleasant had a modern bathroom a very good bed and a flat scrren tv. The morning cuppa was possibly the worst I have ever had,the tea seemed ok the milk ok so was it the water or the kettle,answers please.
I was with agroup of car club enthusiasts so we managed a fantastic deal of only £45.00 pp don't try to get this on a race day!
Breakfast of full english on the first day and kipper on the 2nd were well cooked tasty and served quickly despite the restaurant being packed,full marks.
finally one last gripe only John smiths bitter in the lively bar why not some decent East Anglian beers?
We had a good private dining room for our function and I know from previous visits there are other excellent meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    158
    95
    80
    52
See reviews for
61
197
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife and i arrived early and was told our room was ready and we could check-in now if we wish. We did so only to find our room was was a very poor standard. Some towels on the floor of the bathroom, no toiletries whatsoever and the bedside lamp did not work. Of course we reported this and it was rectified.
My son and his wife arrived shortly after. Two weeks prior to this they were told they would be upgraded to a suite and this was still the case when i first checked in. My daughter-in-law was 4 months pregnant and this was their first getaway for some time due to work demands so they were really looking forward to this upgrade . Between the time i checked in and my son checked in the upgrade had been taken from them without explanation. This Hotel should have kept to their promise instead of letting people down at the last minute.
Just to round it off, the four of us booked an 8.30 sitting at dinner only to be told we had to wait 20 mins until a table was free. Also 4 deserts were ordered , only 3 arrived.
I have had contact with this Hotel about these matters since and i am not satisfied with their answers at all. Would i reccomend this Hotel to anyone? No chance. Think twice folks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Unfortunately it is not always possible to honour complimentary upgrades and they are never guaranteed as any suggestion of a complimentary upgrade is subject to a suitable room being available. The voucher used on this occasion was for a standard room which was honoured, we are of course very sorry to disappoint anyone and will certainly ensure when any request is made for any sort of upgrade it is emphasised that it cannot be guaranteed without paying the full rate for the requested room. We were also trying to assist by offering an early check in however the room was not quite finished and we do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Did not sleep a wink, as the hotel was far to hot and stuffy. breakfast was very nice, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyoen.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Car park a few yards from Hotel with ample parking. Our room was a disappointment being gloomy with an old badly stained marble washbasin. On mentioning this, the room was inspected and we moved into the next-door room that was much pleasanter. During three night stay shower gel and shampoo were not topped up. Found mattress firm, but this may suit others. Staff pleasant and helpful, Character georgian hotel in central location

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bymiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We enjoyed a two-night break at The Rutland Arms for our wedding anniversary earlier this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is in a briliant location right in the centre of Newmarket and we were amazed at the huge size of our room, with a lovely canopied bed.
Everything was of a high standard, including the restaurant where we enjoyed two full-English breakfasts and a superb evening meal on our second night - wonderful food and service.
However, while you are handily located for the high street pubs, you will also 'enjoy' the sights and sounds as the town's youngsters spill out on to the street at closing time!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

What a surprise! We just returned from a 'Birthday treat' break at the Rutland Arms and although I did not know what to expect, as we had never been to Newmarket before, I had a lovely surprise. The delightful receptionist Sam greeted us with a lovely smile and checked us in very efficiently (Sam is certainly a credit to the hotel so helpful and friendly). When we opened the door of our room I was chuffed !!!! It was a beautiful 4 poster, thankyou Sam . The whole team at the Rutland were so accommodating and friendly we had a total relax. We also enjoyed a meal in the restaurant during our stay which we would certainly recommend the food being very good and service excellent. We shall certainly be returning, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentkiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here for one night and had a lovely time. Booked in at reception straight away. As we were on the 3rd floor we had lots of corridors and stairs to climb but it was ok as long as you are fairly fit. Room was nice with bath/shower, trouser press, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and tea making facilities and very good heating. We had half board and booked with booking.com and got a brilliant deal. We paid £75.00 for both of us in a double room with full english breakfast and brilliant evening meal that would have cost that amount on its own in an al a carte restaurant. Other than the fact that the hotel is quite old so obviously not a modern hotel we couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icmeler4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing