We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessentially English, quaint and quirky”
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Suffolk, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quintessentially English, quaint and quirky”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very quaint and quirky, lots of staircases and corridors and wonky floors and beams but just what you expect from a proper English hotel, with character and good old-fashioned service. Very comfortable room overlooking the courtyard,great night's sleep and a hearty room service breakfast in bed the next day.
Highly recommended. Don't stay here if you just want an impersonal box to lay your head down in but stay here for a taste of Olde England and enjoy the excellent service and relish a bit of character!
You can't get more centrally placed than this for Newmarket.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – we also love the quirkiness and old world charm of the hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    160
    98
    82
    52
See reviews for
61
200
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed this Hotel. It is right in the middle of town so great location. It is a little bit of a "rabbit warren" to some of the rooms, but this is in keeping with the hotel and the atmosphere. The room was very comfortable and breakfast had plenty to choose from. If there is no car parking space at the end of the Hotel turn down the street that runs behind the Hotel and there is plenty of parking opposite the back of the Hotel. We ate dinner across the road at the Golden Lion and the food was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back Annex. It is well worth the effort of finding your room as it is quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean62Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Really nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as you have identified we are ideally located on the Main High Street in Newmarket, for all sorts of events, be it a night out on the town, a Day at the Newmarket Races, our proximity to Tattersalls horse sales. we are also only a short drive from both Cambridge City Centre or the Historic town of Bury St Edmunds if you have fancied a bit of sight seeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I booked through Laterooms, hotel was advertised as £160 with a 50% saving through the site. The truth is they only charge £160 on race days, normal price is £65 which is still too expensive! So duped to start with then the room, arghh! Small, thin walls, dirty headboard, dirty windows, small TV, I could hear every toilet & TV noise from the room above. This really isn't good enough and to advertise as a 4 star hotel is a travesty. They lose as I have business in Newmarket regularly over the next year or so and will avoid this place like the plague, I seriously suggest you do the same! You have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on to Trip Advisor and I would fiorstly like to apologise that you feel you did not have an enjoyable stay. However, at no point has the Rutland Arms ever advertised itself as a 4 star hotel, we are a 3 star AA rated hotel and have been for the last 6 years.

We are sorry that you felt overcharged for your stay – however we are one of the most competitive hotels in Newmarket. In terms of price we do vary our rates between £65 and £165 regularly throughout the year and not just on race dates. Newmarket is an event led town and the rates go up and down as demand increases or decreases throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Okay - was over on business and decided to stay at The Rutland Arms. First impression is that the outside really needs a good coat of paint.I entered via the courtyard and thought it could do with a good tidy. So first impressions aren't too good. I was checked it by a very friendly receptionist - my room was small but the bed was comfortable. The en-suite needs a lot of attention!

the hotel is old and its like a rabbit warren - but the creaky floor boards and oak beams add to the experience!

The strange thing was everything was not perfect - but strangely the stay (1 night) was fine! The breakfast was good and check out efficient!

I'm not going to go there on a weeks holiday but 1 or 2 nights would be fine

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments – I don’t think any hotel can claim to be perfect but our team always try very hard to make every guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible! We would welcome you back happily in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I spent 4 nights in room 243 in late September 2012. The staff were friendly and the food was pretty good. I also slept well in a comfy bed with little or no noise even with the window open. So why such a poor score? In a nut shell, the room was drab and even dirty in places. In the bathroom, paint was peeling of the skirting in pieces the size of beer mats. The lino was stretched and wavy so you could feel it moving under your feet. The metal bin was rusty and the vanity unit round the sink was upholstered in deep buttoned vinyl. That was a decade out of date in the 80s! In the bedroom the carpet was threadbare and pretty grubby. The wallpaper was peeling in places. There was an upholstered bench under the window which was filthy with highly visible stains and had what appeared to be a cigarette burn. All in all not acceptable from a hygiene point of view. A real shame as a spruce up would compliment the character and locaton of this hotel and make it a 5* experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook TK Maxx car park but it is very quiet. The floors are VERY squeeky so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin503888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site. We are sorry to hear that the room did not live up to your expectations. We do have a continual restoration programme in place whereby we update the decor of bedrooms and public areas however, your room has been noted to be next on the list and thank you for bringin it to our attention. I will make sure that the maintenance team address the issues you have highlighted in this room and that the issues are resolved as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We came to eat in the restaurant as part of one my rare trips back to the UK , having lived overseas for 15 years the few opportunities i get to catch up with friends i like to find a really decent restaurant . Our first impressions of the Rutland were favourable and the general decor and atmosphere pleasant.

The problems started with our wine order. We ordered a sparkling pinot grigio and were brought a still one, when we asked to have this replaced with the original order, we were presented with a completely different sparkling wine and told that it was the only one available, depsite 8 options being listed on the menu. We also had to ask for the glasses to be changed as there was a fog of utter confusion appearing to surround the waitress [who i suspect was new to the job].

we selected the 4 starter share plate which was reasonable in its quality, but frankly so mean in its proportions that it would have been more at home at a pixie's tea party than on a restaurant table.

the main course [poached salmon] was frankly bizarre.the fish itself was well cooked but it was placed on what appeared be a large cowpat of smash instant potato with red food colouring in it. No beetroot or potatoes were harmed in the making of this mash.

The staff were pleasant and friendly but the there were fawlty towers moments in relation to both ordering and paying.

Really not at all recommended except for those who have weird fixations with reconstituted food stuffs or who are in the mood for a good laugh.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrosine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
I would firstly like to apologise that your meal was not as expected, and then take the opportunity to explain some of the points you have highlighted.

With regards to the wine unavailability – we have yesterday changed our wine list and reduced in not only size but also in price, therefore for the last month we have been reducing stock and this last week or so, if we had run out and it wasn’t on the new wine list then we were unfortunately not replacing it. This should have been explained to you at the bar and I apologise that it was not made clear.

With regards to the portion sizes on the starters I myself pulled up my kitchen team on Saturday night as I felt they were too small – we have a new junior chef who has recently joined the team and who is still training, so this should not have been this size and is being rectified. Again please accept my apologies.

I would also like to reassure you that the mash and indeed almost everything else on our menu is in fact homemade and is not ‘Smash’. It has not been food coloured - the beetroot mash is made by cooking the beetroot then pureeing and mixing them through the mash potato, hence the colour.

I trust the responses I have given go some way to improving your opinion of our hotel and we would be happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We live in New,arkwt and this is our favourite place to stop in for a pint, cocktails, etc. it also has a different and better than just the average pub food. Free wifi is a nice plus and it's located next to all the key points on High Street. It's said to be the hotel built by King Charles I so he could have time with his girl on the side. There's a cottage named for her behind the hotel and there are tunnels that connect the hotel to the oldest pub and to the Kings Palace...all of which is within 50 meters of each other.

There are several sitting rooms that comprise the bar so it's a great place to meet up with friends.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Be sure to dine in the back garden if the weather permits
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your nice comments, we are glad you enjoy visiting the hotel. We agree that if its sunny our Courtyard is a lovely area in which to have a drink or enjoy lunch. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.9 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing