We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutland Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Hotel(Newmarket)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosery Country House Hotel(Newmarket)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Black Horse Inn(Swaffham Bulbeck)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worlington Hall(Mildenhall)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadogan Hotel(Newmarket)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
88
177
108
88
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
177
108
88
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetcar parkold buildingrabbit warrenfour poster bedfull englishkipperslovely hotelbreakfast was excellentsaturday nighttown centreyogurtcharacterbeamstokenmazecambridge
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff-very welcoming and helpful.

Hotel-an old coaching inn, a little tired in parts but authentically old with character.

Parking-none but we managed to obtain parking in a public car park outside the hotel.

Room-we booked a standard room as we were attending a race meeting at Newmarket. Relatively Clean and comfortable.

Price-Expensive, £130 per night-price was high as it coincided with the race meeting.

Breakfast-Very good full English.

Would recommend the hotel but I would imagine that some people staying here would not be happy with the tired look of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review of recent stay

The hotel does have a private car park to the back of hotel with around 35 spaces but if you arrive early will offen be still full of cars from the previous nights guests.

Prices are higher in Newmarket during races due to demand but we offer lots of great deals outside of the peak season just call us for details,

Kind regards

Emma Dall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

-First off, they wouldn't give me a receipt for cash payment saying the computer wouldn't do it. Like a sketch from Little Britain, computer says no!!!
-Room was ok, but handles falling off cupboards and pubes on the floor.
-Oh! and I had to change room one night because water was dripping into the light fitting.
-At breakfast I got ignored for half hour as everyone else got served.
-My juice glass had a massive crack in it.
-Wine from the bar was room temperature...unfortunately it was white wine.
-Wake up call??? Not a hope!!! After complaining 3 times they did get it right eventually.
-On a positive note, when I did eventually get food it was lovely.
-Great location in the middle of Newmarket with a quiet little courtyard out the back. Pitty about the experience inside it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilnknowestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us, please contact me directly on generalmanager.rutlandarms@bespokehotels.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Emma Dall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a nice old-fashioned coaching hotel,tastefully decorated and good for a short stay. The Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. We were in a room overlooking the courtyard which was quieter than those overlooking the main road, though it was not an exceptionally busy highway when we were there.
The breakfasts and service were very good. There are spaces for cars on the forecourt and a car park which is a very short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean_Morley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

What a lovely review thank you so much,

I do hope you will visit again soon

Kind regards

Emma Dall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a short break, the welcome from receptionist was really nice. The hotel is well located and is deceptively large, we asked for a quiet room and were allocated one overlooking the courtyard. The room was a little on the small side but certainly adequate and was well furnished and very clean. The beds were very comfortable, it was very warm at the time of our visit we had the window open, from about 700am until about until about 21-30 the kitchen extractor fans sited on the otherside of the courtyard are going continuously and whilst not overloud are intrusive, a minor point, however, some rooms are overlooking the main street so perhaps these may have been noisier. The premises are old and appear to have been modified many times over the years and is a rabbit warren of stairs and corridors I didn't see any signs of a lift and less able clients would possibly have difficulty with some of the rooms. Breakfast, on arrival staff were absent but appeared reasonably quickly however no greetings were given only orders taken and staff had to be asked to replenish both milk and orange juice from the serve yourself section, not good when the restaurant was quiet. Breakfast choice was varied, well cooked and generous portions on both mornings. The hotel car park is a very short walk away and is easily accessable with plenty of spaces. WiFi was free although requiring a different access code each day. Would I stay here again? yes I would.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastelman10Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for spending the time to write a review I glad you enjoyed your short break. The rooms over the courtyard are quieter on the weekends and we will always do our best to caterer to everyones requests when possible,

I do hope you will visit again soon,

Kind regards

Emma Dall
General Manager

P.s Dont forget to call direct for the best rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for an annual meeting and this was our first time for attending.
The hotel is nice and periodic and was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent and very well cooked.

Room was very warm as it had been a very hot day which made sleeping a little difficult but with period buildings this does tend to be the case most of the time. A fan was provided which helped a little.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us, so glad your enjoyed your short visit I do hope you will stay again soon,

Kind regards

Emma Dall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews