We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice oldy worldy place”
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice oldy worldy place”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Centrally located with nice courtyard for drinks and food. Staff all v helpful. I stayed in 212 a nice room with circular window, beams and comfy bed. Only downside was no aircon and even with a fan the room was stifling.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoshu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the staff helpful and the location to your liking. Unfortunatly the large cost of air-con for the few weeks of the year we have the hot weather would not be financially viable to install. Once again, thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    157
    94
    78
    51
See reviews for
61
195
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night after going to the races,and after arriving late because of heavy traffic(obviously not the hotels fault) we had a nightmare to park as there was a layby out front but was full of traffic cones!! And when we did eventually check inn and find our room! Was very DISSAPOINTED to find a very small cramped room with very dated decor and was also like an oven in there with just one very small noisy fan which did nothing!and for the price of room being £160 would have expected more for our money!!breakfast ok but service a bit rushed! Won't rush back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunatly there is some building work happening at the front of the hotel by the council. This means that access to our car park has been diverted. There should have been a map attached to your confirmation to advise of this. The rooms during racing season are in very high demand and the price reflects the demand levels during racing. Our prices are monitored very closely to be as competitive as they can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose the Rutland Arms as a midway point between London and Norfolk to meet to meet Family.
We waited 15 mins to get some form of recognition only to be told that the dishwasher was apparently more important than our custom, at which point we left, walked over the road to Wetherspoons and were treaty properly with warmness and a smile.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I am very unhappy to read this. We take great pride in looking after our guests here at thr Rutland arms hotel and i am dissappointed to see that we have dipped below our usual level of expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Rutland Arms is a handsome 18th century building in desperate need of some TLC. Peeling paint, debris-strewn courtyard, unimaginative and bad food, 1970's style bedrooms and faded decor. Nice staff but unsupervised. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICHOLAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that you have written this review as we had discussed this on the day of your complaint and then in the letter response to yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed one night after racing meeting. Decor in character with building car parking can be a bit tight if you arrive late. breakfast was first class and very prompt. Nice couple of pints in courtyard would stay again.

Room Tip: It's not a city centre but busy town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The car park can be fairly tight however, parking in Newmarket is at a premium and during racing is it exceptionally busy. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Rutland Arms is a traditional hotel on the high street in Newmarket. Originally a coaching inn, with 4 linked buildings of varying antiquity surrounding a cobbled courtyard, where drinks are served. Don't expect to find expensive reproduction furniture, marbled bathrooms or even elevators - this is a simple, old fashioned hotel with decent amenities in an excellent location at a very fair price. Our room (at the rear and facing the courtyard) was large and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and free parking is available behind the Inn. Newmarket is a good base for visiting the more crowded (and expensive) Cambridge (15 miles away) but also worth exploring in its own right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Im glad you found your stay with us pleasant and you enjoyed the quirky-ness of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nine of us passing through Newmarket, having been to a wedding and all eaten well during the day, wanted to stop and have a get together and a non alchoholic drink before driving off in our seperate directions. We settled on a table in the courtyard on a Saturday evening and began to unwind. The staff were magnificent in dealing with our requests, as one would expect from any hotel, but we felt that they were particularly polite and accomodating and friendly. Some of us only had a bowl of soup or a bowl of chips, whilst others had a main dish and a starter. All was served up promptly and tasted great. Chips maybe a tad overdone but that would be the only possible gripe. Next time we are in Newmarket we will certainly consider staying here.The bar staff were excellent ambassadors for the Rutland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIREMALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am please to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The staff here at the Rutland arms pride themselves on being warm and welcoming and im glad you found this to be the case on your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back at thr Rutland Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.6 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing