We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good town centre location, friendly staff, good breakfast, and clean rooms.”
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Audlem
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good town centre location, friendly staff, good breakfast, and clean rooms.”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We enjoyed staying here. Offered everything we needed for a weekend stay for the races.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P1pster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    163
    100
    82
    53
See reviews for
62
202
31
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed just one night and no complaints. Check in was efficient, room clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and very attentive staff. Yes it was a route march to our room but this just add to the charm of the place. We didnt eat here as we met up with friends at another hotel but wished we had.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stayed here for Newmarket Races 14/17 Oct and on arrival was met with a very friendly welcome at reception. The room was excellent overlooking the courtyard at the back of the Hotel and barhroom en suite was very clean a good size. Breakfast every day was excellent with lots to choose from and the service was brilliant and served with a smile...
Location in Newmarket great for the Races, and I cannot understand negative comments regarding this Hotel as I could not find one!!!
I have stayed in 3 other hotels in Town before but will definately be staying here for next years racing
Thank You to all at The Rutland

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Booked for Sunday lunch via the Times+ offer. Offered the menu on arrival - quite reasonable for the price. Unable to order a kir as a starter - they didn't know what it was.

The main course and starter were perfectly acceptable. I then reached over to the adjoining table to look at the menu for dessert - not the menu we had been offered and cheaper witha better choice.

I raised this with the duty manager who told me that the Times+ was an all-week offer and that the normal menu was more expensive Monday to Saturday. He also told me that the dishes on the Times+ menu were more expensive to produce - chicken? cod? Ravioli?

Whatever is the norm for the rest of the week, surely an 'offer' menu should beno more expensive than the 'regular' Sunday menu?

My complaint produced no apology and no reduction - our first and only visit.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 73480roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
We are currently taking part in the Times offer which started on Friday last week, we are running this 7 days a week and it is a menu made up of dishes selected from our Main A'La Carte Menu and offers good value for money when checked against these individual pricings, however on a Sunday we do run a discounted Sunday Lunch Menu which is a selection of Roast's and is a different quality to our A'La Carte menu, therefore is a cheaper menu.
We apologise for any confusion this has led to and will look at the Sunday offering to ensure that this confusion on price and choice does not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

Taunton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I booked in on a Sunday. £130 room only. I expected a very nice hotel for this money. The opposite is the case I am afraid to say. There was no one at reception when I arrived so I patiently waited for 5 minutes for someone to come. I was not made to feel very welcome but was I was 'processed' quickly. The room was shabby and dusty. The toilet was broken. I paid £8 for internet access but my room had such a poor signal I had to keep going out of my room and sitting on the stairs to get a signal. Dinner was awful and over priced. I chose mussels to start but they were so small I could hardly find them. It came with a bread roll that had been microwaved, resembled a rubber ball and was unedible.The roast pork dinner was all reheated and horrible. My complaints were met with a shrug with no offer of compensation of any sort.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davod113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for your comments, .

We apologise that no one was there to greet you on reception and that you felt that you were not welcomed, as i would hope that all of my team would make every effort to welcome guests to my hotel and i am sorry you did not feel this .
With regards to your dinner complaint this charge was taken off your bill and apologies were made on check out, and i have since discussed the way this was handled with my late duty manager from Sunday.

we would also like to clarify that the rate was not room only and did include breakfast, and that this was a discounted rate at a peak time of year in Newmarket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The rooms themselves are not to bad and the location is quite good bring on the high street, although parking can be an issue.
My main annoyance was the food. My wife and I had a lunch, all that was offered was sandwiches or main meals, being a lunch time and having to be somewhere we opted for a sandwich each. What a disapoinent! Eventually the food came and the bread on my sandwich was well past it's best. The salad was limp, the portions were very small and all for nearly £6! I returned my sandwich and I didn't have an apology and when another came along it was almost as bad!
With all this in mind we didn't eat in the restaurant (very high prices) and ate in a vey nice local place down the road.
As a hotel it's ok for a night but the food and service is not up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for your comments, further to this i will be asking our Head chef to look at the Main Bar Menu offering at lunch time in order to offer more alternatives to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Having read some negative comments on here we were somewhat apprehensive about staying here. We were paying a much reduced rate through Sunday Newspaper tokens so didnt expect to get a very good room.
We were though very impressed with the room although it was up a few stairs and along corridors but passing exposed period timbers ( nice touch).
Dinner was superb and breakfast impressed. If we wanted we could find fault but they would be niggly items and very few. Would not though have liked to have paid £165 but certainly good value if you can get a room for £100 ish.
Everywhere was clean and staff very friendly. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was reasonably spacious with seating and flat screen TV.
Car park entrance may be tight if you have a very large car but I had no problems in my Lexus.
Will agree that WI-FI is very expensive.
Hotel could not be more central and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing