We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for racing enthusiasts, wonderful staff”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location for racing enthusiasts, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for the Guineas weekend so it was very busy (as expected). The room was nice, very clean and a good hospitality tray with coffee, tea and mineral water. The bar was great, loads of seating, large screen TVs with Sky and Racing UK. Good selection of beers, didn't eat here in the evening but the food coming out looked good. Staff were all great, very friendly and welcoming. Even though the bar was packed after the racing, hardly any wait to be served, very impressed. The bar (with live music) is open until 2am so if you don't like noise then bear that in mind. Location of the hotel is perfect - almost opposite the National Horse Racing Museum (which is well worth a visit) and also the pick up for the shuttle bus to the racecourse is just across the road. Plenty of parking at the hotel also. If I was being hyper critical I would say breakfast was a bit hit and miss, sausages poor quality, scrambled eggs tasted and looked microwaved and mushrooms were tinned - however poached eggs were fab and the service was great as well. Would also suggest a info folder in the room, we misheard the guy on reception and thought breakfast finished at 9 - when it actually is served from 9 to 10.30 so we turned up early (as did lots of other people), so info in the room would be helpful. All in all though, really enjoyed our stay, would recommend to anyone and will definitely stay here again. .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreylilywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
20
40
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We held our engagement party here, in the function room, at the rear of the hotel and pub. The management were so accommodating and helpful, recommending a local a local party decoration business to help dress the room. We had around 70 people attend the evening event and everything was perfect. We were kept up to date with any developments along the way, our event was given a real tender loving care feel and we felt that everything was handled and dealt with so professionally. I can't recommend the hotel and pub enough, whether it's a quiet drink with your partner, a group booking with a few friends or a full on event, like we held, the staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming which is all you can ask from a venue. Top marks guys. Would definitely use again. Sam and Jen x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my friends for a girlie night. The accommodation was perfect for the price. The linen was clean and the room was comfortable. We ate at the hotel twice....once for lunch and then our breakfast. Most meals were freshly made and hot on arrival. The ingredients and care took with presentation was excellent. Would stay again. Friendly staff!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mousey6878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently stayed at the White Hart for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. Booking in was simple and i was pointed in the right direction to my room. The room was spacious with a large bed and good size bathroom. Towels were fluffy, tea and coffee and a desk to work at. I met my work colleagues for a bite to eat at the bar which was really nice and relaxed atmosphere and the cocktails went down well even tho it was a work night. We met again for breakfast in the morning and was served by a lovely lady Gill who took orders and delivered tea and coffee and had a quick chat to every table to make sure everyone was happy. Overall a pleasant stay and I would deffinately stay again when work is in this area

Room Tip: try the cocktails
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I called in on Saturday for a bar meal at lunchtime. The menu is quite attractive, and the bar was fairly busy. We ordered very simple snack, and waited. And waited.. We enquired three times about when we could expect service, and was told they were busy with a function. Surely they should have made allowances for this? Or told us service would be slow, but nothing was said. After one hour of waiting we were getting quite annoyed. The staff kept telling us it would not be long, and offered us complimentary drinks, but after one hour were had had enough to drink, and were running out of time. Had we not already paid, we would have left. People on the next table to us demanded their money back, and we were on the point of doing the same, when our meals finally arrived. I asked for a mineral water, which never arrived. The food quality was fair, but it was spoilt by the frustration of the long wait. Many people were complaining about the slow service. We don't get out much at all, and it was very disappointing as it spoilt our day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylanlane, Front Office Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Ruth,

We would like to apologise for the poor service that you received on you previous visit with us. We had an uncontrollable staffing issue within the kitchen, and with a Wedding in the function room the trade was mounting on us quickly.

You should have been properly noted of the situation at the time, and so we would like to offer you free meals for two, and a bottle of wine for the inconvenience that has been casued. Either print this off, or show the Duty Manager this responce on your phone when you arrive.

Regards

Joe Sadler
Deputy Manager
28.03.14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

rushden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visit the White Hart regularly when we are working in Newmarket and would happily recommend it to people. It is in the High Street in the centre of Newmarket, has easy car parking and lovely staff. Dylan the manager does everything he can to make sure that everything is as it should be and the whole place has a lovely feeling to it. Clean and well decorated even has a pretty outdoor covered area at the side where you relax and have a drink and catch up. The function room in the hotel is easily big enough to hold a party/reception or gathering of any kind separated from the bar and reception is easy to find as it is straight in through the door!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracethereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Had to go to Newmarket during the horse sales so rooms were scarce and expensive. Paid nearly £100 for bed and breakfast which was way over the usual rates and frankly not good value.
The rooms seemed to be an afterthought and came a very poor second to the pub in terms of service. Nobody on reception when we arrived at about 18.00, went to find someone to book in and told someone would attend shortly. They did not. Had to try again before anyone actually bothered to book us in. Have to pay on arrival too.
The twin room was OK, a little shabby but clean. It had a desk which I needed to work on but no chair, I asked for a chair, and was assured that one would be provided, but none appeared.
Dinner in the hotel was very mixed, my colleague had steak which he said was good; I had the fish and chips - a wrong decision; when the food arrived the fish - clearly prepared in a factory somewhere looked fine but when the batter was opened the "fish" was a glutinous grey material.
Most unpleasant.
Left feeling that I had been ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BotanicBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newmarket hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Newmarket
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
1.2 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.9 mi away
Rosery Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 134 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing