We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWAY FROM REALTY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Cindy is a very special hostess, she has that gorgeous touch of theatre and grandeur that also is warm and welcoming.
Each room is laced with cushions, books and fascinating paintings; the beds are so deliciously comfortable and the bathrooms are so warm and have all anyone would need for a relaxing soak to remove the stresses of life.
Breakfast is good and a wonderful extra is the guests' kitchenette, equipped with various teas and coffee with lovely biscuits. The gardens are fabulous with wild cyclamen, flowering in September, under the trees, there is a walled garden with a superb fig tree and vegetables.
This is a special place and relaxing is the optimum word and Cindy works hard to achieve a lovely stay for you in her beautiful home.

Room Tip: all rooms have an individual style and any room is delicious.All rooms are quiet, road noise is fain...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

As a regular visitor to Melton Hall, and a frequent stayer in family B&Bs all over the country, I have to say that this is my favourite. The atmosphere is so welcoming, and Cindy is such a smiling friendly presence. Nothing was too much trouble, and we slept beautifully.
The garden is well worth a good walk around. There are traditional British borders, exploding with gorgeous plants, as well as a vegetable garden and a rose garden, for enthusiasts. My young son was made very welcome too, and loves the little dog.
The breakfast is always delicious too. All in all, if you can get a room at Melton Hall, do - this kind of standard of real English hospitality is very rare and wonderful to find.
Having also stayed in many an ultra-smart 'country house hotel', I have to say I prefer Melton. It is such a personal welcome, but the standards of linen, bathroom and bedroom, as well as the general, very upmarket, ambiance of the house, make it preferable to me.

Room Tip: The four poster room is very special.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euberes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My friend and I have been visiting Melton Hall for the past 15 years enjoying the friendly welcome, delightful surroundings and ideal situation of this B & B. Our hostess Cindy de la Rue is always willing to accommodate any special needs we require. We enjoy a delightful full English breakfast and the house exudes a very relaxed atmosphere. We love visiting the garden and observing any changes that have taken place. We would thoroughly recommend this B & B and feel our 15 years visiting is testament to the fact that it is one of our favourite watering holes!

Monica & Pam, Hitchin, Herts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy186387, Owner at Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always a treat to see you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Personality and individuality really make a B&B an outstanding experience in my book and Cindy and Colin deliver exactly that at Melton Hall. Full of family bits and pieces, the house is a warm and welcoming place that certainly doesn't fit with standardised ideas of an overnight pit-stop - you really do feel like a house-guest. Set in rambling and entertaining gardens and ground you have te run of the rose garden - Colin is a rose collector - or the vegetable garden and the open spaces of the wild garden and meadow. The rooms are certainly individual and fit the slightly idiosyncratic style of the Hall, but are warm, comfortable and well-equipped. The garden room we chose had a delightfull double-aspect and was bright and airy with a good, big, double bed. The bathroom was just across the corridor but was superbly equipped with walk-in rain-shower and a bath you will want to soak in. Breakfast was first-class with excellent choice and of top quality. Staying here isn't the cheapest way of visiting this part of Suffolk but it was worth the price and with Colin advising on walks along the cost and providing maps you will have a better experience than staying in some chain hotel!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed one night and wished it could have been longer. This is a beautiful home, tastefully decorated and in lovely gardens. Cindy is delightful and prepared me a wonderful meal in the evening and breakfast the following morning. This is a first-class B & B and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annemcdonald21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two nights and, aware that this was a bed & breakfast in a lived-in family home, felt that it would be polite if we vacated the premises during the day. Our children would have wished otherwise. And with hindsight, given the weather, so did we.
Our overall impression of Melton Hall was of a welcoming, child-friendly house hosted by a couple with children of their own who made us feel at home. The house is huge, tastefully decorated, with a vast garden - complete with trampoline, tennis court, and pool.
Our bedroom was exceptionally comfortable and very spacious. The ensuite bathroom was also very large, and appointed with very large and fluffy towels; the only missing item we might have expected was a shower attachment.
Breakfast was copious, and Colin and Cindy were most helpful in advising us on local attractions and restaurants. Overall, we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This B and B is first and foremost a family home. When you visit here you will need to fit around the family. This is clearly a family home full of their belongings which reflect their life. Whilst this is interesting on one level it leaves one with the distinct impression that one is intruding..

Cindy who runs the place is delightful but we had the distinct impression that we were slightly in the way of the family. We do appreciate this is a B and B and that it is the school holidays. But our timings in terms of arrival and breakfast had to fit around the family timetable rather than ours.

Our room was very pretty (the garden room) but we found that we had a bathroom, that whilst we were told it was for our exclusive use, seemed to be full of children's toothbrushes, soap and accoutrements. It was difficult to tell what we could use and what we couldn't and it made us feel rather awkward about using the bathroom.

Whilst our bedroom was very pretty the bed itself is a double (rather than kingsize) and was incredibly hard. It meant I had a sleepless night and woke with a sore back and a somewhat poor mood. I realise some folk appreciate a firm bed but this was "super firm". (in my view). This combined with a hairdryer that only blew cold air did not start my morning well.

Breakfast was lovely and well prepared but again we were aware that the family had places to be and that caused us to feel somewhat rushed.

One other point is that the house is clearly in need of some decoration externally, peeling paint on the building and a somewhat pot holed drive give it a rather tired air. It is a beautiful house with wonderful grounds but it has the air of a rather worn out old lady. It has the air of a home in need of some TLC.

Overall we were somewhat glad to be heading on as we felt awkward and not very "at ease" here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FioJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy186387, Owner at Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us last weekend – we are glad about the aspects you liked, and very sorry about the ones you didn’t. As you are our first visitor to express these criticisms in the 15 years we have been offering B&B, we certainly feel jolted into doing whatever we can to avoid a recurrence.

As you rightly say, the garden room in which you stayed does not have a king-size bed. Our website, through which you found us, gives details with photographs of the choice of rooms and bed sizes. We do have a king-size four-poster in our main room with en suite bathroom. As you were undecided at the time of booking, and both rooms were available, we prepared them both, with flowers in each, so you could choose on arrival. After inspecting them both, you decided you were happy with the garden room with a queen-size bed.

Your bathroom was not shared with anyone else. The items to which you refer were for decorative purposes in keeping with our style as a family home. We did not appreciate that this wasn’t to your liking when you viewed it before making your choice. We have checked that the hair dryer is in working order - it goes into cold air mode when the blue button on the handle is depressed.

We were sorry to hear the following morning that you had not slept well because you suffer from a back condition and found the mattress too firm for your liking. We are also sorry that you weren’t interested in our offer of an upgrade to the main room, where the king-size bed is softer, as you had already decided to cancel the second night of your booking and return home. Your statement that you felt rushed to leave is a surprise, as you were welcome to stay as long as you wished.

The canes which you passed beside the drive are markers for improvement works starting next week; and this year it is the turn of the front of the house to be painted, as soon as the weather has settled.

With the benefit of your remarks we are making the following changes. We have acquired a mattress topper so any guests with similar needs to yours have the option of using this. And we will be making it clearer that we can be quite flexible about times of arrival, departure and meals, as help is available if I am not personally here. As a mother of three children I am sometimes behind the wheel of a car. If I mention my movements to guests this is not intended to restrict them, but simply because it is nice, if possible, if I can attend to them in person.

Whilst we are sorry not to have met your expectations, our home page is accurate in saying that we love to see guests who like the idea of a spacious but warm family home. We do not pretend to be a hotel, and and we are truly sorry that your stay was less happy than that of our many regular visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
0.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grove House Hotel
Grove House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Woodbridge
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill House Hall
Hill House Hall
#4 of 21 in Woodbridge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: Woodbridge IP12 1PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Melton Hall Bed & Breakfast Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing