We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food here is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Ranked #14 of 22 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
1 review
“The food here is fantastic”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Brilliant food great hotel stayed here for five days

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d200527a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    79
    45
    33
    35
See reviews for
19
106
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Having stayed two nights for business this is a nice place to stay but that's mainly because of the town which is wonderful. Room 14 which I was in has a lovely layout in an L shape with the 4 poster style bed on the corner. Really comfy too. It's on the top floor and there are lot of angled stairs to get there which is awkward with a bag, or if you're infirm, but manageable otherwise.

My only problem was was with the bath/shower which was a bath with a 2 foot suck-on hose attachment for the shower (like your gran used to have). This meant kneeling down to wash hair etc and when the hose came off the hot tap a scold was likely. When mentioned the member of staff explained that the proper shower was removed because it dripped and guests complained. ? . I didn't eat there in the evenings but breakfast was ok, but not brill, nor plentiful.

On the whole I called up and paid the web price so I'm not dissatisfied with the value for the price I paid, but improvements can be made.

Room Tip: If you need a proper stand up shower you'd better ask for one when your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I popped in to The Bull Hotel by chance whilst visiting the area, I was looking for somewhere to watch the football with a pint. The chap (perhaps owner/manager) could not have been more friendly! He whisked me off into a lovely little back room with a bar and a huge plasma screen!

However as the game started the place filled up with what I can only describe as scum. Absolute trash of society? Why? Such a beautiful hotel. Do the need the money? Needless to say (and rather selfishly I might add) that my night was pretty much ruined. I could no longer hear the football for the rabble playing with their mobiles and generally making a racket

Would I go back, no

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Myself and my new wife held our wedding reception at this fantastic hotel, ok we had the best room in the hotel, the honeymoon suite.
I must say that credit to ALL of the hard working staff that rallied around and made our wedding the perfect day, i mean from the very start of planning to leaving after the wedding breakfast.
Particular thanks must go to the the 2 wendy's who were proffessional throughout it all, but by the same token they were backed up by the hard working staff.
The presentation and the layout of the wedding meal table was exactly to plan with no details missed. The Meal was excellent and cooked to perfection by chef, thankyou!.
The hotel is nicely situated in market hill, woodbridge surrounded by old 15th century buildings, great for woodbridge town and opposite is the Shire Hall, where we got married.
It made the whole wedding process so much easier and would have no hesitation in reccomending this for any couple considering this as a venue.
If you have a budget to stick to and a relatively small party to entertain, you will do well to beat this !!!
Nigel and Bridget Clark

Room Tip: Room no 14 has a 4 poster bed and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigeljclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Every year the wife and i go away for our wedding anniversary and this year we decided to go to the Bull Hotel after having it recommended to us by a family member and may i say we were not disappointed.

The hotel is set in a wonderful central position in a beautiful little town with lots to see and do.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome by both the staff and the locals. The hotel is set out and decorated in a way that makes it feel very comfortable and cosy which makes it ideal just to sit in with a drink and relax.

As for the food well what can i say!!! It is one of the only times that both me and the wife have not felt the need to go looking anywhere else for food whist we have been away. We ate at all times in the hotel as the food was 1st class and you always got a decent portion of food and it was very reasonably priced. There was something for everyone on every menu (breakfast, dinner and evening meal). The chef was superb and cooked everything to perfection.

The room we stopped in was clean, fresh, wonderfully decorated and had plenty of room and storage space. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night and both the wife and i slept wonderfully.

All in all both the wife and i had a wonderful time and was made to feel very welcome. I would highly recommend stopping at this hotel and the wife and i will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We made a brief visit to Woodbridge to visit family and required somewhere to stay for a Saturday night. Our booking was a little "last minute" and we requested a room with easy access and suitable for a newborn baby. The reception staff were very amenable and our requirements were more than met.

Our room was very spacious as well accessible and accommodated all of our newborns luggage (which is a challenge, i can assure you!). We ate in the restaurant during the evening which was again a last minute decision on recommendation of an existing resident, with no problems in fitting us in. The menu was very well selected and the food was even better, me and my partner both had all three courses and none was wasted.

Woodbridge is quite a lively little town at night which we thought would make it a noisy night. From our room we heard minimal noise and had no problems in getting to sleep. Breakfast was very easy going and we was not rushed and there was plenty of choice. The full English was cooked to order which makes a massive difference, my partner was impressed with the option of poached eggs!

The only negative thing i can think of, is that there were no baby changing facilities within the main part of the hotel. However, the friendly staff did everything they could to help and it wasn't too much trouble to just venture back to our room.

Overall, for what was a last minute decision and a late booking, we were extremely impressed and so felt the need to write a good review. People are too keen and tend to just write bad reviews, which i think is unfair. The room was clean, well decorated, spacious and everything worked! The hotel as a whole offers a little bit of old English tradition whilst the wine bar area is trendy and modern. The food was good value for money and we enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and always willing to help, from the point of booking to checking out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

What to say Jamie chef us a winner flare and imagination, room is good and clean with tea coffee ect bar good , food good and fresh mo packet crap, good chllin during week busy social bar at weekend on the top of then Market square blinding location with quiet rooms loads to see do and eat !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevethetravellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
504 reviews
3.9 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn
Cherry Tree Inn
#8 of 22 in Woodbridge
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel - Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel - Woodbridge

Property: Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Address: Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bull Hotel - Woodbridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bull Hotel - Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing