We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a super position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Ranked #13 of 22 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a super position”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were staying here as sadly attending a family funeral and The Bull was our chosen venue for the wake. Everyone at the hotel were so lovely and helpful. The buffet lunch was great and the location was perfect right in the centre of Woodbridge and opposite the beautiful church. We booked a double room, well it was a suite, huge space, comfortable and nicely decorated. The Breakfast was superb - we both had full English and it was very nicely presented.
Having never visited Woodbridge before we have fallen in love with the place and the lovely locals (do pay a visit to the Anchor !) and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenDenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    80
    45
    33
    35
See reviews for
19
107
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Nice comfortable centrally situated hotel with everything you need. Evening meals very good and value for money with choices. Full english very good but unfortunately on the weekend we stayed there was an electrical fault which made the self service toast coffee & tea arrangements a bit wayward. Could have done with a bit better mattress and our friends were not to impressed with the push on rubber hose used for showering. It was one of the bedrooms on the top floor.Otherwise OK.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a proper shower or perhaps ask for a reduction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Instead of walking back to our campsite after a long day we just stopped at The Bull to have a drink as it was the only bar open ! Thanks to Wendy for a good laugh, she helped us decide to stay the night and in a four poster bed ! Great !
Good cooked breakfast .....
Surprised it's only a two star .....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We decided to risk the poor reviews because it was so much better value than other places, we were only staying one night and knew we would eat elsewhere. In fact the room was pleasant enough, and we had a good night's sleep, although the rubber shower mixer on the bath would have disappointed many. The staff on duty when we arrived were very pleasant. The bar, with open fire, was welcoming and the beer was good. The only thing that let the place down really was the service at breakfast. We were ignored whilst orders were taken from others who came later, were told "just a minute", and then our food was served to others and we were left waiting for 20 minutes. The food - when it arrived - was excellent, but was accompanied by the least sincere apology I've heard for quite a while. How silly to get such an important thing as "attitude" wrong. Make your own mind up but it spoiled an otherwise perfectly ok good vfm hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda66611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Have just returned from a most enjoyable - and, at £16.95, very modestly priced - Mother's Day 3-course lunch.We had been once before, for a Valentine's Day evening meal, which had been very nice. But today's food was even better. Starters included a vegetarian option of Leek and Potato soup - with visible tiny pieces of leek and potato, plus a warm roll and butter - plus whitebait, and a very generous Prawn Cocktail.
Our party of 3 sampled different mains, and the staff were happy to let us combine the Vegetarian Lasagne with roast potatoes and fresh vegetables, rather than the standard Roast which another party-member chose.
Service was cheery and attentive, with an air of quiet, calm helpfulness, in very pleasant surroundings.
The puddings were equally good, and we can recommend the Berry Cheesecake, the Ice Cream Sundae and the tasty and varied Cheese and Biscuits.
All in all, a most enjoyable dining experience, with the variety of entirely fresh vegetables and the generosity of all portions leaving us very impressed. This is a pub that knows exactly what it's doing - offering good quality food at a very keen price - and does it very well, with a chef who clearly knows how to run a kitchen. Highly recommended - and we'll be back, for sure!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyandChris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,707 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Central, comfortable, and not too expensive - this is where Lord Tennyson stayed, and he made a good choice.

The hotel's obviously old, with quaint corridors and cosy rooms. Breakfast couldn’t be better, especially the sausages.

Decent beer in the bar, which has a fireplace. An exceptionally friendly, helpful owner, called Wendy.

There’s a restaurant, but I didn’t eat there so I can’t comment on that. People coming out looked pleased.

The position’s ideal, on one side of the town square, facing the ancient Shire Hall, and only a few steps from St Mary’s - surely one of the most beautiful churches in East Anglia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and found it excellent value for money. We received a lovely, warm welcome. Everywhere was very clean and the room was to a good standard considering the age of the building. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
3.9 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel - Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel - Woodbridge

Property: Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Address: Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bull Hotel - Woodbridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bull Hotel - Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing