We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Woodbridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at The Crown in Woodbridge on our way to the annual Suffolk Show and what a great surprise it was to find such a top quality hotel! Sometimes when you walk into an establishment you know straightaway that everything will meet your expectations and this place certainly does that. Everything from the staff, the manager, the food, wine and also the spotlessly clean and airy rooms all is a real credit to this hotel. To top it off - it is exceptional value for money. The food menu and the quality of the food deserves an extra mention - some of the best real British food we've ever had.

It's one of those places that will make us go to Woodbridge again just so we can stay here. Woodbridge itself is a great and classy little place with lots do to - walking around the harbour with an ice-cream or enjoying a pint of Adnams in one of the many beautiful pubs. Pure class.

Room Tip: There are 10 rooms (the higher the number, the further away from reception) - we had room number 9 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Wow, this is really a delight to hear. I am really pleased that we got everything right for you and that the experience that you had left such an impact on your opinion of The Crown and what we are now trying to do with the business. Thank you and I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We ate on a Tuesday evening and the restaurant was not too busy. Nice choice of food and service was attentive. Potted mackerel as a starter , Asian spiced lamb was tasty as a main were both tasty.
Atmosphere was relaxed and calm.

Budget for £40pp incl wine for three courses.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Snapper440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Glad to see that you had an enjoyable meal. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in April and got excellent deal for dinner, bed & breakfast. The superior double really was special with a huge, well appointed bathroom. The food really was superb and exceptional value. The only minor niggle was the customer service, not as good as the surroundings and food Poor check in and we had to phone down to find out times for breakfast. However it wouldn't put me off, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 7, superior double, is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2mayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review, as the new manager of the business I take your comments on board and really appreciate the feedback. Pleased to hear that overall your experience was a positive one and that you would like to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Crown in March while in town for business. Everything was wonderful. There are so many little details that the staff of this hotel put into each room that truly make this one of the loveliest places I've ever been to. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel from Friday 28 February to Monday 3 March 2014. Booked, for B & B, through Booking.com at a very reasonable rate. Made very welcome on arrival and allowed to transfer the Fizzy Friday (meal for 2 and bottle of champagne) deal to Saturday night. Well worth it.
We were in room 5; spacious and very clean and tidy. Tea / coffee tray and bottles of water daily. Yes (see other reviews) Room 5 is above the bar and there was noise from the bar on the Friday and Saturday nights. It is obviously a popular venue. However, the noise was a bit irritating rather than annoying. It stopped at 11:30pm so no real problem.
Cheerful and friendly staff, in the hotel and restaurant, throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boromover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A lone female traveller on business, hotels are important to me. This one lived up to all of my expectations - if not more. Had great service on check-in, my room was delightful - roomy and well appointed and dinner in the restaurant didn't disappoint. I opted for the Taster Menu at £13 - great value for 3 courses. It left me a little peckish, but I think that was more me being greedy! The standard menu left my mouth watering too and when I saw other people's food being served, well it all looked delicious and I had serious food envy. After a good night's sleep I looked forward to breakfast. The choices were fabulous and all cooed to order. Yum! The staff looked after me very well and to be honest, I was sad to leave.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a quiet room and has lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irenko862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a last minute stay at The Crown and found the staff helpful and polite. The room was clean and comfortable but quite basic. The coffee and tea facilities in the room were excellent and the fresh milk in the flask was wonderful. I hate those little uht cartons! Noise from the bar was loud but we had no complaints as it was only until 11:30 then it was lovely and quiet. We slept really well. The food was beautiful and breakfast was amazing. Loved the prunes and apricots in Earl Grey syrup! All in all a lovely stay. My only criticism is that we found it slightly over priced.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smamfa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,040 reviews
7.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
12.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,045 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £108 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Darran Hazelton showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing