We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB!”
Review of Iken Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iken Barns
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FAB!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went to Iken Barns for a long weekend with 2 other couples and 1 dog & had a wonderful time. We stayed in 'Bay View Barn' which was gorgeous, big open fire, lovely squashy sofas and open plan living.The views over the estuary are stunning and we had a lovely walk along the waters edge all the way to Snape, made very special by seeing an otter! Richard and Emma were great hosts and thanks for the recommendation of eating at The Golden Keys Pub in Snape it was great. We felt remote and yet you're not far from Aldeburgh & Snape although it was so cold out we were happy to get back to our cosy pad and light the fire. Can't wait to come back again sometime, Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just wanted to say thanks for a lovely week. We really enjoyed our stay in Farriers Cottage. The accommodation was first class and the views across the estuary, from behind the barns were beautiful, especially when the freeze started. We left before the snow but we certainly intend to return and look forward to next time. Emma was exceptionally helpful and very friendly. A really relaxing break in January.

Room Tip: Can only comment on Farriers Cottage - a lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have just got back from Iken Barns and what a wonderful magical place. The barn was so luxurious and as for the views - I felt a million miles away from reality. Will definately be returning soon and recommending to my friends.

Room Tip: All the barns are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We have just returned from a family holiday over half term with friends at Iken Barns and are already recommending it to like minded friends! The location is perfect with stunning views from the Barn accommodation and the beach (especially at dawn and dusk) and relaxed walks with the dog along the estuary are the perfect tonic for busy lives. My husband and the children (aged 10, 14 (boys) and 16 (girl - yep she loved it too!) enjoyed the kayaking and cycling through forest trails and we were offered the opportunity to sail on the barge and could have ridden at any time. Great lounging sofas in Bay View also meant DVD watching and cake/chocolate eating (when it rained which was only once) was done in comfort. The flies were a bit of a pest (and I hate the things!) but hey you're in the country and a bit of fly swatting entertained my youngest even further! Very friendly pubs with great food were within 5 min drive but check children's menu before you go as tended to offer same food but smaller portion which suited my children but wouldn't suit all. Otherwise bbq or cook at the Barns as fully equipped and plenty of space for larger parties to gather. Emma and her father (the Owner) were really friendly and helpful, and whilst it is a working stables it is still peaceful and relaxing.
Our accommodation, facilities and towels were absolutely fine and what we expected, and don't forget a week at Center Parks would cost you five times what Iken Barns charges for little if anything more! Really loved it! Thank you Emma and her Dad for a great break.

Room Tip: Both Barns have lovely views of the estuary. Long Reach has three en-suites whereas Bay View has onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A nice weekend spoiled by the fact that my disabled wife could not use the shower. Described by the owner as disabled friendly, there was no ramp to the front door and although wheelchair access was good inside, there were no handrails or seat in the shower. The location is beautiful but it is a working stable with horses and associated flies, manure, noise and a barn full of junk spoiling the view.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkenBarns, Manager at Iken Barns, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay here at Iken Barns. Although all except one property are at ground level there is only one property I would describe as really disabled friendly and that is The Ridings. Obviously disabilities vary and it is best to discuss what is required before booking, I am sorry your property was unsuitable for you, we obviously know our properties better than our agents and certainly if you booked through them you may have had a different responce. Some people enjoy the farm feel and being near the horses, I can understand that it is not to everyones pleasure and now only two of our seven properties overlook the stables and the barn. We do have plans to tidy the old barn up that you refer to over the next month or two as our busy season slows and we continue to diversify more from the farming industry to the holiday industry. I hope this helps and hope one day we see you back at Iken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Terrible problems with houseflies, which made for an uncomfortable stay. Dishwasher did not work properly, towels supplied very small not bath size. Hire of day boat which was advertised not available also hot tub, again advertised but not available. Due to layout of barns and stables, stable staff have to walk past property which means privacy is a problem.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverweddingcpouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IkenBarns, Manager at Iken Barns, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Hi, I am sorry you had some issues during your stay here at Iken Barns. Flies seem to have been an issue in this area this summer and we had a bad patch, we have tried a number of things this year to control them and will be once again seeking proffessional help if the problems continues next year. The Day boat is available with prior notice (we would need a weeks notice), alternatively barge trips are always offered to guests and can be conducted with a days notice - tide and weather dependant. The hot tub was out of action for two weeks while we waited for a part to come from the USA, I am sorry this was during your stay.
All guests should have a hand towel and a bath towel, had I known the wrong ones had been put into your property by the cleaners I would have replaced them immediatley. As with the towels if I had known there was an issue with the dishwasher I would have arranged for it to be repaired which we have now done. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay here and hope you are able to find somewhere more suitable in future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in Iken Barns in 'Greenacres' for two nights over New Year's eve 2010. We wanted a relaxing and cosy couple of days and we were not disappointed.
Iken is beautiful and the barn perfect for what we wanted. It was very well appointed, warm and snug. Lovely big kitchen/living area perfect for relaxing after walking on some of the many trails. The barns back onto the beach and the estuary and although our barn didn't have views over this we were able to access it from the yard.
The cottage itself was spacious and clean. Linen was provided which was a nice touch and the kitchen had everything you could want.
Whilst there we visited Aldeburgh, had a lovely meal in The Lighthouse restaurant. We went to Orford and had good pub grub in The Jolly Sailor (you can probably see a theme) and walked from the cottage to Snape.

We had a fabulous time here and want to go back in this summer taking our bikes! A great location for a peaceful holiday, friendly, helpful hosts and a beautiful setting!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,001 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
795 reviews
3.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
10.7 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iken Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iken Barns

Property: Iken Barns
Address: Iken | Tunstall Road, Woodbridge IP12 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iken Barns is a family run business. We have 7 self-catering converted barns in the heart of the Suffolk Heritage Coastline near Snape Maltings. Our three properties ( Bay View, Gardeners Den and Estuary) all enjoy stunning estuary views. All our properties have been designed to make you feel at home. During your stay there is horse riding, cycling, kayaking near by. Iken Barns has a beautiful function room on site. All properties enjoy underfloor heating and some have wood fires - others have a gas effect wood burner. Bay View has an AGA and an open fire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iken Barns Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing