We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iken Barns - Anniversary Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iken Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iken Barns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Iken Barns - Anniversary Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We took a Silver Wedding Anniversary party of 19 adults and kids (and 7 dogs) to Iken on recommendation from some Viszla owner friends. We were not disappointed.
Being avid dog walkers, we find it hard to find good accommodation that is quality and truly dog-friendly. And of course then there is the issue of cost? Well fear not - Iken Barns is just that and more.

We had a wonderful time visiting each of the barns accommodated by our group – each one with a slightly different feel. All very well furnished and Long Reach being a real find. Not fans of open-plan living, we were quickly converted by the sociability of all being in one living space and a great time was had by all. Indeed can one give a better accolade than the sigh we gave on leaving, “We could live here!”

The barns are airy, light and furnished and equipped to a high standard with under-floor heating in most if not all. The decor is modern and contemporary – very a la the nearby chic of Snape Maltings but still very homely and cosy. 'Home from Home' leather sofas. Agas in two or three barns but they are something I need to get used to! (I can also imagine a cold winters evening with a roaring open fire – I must go back!). And one of our guests was keen to ‘appropriate’ the carved wooden seat in Bay View – if his car had been big enough!

We had a fantastic self catered Wedding Anniversary dinner for 19 in their Hardys Barn and found this to be an excellent location for a function. Seating wise, to cater for more than 20, you may need to make enquiries. Simple but very warm, contemporary and very well decorated. My crowd loved it.

Our guests left us on the Monday, and we then moved from the luxury of Long Reach to the economy of the smaller Farriers Cottage for the rest of the week but the comfort and enjoyment level did not dip. Best ‘small’ accommodation we have stayed in. The notable features are cleanliness, attention to detail (torches, Binoculars) and above all, excellent available light in all the barns.

The location is fantastic – a great base for some entertainment and activity of all kinds – something other parts of the East Coast can lack (Southwold, Woodbridge, Aldeburgh, Orford, and if all esle fails Ipswich for retail therapy). To balance it, there were some flying pests - but these have been catered for with electric and hand swats in each room - still take some spray for insurance. Not a criticism - only to be expected for such a waterside location and it is after all, a working horse stables and farmyard.

The views from the site are to die for - a stunning spot on a very picturesque part of the Suffolk coast – the peace and quiet of the Alde Estuary is breathtaking and, weather permitting, the local walks are numerous and fantastic. And even when the weather let itself down, we found a wild walk along the nearby beaches a thrill. The Vizzies loved it.

Emma and Richard were genial hosts – so friendly and helpful - and small touches like fresh flowers in each barn make a difference. Their Reception Office also provides a good centre for enquiries if needed. Nothing was too much and their hospitality was a key feature.

We will be back!..........that’s not a threat but a promise.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms for space and views - but dont ignore the smaller rooms. Still excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent a week at Iken Barns in January 2012 and it was a highlight of our vacation. Our two bedroom unit was well equiped and comfortable. We spent every evening in front of the stove watching TV, using the Internet and reading. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook delcious meals and the bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms were spacious and had everything we needed for a great stay.

We used this as a base to visit lots of sights in Suffolk including Ipswich, Sutton Hoo and the Snape Maltings. We went much farther afield as well but were always delighted to get back to our cozy home away from home.

I would recommend this to anyone who want a quiet and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Estuary Barn and loved it. You do need to climb steps however to stay in this secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

utterly lovely setting, very welcoming owners, and perfect mix of relaxing and activities for kids

Emma and Richard (daughter & son team) run a really lovely set up that myself and all of the 30 odd in our party felt we'd all really live to return to

Lots of space for the kids to enjoy and plenty of relaxing verandas to hang out and sup beverages on for the adults.

Planning the return visit as we speak! ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUSTINCANNING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We were greeted by Emma upon arrival, with a warm welcome and some lovely flowers in our accommodation , I thought this was such a lovely touch.
The whole place /venue is amazing if you love animals ,country life/walking , peace and stillness, then this is for you, We stayed in Greenacres, which suited us perfectly, everything was catered for, and such a wonderful shower !!
Our stay was made perfect by the resident four legged friends Zulu and Biba' who my dog Manuka thought was great fun, and I loved watching them play.
Would I go back------you bet

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manukandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We held our wedding reception at Iken Barns. A truly stunning venue which just made the day magical. A warm welcome from the owners Emma and Richard who were so helpful. We had our photopgraphs looking out over the river Alde with champagne and canapes, followed by a sit down meal for 50 guests in Hardy's Barn. The 3 adjoining barns which we rented were so comfortable and cosy for family and friends staying the weekend. Simply wonderful. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at Long Reach Barnat Iken with 5 other friends on my brother's recommendation. The barn is appointed to an incredibly high standard (almost better than home!) and had every facility we could want. Plenty of space for everyone and the three bedrooms are all en-suite. The views from the sitting room over the estuary are absolutely stunning - worth staying there for those alone. The owners were very accomodating and Richard took us out one day on his restored barge down to Aldeburgh which was a real experience. If you want a tranquil, peaceful holiday with great surroundings, stunning views and a plethora of good pubs, walks and wildlife this would be the perfect holiday destination. We had a great meal at the British Larder at Bromeswell near Woodbridge and a very poor one at the Butley Oysterage in Orford.

Room Tip: Would suggest making sure that you have a barn with views over the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateNettleham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As a frequent visitor at Iken Barns due to business in the Ipswich area I have had the pleasure of staying in four of the barns during my stays. My time spent at Iken Barns has been a delightful experience. The Barns have been lovingly converted from the original puposes to beautiful homes form home that are a joy to come back to after a hectic day's exploring the beautiful Suffolk coastal landscapes.

As a family run business who are in the hands of people who care about your needs and will go that extra mile to make you feel comfortable and cared for. It's location on the south banks of the River Alde can best be described as magical with the beautiful church of St Botolph's overlooking the estuary giving the place an enchanted atmosphere.

Iken Barns also benefits with plenty of interesting places to visit and many fantastic pubs and restaurants to enjoy a good meal and drink with Snape Maltings, Aldeburgh and Orford being near at hand.

For those of a sporty disposition, there is the option to rent bicycles or kayaks to fully explore the land and water surrounding the Iken. Alternatively, for those wanting just to get away from it all Iken Barns has tranquillity in abundance.

Best highlight of my stay was the opportunity to sail on Richard's (Iken Barns owner) 19th century barge boat "Dinah" along the River Alde to Orford. A truly wonderful day was had by all! If the weather is kind it's something you really should try whilst staying there!

So to sum up Iken Barns, it's definitely something for everyone and is fully recommended!

Room Tip: All the barns have their own unique charms but Estuary Barn does give splendid views over the Alde e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
7.6 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.8 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
10.6 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
3.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iken Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iken Barns

Property: Iken Barns
Address: Iken, Woodbridge IP12 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iken Barns is a family run business (Richard and his daughter Emma). We have eight luxury self-catering converted barn in the heart of the Suffolk Heritage Coastline near Snape Maltings. Our three larger properties (Long Reach, Bay View and Estuary) all enjoy stunning estuary views. All our properties have been designed to make you feel at home. During your stay we are able to offer Riding, cycling, kayaking and tours of the river on Dinah the stunning barge which sits in the Iken Bay. Iken Barns has a beautiful function room on site and is popular for groups of family and friends wishing to get together for celebrations and reunions. All properties enjoy underfloor heating and some have wood fires - others have a gas effect wood burner. Both Bay View and Long Reach have AGA cookers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iken Barns Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing