We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal”
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The restaurant has been upgraded since I was last there and the decor is really smart and compliments the beautiful building.

Service was efficient and friendly, and the starters were of good quality however the main courses were dreadful with tough over cooked steak (it was ordered medium) and exactly the same for the lamb. The lamb was changed however that was not the point.

Deserts were OK as was the cheese board.

Selection of wines good, however at nearly 90 pounds per head (due to wine selections) not that good value. A shame, if the meat could be cooked correctly it would of been a superb evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenziEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We are naturally disappointed to learn that your main courses weren't to your liking - thank you for your feedback which is being discussed with our butcher.
It is great to learn that you like the new look Seckford Hall and enjoyed your starters - I do hope that this will not deter you from returning in the near future
With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Seckford Hall has changed hands recently and we went to try out the restaurant. Our starters were of excellent quality and well-presented and my fish main course was also very good. However, my wife's lamb was virtually inedible - full of fat and gristle. I think she got about 4 mouthfuls and could not even cut through the rest of it, let alone eat it. I tried it as well and could not cut or eat it. The staff were conspicuous by their absence at this juncture and no-one came to ask if everything was ok.
We were taking advantage of a special offer through the local newspaper - cheapest main course free - but I don't really think we should have paid for the other main course either. We were given our vouchers back and invited to use them again but may not be able to, and indeed may not want to!
This offer was to serve as a try-out for the restaurant but the way the problem was handled, it seems unlikely to encourage us back again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review after your recent visit to Seckford Hall - it is evident that you have visited in the last week as we have just launched a new menu with the lamb dish that you refer to. I am sorry that this dish wasn't to your liking - in light of your comments, we have changed the presentation and cooking style of the lamb dish
I am pleased that you had the opportunity to try our restaurant in conjunction with the recent offer we had in the East Anglian Daily Times
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Seckford Hall is in a stunning location and is very beautiful, however it is isolated. Therefore, it has to be worth traveling from town centre restaurants for.
On arrival we were so impressed with the atomsphere of the place especially in the cocktail bar with the fire. However when we went to dinner the atomsphere wasn't the same, the lighting was too bright and we got served by at least 4 different people(though all very good)
The main issue for Seckford Hall is the food. It needs to be outstanding, instead of Ribeye Steak there should be fillet (for example) It know it's good value, but for a place so stunning and so much to offer it needs to impress more. The food was delicious, no complaints but did not feel like the fine dining we would expect from somewhere like Seckford Hall.
The bar area is brilliant, just the restaurant needs work on.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rose4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your constructive review of your recent Seckford Hall experience. Our new menu launching today features a cut of the day - a piece of beef which has been especially selected by our butcher to feature on our menu - I do hope that you pop back soon to give it a try
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My sister and I stayed at Seckford Hall Hotel for two nights in early January. It was a good location for visiting relations in the area and the nearby coast. As my sister has limited mobility, we opted to pay extra for the corner Stable Suite in the courtyard of the hotel and she was able to use her mobility scooter within the very spacious lounge, bedroom and huge bathroom. The suite was clean, comfortable and homely for the needs of us both. We also had access to the main restaurant in the hotel via a side door with the scooter (no steps), but unfortunately the thick gravel in this area sometimes caused a problem and there were times when I had to push my sister through it! A more relevant problem was that there were two occasions when cars parked right in front of this access area and did not allow enough space for the scooter to get through. With a litle organisation, the hotel could display a sign indicating that people with limited mobility need to access this side door at all times and maybe lay a path that is easier to get along for these guests. These comments have already been made to the hotel reception staff. Apart from these problems, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Classic Hotel to both able and disabled guests.

Room Tip: The Stable corner suite in the courtyard of the hotel was ideal for people with limited mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DessyP890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent Suffolk Break and for your kind comments in relation to our hotel. You provided some invaluable feedback in terms of entry into the Hotel for our less abled guests which we are in the process of putting into action - thank you for your constructive comments.
We do look forward to seeing you again soon at Seckford Hall
With kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed with Elaine last night on a room only basis for £114, which we thought was pretty good value. Got a very large studio room in the courtyard which was warm, clean and well furnished. The main house and grounds are very attractive and well maintained. All staff very helpful and pleasant, and an excellent traditional English breakfast at £13.95 a head topped this short stay off nicely for us. We only live 35 miles away yet had never heard of this place until it was recommended to us. We'd recommend it to others, if the kind of deal we got (via booking.com) is available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandelaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us - I am pleased that you had a lovely stay and as you mention you're not that far from us, would love to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
With kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting, room was clean & tidy but needed updating spa bath did not work & a very annoying dripping tap in bathroom
Friendly staff, one of the bar staff promised to bring us some ice to our room this never turned up
Food was very nice, expected a live band & not a disco we paid over £400 for this 1 night stay
Perhaps its more of a 3 star hotel than a 4 star
This hotel could be amazing, just needs a few issues sorted

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Topplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Seckford Hall Hotel - I am sorry that we did not match your expectations in terms of the entertainment on New Years Eve and that we overlooked your ice bucket.
With best wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Well we have just returned from an overnight stay and enjoyed the New Years Eve party night overall but there is some definite room for improvement.

So the negative bits first, we stayed in Room 2 which was probably one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in. Small, out of date and noisy ! The bathroom had been updated but certainly the furniture in the main bedroom left much to be desired! Overall the staff were very good but a couple of exceptions was for example a young girl was wanting to get her train tickets and was told basically by the receptionist that she was too busy to help which personally I think is unacceptable for a so called 4 star hotel. The disco for the party was probably the cheapest version they could have found and the music was 100% cheese. I would have expected a live band based on the cost of the tickets. Finally it was my fathers 70th birthday on New Years Eve and I had been promised that the chef would give him a desert with a candle on it or some sort of small touch to recognise this but sadly nothing !

So the good bits, the staff in the cocktail bar and waitress's were delightful, the food was great and breakfast was good too. The marquee looked beautiful and the free chocolate was lovely. The afternoon tea was excellent too.

So, generally a nice experience but there are some definite things that need to be addressed if I was asked if I would return next year, I would say this was not value for money at £199 pp !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your comments following your new year stay with us - I am pleased that in the main you had an enjoyable stay and evening with us.
Thank you for your comments in relation to room 2 - we have started an extensive bedroom refurbishment programme with the room that you stayed in due to be completed during the summer. As we are such a busy hotel, it is very difficult finding a window to schedule these works.
I am sorry that we overlooked your request in relation to the birthday surprise - this is solely down to human error as we had noted this request in our plans
We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Seckford in the near future
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,059 reviews
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £94 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing