We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived with my parents, we did have to wait for about 5 minutes before anybody came behind the bar but it was worth the wait - I tried two champagne cocktails and both were really good. We then went through to the restaurant which soon filled up, at one point there were only two empty tables so I would recommend booking! We had the cheese and walnut soufflé with poached pears which was really tasty, then my boyfriend had the steak ("the best steak I have ever had!" - praise indeed!) I had the shallot and smoked cheese tart with salad and fries and we shared the warm gingerbread dessert. Best meal I have had for ages, Aspalls Cider and champagne by the glass then we went back through to the bar for cocktails - I can recommend the Espresso Martini and the barman was really helpful and chatty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Carrie
What a lovely review following your recent dinner in 1530 at Seckford Hall - we are all pleased that you had a lovely evening and enjoyed all aspects of your visit
Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    263
    146
    84
    50
See reviews for
191
459
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited Seckford Hall for a romantic lunch, this has had a wonderful refurbishment and had a lovely atmosphere, I had Foie gras terrine for starter and steak for a main course, my wife had tomato mouse and cod for main course, both were wonderfully prepared and without a doubt the nicest food I have eaten in memory. Thoroughly recommended for food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgetig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
What a lovely comment you have made in terms of nicest food you have eaten in memory - thank you for taking the time to post a constructive review of your dining experience.
We shall look forward to seeing you again soon at Seckford
With warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Took my wife to seckford for lunch and was fantastic, place beautiful and new decor is lovely and certainly in keeping with the surroundings. The lunch was great had the Aberdeen Angus burger and wife had the pork and both were great as was the bread and butter pudding for desert! Been here numerous times now and never disappointed, would recommend to anyone
Keep up the great work

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks Lee for another great review of Seckford - make sure you say hello next time you are here in order that I can get to meet you!
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were very disappointed on arrival at the hotel to find that our room was not in the hotel but an outbuilding that looked as though it had been built in the 1970 not the 1500’s.
The quality of the room was very tired and lacking in both charm and character. We were expecting something more in keeping with the 15c house. Instead we had old, cheap furnishings and a 19” TV with only 6 channels. This was also the only hotel I have ever stayed in were the management had not even bothered to hang a painting or photo on any of the walls.

We returned to the main hotel hoping to have tea, however the main bar was closed for a wedding and the other bar had been taken over by wedding guests also, leaving no room for hotel guests. When we finally found somewhere to sit we were very surprised to be asked to leave as we had our dog with us. We had booked the hotel on the understanding (from the booking.com website) that the hotel was dog friendly – the barman told that dogs are only allowed in the outbuilding!

We had booked a table for dinner that night in the hotel restaurant, expecting an a la carte menu similar to the one published on the website – instead we were offered a very standard set menu and we were not told about the specials. When we asked for bread, we were given one slice each of lightly toasted stale bread and no butter. The quality of the food was poor in both terms of presentation and taste. The vegetarian option was deep fried mushroom held together with tasteless cheese, this was not stuffed mushrooms as on the menu.

Following dinner that night we choose not to use the facilities further and did not enter the hotel again until checkout.

We spoke to reception, completed the comment card and even left a note of our experience for the management, but have not had a reply! That to me show how interested the management are at accommodating hotel guest. We will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I firstly apologise that I did not see your completed comment card after your check out from Seckford Hall. From your comments, it appears that you stayed with us between Christmas and New Year when we had a wedding hosting their reception drinks in one of our bars.
I was alarmed to read your comments about accommodating your dog and have referenced 'booking.com' again to check our wording on it in relation to pets - "Pets are accepted in the courtyard rooms only, and 1 per room maximum." You also mention about no pictures in the room you occupied (which was originally part of the 16 century Tithe barn) - there are no pictures in this room due to the number of wall lights we have in that room. I am sorry that dinner wasn't to your liking.
I am sincerely sorry that Seckford Hall wasn't to your taste.
With kind regards
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Food unbeatable, service very good but the refubishment has made the place feel like a seaside cafe. The afer dinner coffee lounge is now a night club style bar, he whole place has been spoiled, presumably by some well meaning but incompetant designer. I wont be going back to what was a delightful venue.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It is such a shame that our investment into the Hotel isn't to your liking
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were a party of 5 last Friday lunchtime to celebrate an 80yr old birthday and I chose the Moroccan Spiced Lamb Rump on a chick pea cassoulet and I was terribly disappointed . The spicy sauce on the chick peas was so strong and far too many chick peas that the taste of the rather fatty lamb was completely lost and served with 3 large slices of aubergine which was not on the menu, absolutely disgusting. There was just one other table occupied , which on a Friday lunchtime you would expect it to be busier. I didn't complain at the time as I didn't want to spoil the celebration and the desserts were wonderful. The other members in the party were satisfied with their choices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
So sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your lamb dish from our new menu. We would have loved to have changed the dish for an alternative as the dish wasn't to you liking. It is particularly disappointing as well in so much as another member of your party left a lovely comment card following their visit - we would have loved the opportunity to have changed your dish.
I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting Seckford Hall in the near future
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I went for a family birthday celebration last night at 1530 restaurant in Seckford Hall, Suffolk.

The end to end experience couldn't have been better.

The entrance to Seckford Hall itself was it's usual magnificent self especially in the crisp winter night.

The greeting as we entered the restaurant was pleasant and natural before heading to the bar to try before you buy some of the draft beers on tap - I went with one of the two Czech lagers on offer.

We perused the menus for a while and embarrassingly five out of six of us chose the same main course: Monkfish in a curry broth

The menu had a plentiful selection of meat, fish & vegetarian food fit for any palette and although we didn't have any bottles of wine the selection was good (next time I'll have the Malbec please) and inexpensive.

The restaurant was busy yet all of the waiting team were exceptionally attentive without being overpowering.

The food was exquisite with starter, main course and dessert going down well. We had between us salmon, beef, monkfish, pigeon, chocolate & coffee.

Added to the mix was the personal touch - talking about our two week old baby (kept under the table :) for some of the evening) and bringing out a birthday cake with candles.

Overall a 10/10 visit, will and already am recommending and am looking forward to many more visits.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Djdegiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
The team recollect your visit well - indeed they were talking about your gorgeous baby after your recent visit to 1530 at Seckford Hall - thank you for your review of your experience and as you mention; we're a lot more than just a wedding venue!
See you again soon at Seckford
With warm regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
991 reviews
1.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing