We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sum of its parts”
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Seckford hall boasts one of the most impressive arrivals of any country house hotel, with a stunning facade and chimneys set amongst landscaped gardens. Arrival itself is not the easiest with no porterage and a heavy door to negotiate before finding the small reception desk. It sits in the very stylish ground floor which marries the building's history with contemporary class. If only the same could be said for the bedrooms. Ours was tiny - barely enough floor space to open a case - and overlooked the delivery area, meaning we were woken daily from 630am. Construction workers also added to the unholy dawn chorus. The room itself featured an attractive carved bed but was totally impractical in size and amenities, especially for our extended stay of 4 nights due to a family emergency.

Also disappointing was the smartly designed and attractive restaurant's food. It was pedestrian catering college at best, featuring microwaved dishes and for me a wholly inedible steak. The waiter had the good grace to remove it from the bill when I left it barely touched. Seckford also features a swimming pool which again perfectly encapsulates the place. It's housed in a beautiful and impressive barn but boasts changing rooms that would shame a municipal swimming pool in 1979. Scary showers, unclean floors, bizarre lockers and towels which had never been fluffy.

Clearly substantial amounts have been spent to renovate seckford by its new owners, so it's a shame that the obvious attention to detail in design and layout is sorely lacking in the areas that really matter.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penandforkinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback which we have taken constructively throughout the business.
In terms of the standard double room which you occupied, we have now put procedures in place to try and move guests around for lengthy stays as was your case - thank you for that feedback. It is difficult in terms of room space owing to the age of the property and its listed building status to do any structural works in relation to our bedrooms. In terms of the leisure facilities, I submitted a planning application to totally refurbish the area in August 2013 which I am awaiting planning approval, we will address a lot of the issues in relation to this side of the business during this refurbishment work.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review
Yours sincerely
Mark Suddes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Seckford Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I went yesterday, fair to say I was very disappointed as there was no consideration of those with gluten intolerance, and was told by the waiter we don't cater for that, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to us here at Seckford Hall. As our a la carte floor menu features a range of gluten free dishes, I suspect you are referring to our special luncheon menu that we have been running in conjunction with the East Anglian Daily Times. Due to the price point on this menu, we ask guests to choose alternative dishes from the a la carte menu - in fact we received another comment card from another guest complementing us on the extensive range of gluten free options that we have available. We will consider your comments for future promotional menus
Thank you for your feedback
Mark Suddes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband took me here for valentines surprise, I am A very fussy person as I have worked in the hotel industry myself , it was beautiful the building our bedroom was spotless lovely chintzy very English room. A very polite young man brought us a bottle of prosecco, the chocolates in the room and on our bed was a nice touch,, the bar with all the different cocktails were lovely, nice ambience in bar with lovely guitar player, the meal I could not fault! My steak was cooked perfectly, only one regret we dint get to see the grounds as the weather was dreadful !!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your Valentines stay here with us here at Seckford Hall Hotel - we are all thrilled that you had a lovely time and enjoyed your romantic treat
With very best wishes
Mark and the Seckford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visited for afternoon tea and was very pleased with the afternoon. Unfortunately the sandwiches were not liked by all as there was 7 of us and several did not like cheese and pickle sandwiches which I must admit was a strange choice as pickle is a preference of individuals but saying that we did point this out to the waitress and she promptly brought us some cheese only. Several of us thought the sandwiches could have been a bit more adventurous but overall we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Sandra
I am pleased that you had a lovely experience whilst partaking in afternoon tea here at Seckford Hall and that we were able to change sandwiches for you quickly. We are in the process of updating our afternoon tea - I hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon to enjoy again!
With kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just had a perfect weekend break at Seckford Hall. There are so many good things to say it is hard to know where to start. The view of the hotel when you pull into their gravel drive is everything you could ever want. A stunning Tudor building set amongst 34 acres of private countryside.

The reception staff were very welcoming and our room was wonderful, complete with a four poster bed. The room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and well stocked.

On the ground floor we loved all the cosy little areas where you could settle to read the paper and enjoy a drink. There was never a shortage of staff for ordering drinks etc.

We had two fantastic evening meals in the restaurant with some of the tastiest food I have ever had. The presentation was stunning with good sized portions. Once again, the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The freshly cooked breakfasts are made with top quality produce and served on really hot plates so that even at the end of the meal the food was at the right temperature.

The gym and pool helped work off a small amount of the lovely food. The gym is well equipped and the water in the pool was just the right temperature. The grounds are excellent for a walk and if you want to walk a bit further Woodbridge is worth exploring.

All the staff were friendly, helpful and trained to the highest standards. They helped to make this a wonderful, romantic break. We really hope to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Dawn
It is lovely to read that you had a great break here at Seckford Hall - I am sure that future readers of this website will enjoy reviewing your experience
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon
With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at Seckford Hall Hotel.

The building is undeniably beautiful & charming with its historic features, fireplaces, uneven floorboards & general blast into the past.

All the bedrooms are unique as they all vary in shape & size and are all individually decorated & furnished. Our room was in the middle of the house with fantastic views across the garden, it was lovely, clean, comfortable and in keeping with the country house style of hotel.

1530, the mail hotel restaurant was fantastic! It was a lovely dining room, with a great menu and great tasting food. There was also a good wine menu at reasonable prices. We really enjoyed both nights.

However the overriding experience was the army of really helpful & personable staff who couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was perfect.

If you want a lovely Country House Hotel with undeniable charm, quirkiness, great food & great service, Seckford Hall is just the place!

Room Tip: Request Main Hotel Rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Janet
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our Hotel - I have shared your excellent feedback with 'our army' of staff!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Seckford Hall
Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were looking forward to returning to Seckford Hall as hadn’t stayed since the refurbishment and we were very impressed at the new look. We felt it had been doing very well to update the décor but also keep the character of the building. The pool was lovely and warm which was a nice surprise as on previous visits, we had noticed the temperature getting less and less warm and actually didn’t enjoy swimming as it got quiet cold so this was an excellent improvement. We have never, ever had any complaints about the service or the standard of food on any of our visits and we have been several times but what a shame, this appears to have slipped a lot. The staff , of which there were several, seemed to have the attitude that they would rather be anywhere else than at the hotel serving you!! The food wasn’t up to the normal excellent standard we had enjoyed. We were only poured our wine on 2 occasions and then, our wine was either slopped over the glass or over the table as the glass was filled. The meal was ok but not up to its usual high standard and the service was sadly lacking, no one asked if our meals were ok and although it was busy, there were plenty of staff about so this should not have been over looked. We assumed that this was just unlucky and a one off and looked forward to our breakfast as this has always been the best of any hotel that we have stayed in but unfortunately, this also was very poorly served, drinks ordered not received, then my meal was served up luke warm but the baked beans were stone cold so this went back to the kitchen, to be returned with the fried egg looking like a trick rubber egg and dried up food. I asked if it had been microwaved but advised put under the grill so then had to wait for another egg to be done . By the time I got my breakfast, my family had all finished and then I was unable to have a Danish Pastry as they had all gone and breakfast was finished. Very, very disappointing stay and I did mention the catalogue of errors with the meal the night before and the breakfast saga when we checked out and said it was most unusual as always had excellent service and staff, was told someone would contact me by email with regard to my comments but unfortunately, no one has contacted me as promised. Such a shame as we had stayed here for many special occasions over the years and we would now think twice before booking again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

It is a such shame that you felt that the staff were not up to expectation during your stay as the overriding trend throughout reviews on this site is that the staff have performed well - I am sorry that in this instance that you felt we did not match this. Naturally, it is also disappointing to learn that there were aspects of your meal which you did not like. We would love to welcome you back to Seckford Hall - please contact me personally for future reservations in order that we can restore your personal expecations.
With best wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
348 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £92 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing