We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed.”
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Positives. Saturday night stay. Great function. Super building. Super grounds. Great breakfast- locally sourced and provenanced food. Negatives. Room was frozen. Swimming Pool - tired and in need of refurb. No steam room or sauna- advertised as spa. Changing rooms grubby. Reception staff didn't acknowledge or look up from computers on arrival. For a £200 night it really wasn't good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Andrew
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to tell you that I agree with your comments in relation to the leisure facilities as I do not feel that they are commensurate with the rest of the hotel. So much so that we have submitted a planning application to renovate the leisure facilities to include steam room, sauna and a range of treatment rooms.
Thank you for your feedback in relation to my reception team.
Please keep an eye on our website to see when our new leisure facilities are live - I'd love to welcome you back when they are refurbished
With kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had an enjoyable meal, service bit slow, at one point did wonder if the young lady was with day dreaming as she seemed to be in a world of her own forgot to take our desert order then forgot to tell us they had sold out of some deserts, Made up for it in the end by sending cheese and biscuits which were lovely.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for you review of your recent lunch - apologies that you found the service slow but I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a lovely pampering day in Woodbridge Town and was simply looking for a nice place to have and cup of tea and a cake. We remembered we had be told that the Seckford Hall had recently been refurbished and was a lovely place to visit. and we did so.

We walked in and was not greeted by a single person. We walked around the different rooms a number of times looking lost 2 members of staff ignored us and one gave us a snotty look! Both bars were unmanned which i think is unacceptable for a Saturday afternoon. After about 3 mins of wondering what to do next we went to the restaurant area where we found a waiter at a desk. He greeted us (after he had finished what he was doing!) We explained that all we wanted was a cup of tea. He looked very confused and asked if we were with a party. So again we explained what we wanted. (but our patience was running thin!) A younger waiter came out asked if everything was o.k and took over which meant after the 3rd time of explaining what we wanted we got to sit down in the east wing. However there wasn't any menu's to look at and everyone kept ignoring us! So we decided to leave!

Not happy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Joe
Naturally we are disappointed that on this occasion that the Seckford experience was not as we normally deliver; particularly as this was the first time you have visited since we have made significant changes throughout the hotel. I would be grateful if you could contact me personally for future visits as we'd love to give you the normal Seckford welcome
With kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Seckford hall boasts one of the most impressive arrivals of any country house hotel, with a stunning facade and chimneys set amongst landscaped gardens. Arrival itself is not the easiest with no porterage and a heavy door to negotiate before finding the small reception desk. It sits in the very stylish ground floor which marries the building's history with contemporary class. If only the same could be said for the bedrooms. Ours was tiny - barely enough floor space to open a case - and overlooked the delivery area, meaning we were woken daily from 630am. Construction workers also added to the unholy dawn chorus. The room itself featured an attractive carved bed but was totally impractical in size and amenities, especially for our extended stay of 4 nights due to a family emergency.

Also disappointing was the smartly designed and attractive restaurant's food. It was pedestrian catering college at best, featuring microwaved dishes and for me a wholly inedible steak. The waiter had the good grace to remove it from the bill when I left it barely touched. Seckford also features a swimming pool which again perfectly encapsulates the place. It's housed in a beautiful and impressive barn but boasts changing rooms that would shame a municipal swimming pool in 1979. Scary showers, unclean floors, bizarre lockers and towels which had never been fluffy.

Clearly substantial amounts have been spent to renovate seckford by its new owners, so it's a shame that the obvious attention to detail in design and layout is sorely lacking in the areas that really matter.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penandforkinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback which we have taken constructively throughout the business.
In terms of the standard double room which you occupied, we have now put procedures in place to try and move guests around for lengthy stays as was your case - thank you for that feedback. It is difficult in terms of room space owing to the age of the property and its listed building status to do any structural works in relation to our bedrooms. In terms of the leisure facilities, I submitted a planning application to totally refurbish the area in August 2013 which I am awaiting planning approval, we will address a lot of the issues in relation to this side of the business during this refurbishment work.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review
Yours sincerely
Mark Suddes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I went yesterday, fair to say I was very disappointed as there was no consideration of those with gluten intolerance, and was told by the waiter we don't cater for that, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to us here at Seckford Hall. As our a la carte floor menu features a range of gluten free dishes, I suspect you are referring to our special luncheon menu that we have been running in conjunction with the East Anglian Daily Times. Due to the price point on this menu, we ask guests to choose alternative dishes from the a la carte menu - in fact we received another comment card from another guest complementing us on the extensive range of gluten free options that we have available. We will consider your comments for future promotional menus
Thank you for your feedback
Mark Suddes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband took me here for valentines surprise, I am A very fussy person as I have worked in the hotel industry myself , it was beautiful the building our bedroom was spotless lovely chintzy very English room. A very polite young man brought us a bottle of prosecco, the chocolates in the room and on our bed was a nice touch,, the bar with all the different cocktails were lovely, nice ambience in bar with lovely guitar player, the meal I could not fault! My steak was cooked perfectly, only one regret we dint get to see the grounds as the weather was dreadful !!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your Valentines stay here with us here at Seckford Hall Hotel - we are all thrilled that you had a lovely time and enjoyed your romantic treat
With very best wishes
Mark and the Seckford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visited for afternoon tea and was very pleased with the afternoon. Unfortunately the sandwiches were not liked by all as there was 7 of us and several did not like cheese and pickle sandwiches which I must admit was a strange choice as pickle is a preference of individuals but saying that we did point this out to the waitress and she promptly brought us some cheese only. Several of us thought the sandwiches could have been a bit more adventurous but overall we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Sandra
I am pleased that you had a lovely experience whilst partaking in afternoon tea here at Seckford Hall and that we were able to change sandwiches for you quickly. We are in the process of updating our afternoon tea - I hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon to enjoy again!
With kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
357 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,052 reviews
1.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £98 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing