We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened to Seckford Hall?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What has happened to Seckford Hall?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My word what have they done to dear old Seckford Hall? Having arranged to meet up again with friends for a drink we were confronted with what can only be described as a bar more suited to the tv series “The only way is Essex” they appear to have glazed the wood panelling installed a log burner, I ask you a log burner in a property as old as Seckford Hall.
As for the carpet well it certainly belongs in a bedroom rather than a so called “Champagne Bar”. I had heard the owners had spent a fortune on the refurbishments, well get a proper designer in who knows about historic buildings and how to use the basic asset first and foremost. We were going to eat but having heard from other guests about the food we certainly were not going to waste our money………..how you miss the old owners, he might have been a character but the place had some style unlike the hotel now.

Room Tip: we did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
6 Thank 600Reality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    252
    141
    83
    47
See reviews for
184
436
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We hadn`t stayed at Seckford Hall for four years , what a surprise we had , an excellent refurb had been carried out without destroying the charm and character of the place.
We took advantage of an overnight package deal which included a cream tea , dinner bed and breakfast , use of the pool , jacuzzi and gym.
The staff were friendly and and very helpful and had good local knowledge, which was very useful.
There was a comprehensive menue and the food quality, presentation and service was excellent.
Our room was light and airy, spotlessly clean and overlooked the beautiful rear gardens which were a pleasure to walk around.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went to the Seckford Hall Hotel for an evening meal. The menu choice was wide and the service friendly but low key. All three courses were spot on. We chose to have our coffee in the lounge and this was the only weak spot. The coffee was lukewarm, although the mints were rather good. A thoroughly enjoyable experience and we look forward to going again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed on an overnight package which included a cream tea on arrival and dinner bed and breakfast. The view of the hotel on arrival is quite stunning and I was able to park directly outside the hotel. The reception was a little hard to find, but too much signage would have spoilt your approach to this wonderful building. Being employed in the tourist industry, I was very concious of the importance of the visitor welcome I do agree with other visitors comments that the welcome from the receptionist was not very good, and I was not offered the services of a porter.

I stayed in Room 7 (Tudor Room) which was a feature bedroom with a four poster bed and wonderful bathroom. The room was simply stunning and fully met my expectations.

The restaurant was not what I had expected for this 16th Century building. It seemed to be too modern and lacked charm and atmosphere. Having said that I thought the dinner and the breakfast were first class and the staff were very attentive.

The swimming pool was located in a beautiful open beamed building and was a delight to use. The ladies changing area was a little tired.

Room Tip: For that special day the Tudor Room will meet all your expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AceClassOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I have not visited the Seckford Hall since the new refurb, and we were both really excited about the prospect of spending a long weekend there commencing 20th March . When we arrived, we wondered where the reception area was located. This was not a big problem because we soon found the reception area which was a relief, but then received a lukewarm greeting from a young woman who had her head buried in the computer system. Once she had acknowledge that we were standing there to check in she said "I assume you have stayed here before" ! Why would one assume I asked myself ! She then explained where our room was located and that was about it ! When we use to check in, we use to receive a warm greeting ie: " did you have a good journey and would you like some assistance with your baggage to your room etc ." Well on this occasion, this warm greeting did not happen! Therefore, after a tiring journey we carried our own bags up the stairs to our room.
We were delighted with our room which was room 12 which was clean, lovely and indeed captured the beautiful views of the Seckford landscape. However, don't stay in this room on a Saturday night, because if there is a party going on, you will think you are at the Ministry of Sound !
The breakfast was lovely, the food in the main restaurant was average, and we thought the new refurb restaurant was not particularly special as it just felt like we were dinning at a franchise restaurant like Zizzis! However, the staff were very friendly and attentive (except for the receptionist who checked us in) as usual . Overall our weekend visit was pretty average, we would don't rush back in a hurry
,

Room Tip: Room 12 lovely but avoid at weekend due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had booked a 2-bedroomed suite for our stay. We were told this was situated in the 'Courtyard' at the time of booking. Although I realised this wasn't in the main house I didn't expect it to be a flat straight out of the 80's. The ensuite had a blue suite and the whole flat lacked character, was very tired and desperately in need of a clean. I don't expect to see insects splattered on the wall and what was sprayed all over the bathroom wall I shudder to think! The main bed appeared to be 2 singles pushed together with a topper across them. Unfortunately one bed was higher than the other so a good night's sleep was not happening.
We had our 6 year old son with us and at the time of booking I asked if the restaurant would open earlier than 7pm for us as I believed this was a service they offered but I was refused. However on our 2nd night the hotel provided this service to another family whose children were a good 5 years older than mine.
The food in the restaurant including breakfast was delicious and the only reason I have given a 3 for my review.
Very disappointed with the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My Son and Daughter-in-law took my husband and I to Seckford Hall for lunch on an offer they had seen in our local newspaper.
Having eaten at the hotel several times in the past I have to say I was VERY disappointed with the menu choice. It was very limited and there was NO consideration given to those with special dietary requirements My Son has a Gluten intolerance and when asked about an alternative dessert the waiter informed us that they didn't have anything without gluten in except ice cream..
I always thought Seckford was a special place to go as a treat but sadly in many ways I do not feel it is living up to its former high standards. I ask myself is this because of recent changes? There are very few places where special diets are not catered for but sadly Seckford Hall appears to be one of them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Seckford Hall to participate in our special lunch menu as recently advertised in the East Anglian Daily Times. This menu is a special priced menu for two people considerably different in pricing to our normal a la carte offer. Seckford Hall does cater for a range of specific dietry requests however due to the price point of this lunch menu, we ask that guests choose alternative dishes off the main menu if there is something not to their liking or because of dietry needs. You are right in your statement that Seckford Hall provides a special dining environment and would have been happy to provide alternatives off our main menu
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing