We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location, very poor customer care!”
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Fantastic location and setting, ideal for evening ball / event. As mentioned by others, check your bill for correct room rate (child addition-which may not be mentioned when booking). Be aware of costly and unneccessary additions to bill due to "damage" even when caused by illness. What should have been a great weekend was ruined by the attitude of the owners.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyof3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed for a Thursday and Friday night for a short break. The building is a lovely 16th century manor type house but with modern facilities. The shower was good although the bath a bit slippery to stand on. One small grumble - the corners of the bathroom could do with dusting and our toilet roll actually ran out at the end of our stay. The bed was actually too soft for us as we would prefer a firmer mattress, but the night was quiet and dark with just the sound of the water feature in the courtyard below. Our room had a view over this and the lake and gardens which are lovely. We had a cup of tea one afternoon looking over the garden and brought out to us by the helpful waiter. The pool is a bonus (although quite small - my husband managed four strokes per length) and the situation, just outside of Woodbridge, is good. Breakfast is also good - the toasted brown bread was lovely - slightly malty. Kippers were delicious as were the fruit salad selections, but my poached egg was slightly cool and undercooked. In all, we did really enjoy our stay but had a few minor gripes.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at Seckford Hall on an 'Afternoon tea, dinner, bed & breakfast' basis booked directly through the hotel. The price was a little high at £180 for one nights stay but it was a present for my husband's birthday so I hoped it would be worth it...and my goodness it was.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome, a young porter carried our luggage for us and made sure we were happy with the room. There was a wedding on at the time of our stay and although we shared the beautiful garden with the wedding guests, we were given very personal attention by the friendly and efficient waiter who served us our cream tea.

We booked our evening meal for 7.30pm at which time there were already many guests dining and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. The menu was extensive and I ordered the lobster (which had a supplement cost) and it was absolutely mouth-watering, the best I have tasted. My husband had the steak which he found equally delicious.

We found the hotel to be beautifully decorated throughout, in a very elegant but classic style. Our bedroom was immaculate with beautiful antique furniture and a lovely view across the gardens.

All in all we had a fabulous stay and would love to go back sometime. A little on the high side price wise, but you get what you pay for and Seckford Hall really was superb in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonappetitSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

What a pleasure to stay in a hotel that had warm & welcoming staff, clean & well equipped rooms and a shower/bath that did not require a degree to operate!

Our bed was one of the most comfortable that we have slept on in a hotel & the room layout was very well designed (superb views!) with good storage, ample plug sockets & so quiet.

To be honest there was nothing that we could fault, our stay at the Seckford was a real tonic. We shall look forward to returning in the very near future and will most certainly have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to business colleagues & friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPLSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

As one of the other reviewers has already said Seckford Hall has some very good points and others that let it down. The setting, even on a wet and windy day in November had something rather special and serene about it, and the welcome on arrival was friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the Dairy Cottage in the courtyard (our own little house with an upstairs and downstairs) which was charming and although in need of a bit of TLC in some areas it was warm and spacious. Unfortunately a side effect of the warmth was a droning that went on all through the night and day, which we assumed was the heating system, not good for a light sleeper…
The food was good, in both the hotel restaurant and club bar, but not as exceptional as we had been expecting. In both venues the service was attentive and efficient, from the sombre French twins in the hotel to the friendly ladies in the club bar.
The lounge areas of the hotel were generally pleasant and peaceful and despite a warning from another reviewer about the blue and gold décor, we didn’t have a problem with it at all…
One last thing to say would be ‘check your bill’… we had a query or two and found ourselves behind another couple of guests who also had questions. The downside is that once it was sorted out we ended up paying more…
Would we go back? Maybe, but might choose to stay in the hotel itself, with a more up-to-date bathroom and quieter nights.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florriemay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This was our third visit to Seckford and as before we were not disappointed. The bathrooms have been beautifully reburbished although I have to say there was something rather appealling in the old turquoise suites!! Our room was very comfortable and the service was attentive and professional. We have always thought the standard of food to be excellent...a good choice of menu..and served promptly and very professionally. I will always look forward to my next visit and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuesdayclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights to get away from it all.

Having booked a late deal, we got a reasonable discount. We may not have given it such a good review if we had paid full price.

We were given a very small room , which we really didn't mind too much, with a VERY outdated bathroom - haven't seen turquise since the 70's (oh and a few places in Wales) - but it had a big plus, which was a really cute balcony where you could sit and have a cup of tea and watch the goings on below.

WE were a bit concerned about the wedding which was taking place just below us, but after a large dinner and a few glasses of wine, we slept soundly anyway in the comfortable bed.

Some of the hotel has clearly been given a makeover, but I bet it was not designed by a professional: You really don't have to put in uber-modern bathroom fittings in, just because all the butique hotels do; and who came up with electric blue and gold scheme for the great hall? Take a pair of sunglasses if you go.

The food was good, and a small hiccup with a steak cooked medium and not blue was resolved quickly and the replacement was cooked perfectly. The second restaurant in the tithe barn is more informal, but the bill ended up pretty much the same as the main restaurant. However, the view of the Hall all lit up in the evening from the barn was dreamy.

Must also mention the beauty treatment: I had a nice relaxing facial the first afternoon which really chilled me out and made a great start to the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realfoodseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
354 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,032 reviews
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
1.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £97 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing