We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seckford Hall
Nearby Hotels
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$170
Salthouse Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
US$149
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
524
287
156
94
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
287
156
94
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor roomafternoon teafour poster bedbeautiful buildingthe main hotelcream teapublic roomssconesspa bathgrounds are lovelynew ownersspecial occasionold buildinglounge areasmoked salmonwedding receptionbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2010

A warm welcome when we arrived for a family party. Shown to a comfortable room, but with no view and could hear the wedding disco until 11.30pm. Everything spotlessly clean and worked, includng free WiFi

The grounds are beautful, with nice seating area outside.

Had a nicely served evening meal. The bed however, was not worthy of a £200 hotel and needs to be replaced .

Breakfast was nice, though service a bit slow. We did not use the swimming pool. Overall it would have rated well as a 3 star hotel, at half the price

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Amazing Elizabethan property in beautiful setting. We were on a weekend package which included a delicious dinner on Saturday night (including chocolates and petit fours with coffee) help yourself cream tea and a full cooked breakfast all for £215 for 2 of us - good value. The next night was £165 for the room alone. The room itself was pleasant with dual aspect - but see more below

Downsides were
- the superior room was just about ok size wise - room to walk around the bed but not much more. (Peeking into other rooms they were tiny - and in some cases the bed was actually pushed against the wall)
- our bathroom was very poor - circa 1980 with a plastic bath and cheaply fitted (but our friends' bathroom was more modern)
- virtually no goodies in the way of shampoos etc - 2 very small bottles (not replaced when used on the first night)
- tea/coffee etc in the room with a good selection of teas etc but again not replenished after the first night
- there was a stray dress left in our wardrobe which clearly hadn't been checked following the previous departure
- door lock didn't work properly
- breakfast was rather disappointing all round. The buffet was very sparse, we were told there was no earl grey tea and we had to remind them we were there in order to take our order
- swimming pool in the courtyard complex opposite was very nice but the changing rooms were pretty poor - more like school changing rooms with very poor facilities
- beauty salon - very nice beautician but again rather cramped and tatty room
- found ourselves locked out on our return on Sat night notwithstanding we returned before midnight as requested and had to stand outside in the rain whilst knocking repeatedly on the front door
- check out invoice included an item for £33 listed as "Mains" whereas the dinner had been part of the package - and was removed when we queried it

- And everywhere we went there were laminated signs telling us what we couldn't do!!
- we weren't allowed to close the curtains in our bedroom - why not?
- we were only allowed one towel in the spa - and were told that if we wanted to reuse it we should take it back to dry it in our room!!
- and when we checked out our invoice was stamped - not with a hope you enjoyed your stay message - but to ask us whether we had returned our key!

So overall whilst we enjoyed our stay and didn't think it was bad value for money we were left with the slight impression that we were treated as children - and there is certainly a need for an ongoing programme of investment

But overall the hotel was very busy - including lots of locals coming in for Sunday lunch - so clearly they are doing something right - and overall we had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavinia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Fantastic location and setting, ideal for evening ball / event. As mentioned by others, check your bill for correct room rate (child addition-which may not be mentioned when booking). Be aware of costly and unneccessary additions to bill due to "damage" even when caused by illness. What should have been a great weekend was ruined by the attitude of the owners.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyof3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed for a Thursday and Friday night for a short break. The building is a lovely 16th century manor type house but with modern facilities. The shower was good although the bath a bit slippery to stand on. One small grumble - the corners of the bathroom could do with dusting and our toilet roll actually ran out at the end of our stay. The bed was actually too soft for us as we would prefer a firmer mattress, but the night was quiet and dark with just the sound of the water feature in the courtyard below. Our room had a view over this and the lake and gardens which are lovely. We had a cup of tea one afternoon looking over the garden and brought out to us by the helpful waiter. The pool is a bonus (although quite small - my husband managed four strokes per length) and the situation, just outside of Woodbridge, is good. Breakfast is also good - the toasted brown bread was lovely - slightly malty. Kippers were delicious as were the fruit salad selections, but my poached egg was slightly cool and undercooked. In all, we did really enjoy our stay but had a few minor gripes.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at Seckford Hall on an 'Afternoon tea, dinner, bed & breakfast' basis booked directly through the hotel. The price was a little high at £180 for one nights stay but it was a present for my husband's birthday so I hoped it would be worth it...and my goodness it was.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome, a young porter carried our luggage for us and made sure we were happy with the room. There was a wedding on at the time of our stay and although we shared the beautiful garden with the wedding guests, we were given very personal attention by the friendly and efficient waiter who served us our cream tea.

We booked our evening meal for 7.30pm at which time there were already many guests dining and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. The menu was extensive and I ordered the lobster (which had a supplement cost) and it was absolutely mouth-watering, the best I have tasted. My husband had the steak which he found equally delicious.

We found the hotel to be beautifully decorated throughout, in a very elegant but classic style. Our bedroom was immaculate with beautiful antique furniture and a lovely view across the gardens.

All in all we had a fabulous stay and would love to go back sometime. A little on the high side price wise, but you get what you pay for and Seckford Hall really was superb in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonappetitSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews