We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive Building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Boston Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

This Hotel certainly is very impressive on approach! We stayed for our wedding anniversary at the beginning of June.
The staff were friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a studio in the courtyard, it was clean, but did smell slightly musty, the room felt very dated and we felt it could do with refurbishing- very eighties. The gardens were lovely well cared for, but do think they had alot more potential!
We ate in the restaurant both evenings, the food was of an extremly high standard-im sure Gordon Ramsey would be impressed!.The decor in the main building was beautiful, tastefully done to match the era of the building.
Breakfast again first class and excellent service.
I believe this hotel is for sale and i think with the right new ownership and a large injection of money this hotel could become one of the best in the country! (If i won the lottery!!!)
I would recommend this hotel for its setting and food very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollyevison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    249
    140
    81
    46
See reviews for
180
428
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Norfolk, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

This hotel is gorgeous. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Seckford Hall. My mum recommended this hotel to us as she says this is her favourite hotel - she has stayed a couple of times before. I must say I agree with her. We were slightly anxious however, as the hotel is up for sale, however, this had no impact on our stay whatsover and the standards have most definately been maintained. We stayed for two nights, dinner, bed and breakfast (plus cream tea on the day or arrival) in a Superior Room (Room 5) for £185 a night. We thought this was really good value, considering the quality of the food and the lovely setting of the hotel. Our room was really nice, clean and with a lovely view over the gardens and the pond. We found all of the staff to be incredibly helpful and friendly (particularly Marmite the cat!). The food was divine ( we are now on strict diets this week!). There are lovely areas to visit nearby... we visited Southwold, Woodbridge and also paid a visit to Jimmy's Farm (as featured on the BBC series). The pool and restuarant by the pool are also lovely and again the waitress was very helpful and friendly. We were so surprised that this is only a 3* hotel ( I guess this is due to the slightly dated bathrooms). We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kcej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2007

We found Seckford Hall to be an outstanding Hotel. The management and all the staff went out of their way to help us and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Mr D Warren, Suffolk

  • Liked — The Overall treatment from the hotel staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrenderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. From arrival to departure we found the service to be first rate. The Hotel itself is architecturally impressive, well decorated and has a feel of refinement and quality. The Hotel grounds are neat, well tended and offer a relaxing place to stroll around.

We dined in the hotel restaurant – taking the fixed price menu which offered a large choice and the food was well prepared and of high quality. An extensive and reasonably priced wine list complemented the menu.

Although it seems the Hotel is a sought after wedding venue, with several weddings taking place during our stay, they were not intrusive in any way.

The Hotel is on the pricey side - but as in most things you get what you pay for, and I would highly recommend this hotel to those seeking a quality leisure break

  • Liked — Quality of service and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suffolkboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2007

We wanted a venue that would do justice to a Ruby Wedding Celebration. Seckford Hall staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We booked 5 rooms in the Courtyard complex and one room in the Hotel for a long weekend - all were great. We had a lunch for 66 people on the Sunday and all guests loved the place. If you want a venue that maintains standards year after year (we have been patrons for over 40 years) then Seckford Hall is the place.

  • Liked — roomy and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing