We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning generous family suite and lovely service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Fens
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning generous family suite and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We came straight from Ickworth House - the 'Luxury family hotel' but thought this was much the superior hotel. Beautiful building and setting. We were shown to our room, in a modern conversion of an out building. The suite was enormous - 6 rooms for £174 a night! a very good rate I would say. The children loved their room with bunk beds and we really loved our 4 poster bed complete with TV in the canopy! The family bathroom had a very large spa bath, and a walk in shower. There was another toilet room for the kids, and a large living room area with TV and dining table.
When we were shown to the room by the lovely porter he even offered to go and get us some fresh milk to use with our kettle and condiments. A pint was swiftly brought from the kitchen - a really nice touch.
The pool is not amazingly luxurious, but is special none the less, and enjoyable for half an hour with the kids on a rainy evening.
The hotel bar and food was very good from what we experienced.
We really enjoyed breakfast - full hot service at your table, and a choice of cold buffet aswell.
Very nice staff the whole time.
A wonderful place to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    249
    140
    81
    46
See reviews for
181
429
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is the second time of staying at Seckford Hall hotel.
This hotel is second to none. the staff are so attentive and make you feel that you are the only people staying at the hotel, The food is great with a good selection to choose from. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the room we stayed in has a balcony which is lovely to sit and lookout over the grounds and woods. Great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Booked an overnight stay with dinner for my grandparents as a treat for their diamond wedding anniversary. They couldn't praise the hotel enough, said they couldn't fault a thing. The hotel, decor and furniture were all beautiful and everywhere was immaculately clean. They enjoyed every minute of their stay and said they were treated like royalty by all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmachamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

The public rooms and the bedroom were very good, the staff excellent but the food was well short of its 2 AA rosette billing. The dinner menu had a number of interesting sounding main courses but my lemon sole and my wife's sea bass were very disappointing. The rack of lamb at the next table looked good though. The bar had Adnams bitter on draft (yes) but charged £2.50 for a tiny saucer of nuts (ouch!).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We were treated to dinner at Seckford Hall by my parents as my mother was 80 so it was a big family celebration. There were ten of us in all and we live locally so we know that Seckford Hall is a lovely venue. We sat in the lounge for a drink where our food order was taken by one of the restaurant managers. Tthe staff were polite and efficient. When the food was ready we were ushered into the dining room. We sat at a large round table which was ideal for our party. When the starters arrived we began our meal and speaking for myself it was very disappointing. I had a warm pigeon breast on a bed of salad which sounded lovely but in fact was uninteresting and looked as if it had been kept warm for some time. As for the rest of the family, some had prawns with a sauce which looked like the prawns were just put on a plate with some sauce drizzled over. The people who had had this said they dish was very unexciting and they were disappointed with their starter.

The main course was served and I had lemon sole with a lobster mousse filling. This was average with the filling overpowering the fish. But the worst thing was that three members of my family had venison in a juniper and lime sauce which they all said was not nice at all. The sauce was far too strong and the venison was at best average. Dad had the sea bass with choritzo which I would query as to whether the two would be a good companions in a dish! However I noticed my father had left nearly all the choritzo on his plate.

Obviously when people are paying for your meal you cannot make a complaint but my husband quietly mentioned to the waiter that the meals were not appetising. The waiter went to the chef and came back saying the chef said some limes are stronger than others! I thought that this was hilarious. Surely the chef should taste the sauce and make sure it is good to go!

Desserts were very nice and they were the saving grace of the meal. We went back to the lounge where coffee was served. I had given the staff a cake to bring out with the coffee for mum's birthday and this they did singing happy birthday to her as they came in which was lovely. The coffee however was not! I could not believe how bad my coffee was. I asked for a decaffeinated coffee and this was served with coffee grounds floating in it with no flavour at all. In fact it looked like milk that had been shown a cofffee ground. Everyone else had real coffee which was tasteless with coffee grounds floating around in it. When you think a round of coffee for ten is no small cost and that most of us found it unpalatable I think this is extremely bad. Surely in this day and age with good coffee being served in so many places you would think this would be an absolute must for a good hotel.

My parents must have paid £400 or so at least for this meal. A meal for one was £38.50 I believe so it must have been at least that. They are both in their 80's and it's such a pity that we found the food wanting in so many ways.

All in all we thought the food terribly disappointing and felt that Seckford Hall was charging it's customers simply for being in the hall rather than for the quality of the food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_with_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaxham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at Seckford Hall.We found the staff very friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was bright and airy and the bathroom spacious. The food in the restaurant was very good particularly the cold buffet breakfast - plenty to choose from. The canapes before dinner were delicious! This hotel certainly met our expectations. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

My wife and I stayed for 1 night on an afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast basis. All facets of service were very good, the room was comfortable and the food met our expectations. Although the location is close to the A12, there is a feeling of being deep in the Suffolk countryside, but with easy access to places of interest.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing