We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here for one night (5th April) in room 224 - good size room with a lovely view over the golf course, couldn't have asked for a better room! Modern TV with a DVD player too and a modern bathroom. Room was very clean apart from a little more dusting needed in the lampshades and cupboards. Tea/coffee making faciltiies in the room with many different teas and hot chocolates, with complimentary biscuits too!!

We arrived slightly early to check-in but the reception staff were extremely helpful and accomodating, allowing us to drop off our lugggage as well as a slightly earlier check in to our room which we were very grateful for.

The spa was excellent and very good value too, at £12.50 per resident of the hotel - ever so relaxing, and done out very well with the thermal suite in the middle. We loved the relaxation room where you could lay on deck chairs while drinking herbal teas with a star light cieling. We spent 2 hours in the spa and we found towards the last part, it was only us and another couple using the spa so there was plenty of room and very peaceful, felt like we had private hire of the spa! We were also given a guided tour of the spa which we thought was very good.

Free use of the pool, the jacuzzi and the steam is included in the price so there is plenty to do, as well as a pool table in the bar and a quiet room for reading which was very peaceful. Free WIFI aswell.

We had our evening meal at the bar which was cooked freshly and the service was very efficient, food was delicious and although not cheap, we thought it was fairly priced at around 10 pound a main course.

A huge strength of this hotel is the staff, everyone we spoke to was so helpful and done everything to make our stay as enjoyable as it could be. There was a problem with the fire alarm going off twice in the night, which meant we had a very disturbed sleep. We mentioned this to the reception in the morning and after speaking to the manager, we were able to keep the room on for a few more hours which we were very grateful for.

A few improvements: the double bed was actually 2 single beds put together which wasn't particularly comfortable, breakfast finished at 10 on Saturday which we found to be a bit early, but we are not early risers - however, a possible improvement would be the option of a late continental breakfast.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought it was excellent value for money. We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Nigel
Thank you for your indepth and very positive review - we were delighted to read that you found your stay overall excellent value for money and our facilities and staff superb. We were sorry to hear that the fire alarm went off during your stay, but grateful that you appreciated that some things are beyond our control, it is how our staff handle these things which is more important. Our staff do try their very best to accommodate all our guests special requirements eg. early check-in or late check-out, it just depends on how busy we are.

We will also take on board your tips to improve our standards even more and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Ufford Park Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed for one night midweek (2nd April) and were given room 208.Lovely big room with a balcony overlooking the golf course. Swimming pool was great, nice clean changing rooms.

We thought the restaurant menu looked very nice but decided to eat in the sports bar as we wanted a chilled out atmosphere. They had an offer for two courses for £10, choice of about 3 mains/puddings. My husband had ham, egg and chips and a chocolate cheesecake from this offer. I had chicken fajitas (£10.95 from the main menu) and then stole his dessert! Bar prices weren't cheap but typical of most hotels.

Breakfast buffet was very nice - all the usual stuff and our requested poached eggs arrived perfectly cooked.
There is a very nice quiet lounge with an amazing fish tank if you want to read.

I must mention the staff at Ufford Park. Every single member of staff we encountered was fantastic, my husband popped for a look at the pool when we checked in and was practically given a guided tour! Everyone was extremely polite, professional and friendly. Some hotels we have stayed in could certainly learn a thing or two from the customer service at this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazydiamond118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for your superb 5 out of 5 review about your recent stay at Ufford Park - we do try our best to ensure all our visitors have a wonderful time and so were delighted to read that every aspect of your stay was excellent including the quality of the food, cleanliness of the bedroom & health club and especially our staff throughout the whole complex who were in your words, 'extremely polite, professional and friendly'.

We very hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon.

Best wishes,
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Booked a spa day for myself, mum and sister based on TA reviews. It's OK but not in the same league as Nirvana (Berkshire) or Champneys.
Advantages: Thermal suite has all that you'd expect at a spa and there were 12 of us using it which was great as it's not that big but apparently 24 people can be booked in which would be far too many. Lunch was good. Had a pedicure which was lovely and the varnish (good quality make - Jessica) was a complimentary gift.
Disadvantages: Swimming pool full of mums and shouty kids (it was the Easter hols, so not surprising) there was an adults only swimming slot but not until lunchtime. Robes had seen better days (the first one my mum was given had a huge hole in it) and if you're larger than an average size i would suggest bringing your own. Bring your own flip flops too as you need to walk a fair bit, There are a few sets of stairs so check with reception if anyone has mobility issues.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for your spa review - we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your spa day and treatment. Your point about there only being 1 hour for adult only swimming is correct but we do have a section which should have been roped off for adults swimming lengths, so we are sorry if that did not happen during your time in the pool. You also mentioned access to the pool and changing rooms might be difficult for some guests - just to clarify to other readers, we do have disabled changing rooms on pool side and provide chair lifts so that access to all parts are available to our guests. We would have loved to continue providing our spa guests with slippers but had to stop because of health & safety reasons unfortunately.

We were disappointed that you felt we were ''not in the same league'' as Nirvana (Berkshire) or Champneys but that is because we are not a purpose built spa/hotel, nor do we charge their prices, instead we market ourselves as providing excellent value for money to our customers whilst still offering good quality facilities and therapists.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed here with a friend for an overnight spa break booked through lastminute.com. The receptionist on arrival was polite, cheerful and really helpful. Our room was really nice, modern and really clean. The bathroom was spotless and looked like had recently been refitted. We had a double bed and single bed in the room which was great, flat screen tv, dvd player, good choice of drinks and complimentary toiletries. I was pleased and surprised to get a bottle of water too as had forgotten mine!!
We went to the spa, which was really nice. The girl on reception there was helpful too, and showed us round. Although the poor girl had hurt her back and was struggling to walk and some of the leisure team (who we later saw show someone else round) watched her struggle. We had a really nice relaxing few hours there. It was nice that the spa wasn't too busy despite it being the week after Easter and still the school holidays. Was nice and clean in spa and lots of free herbal teas to choose from. The treatment (deep tissue massage) we both had were lovely - sore but worth it to be rid of knots! It was also nice to get the full alloted time, lots of places include you getting changed as part of your time, but not here so that was a real plus.
We also used the pool in the leisure area. There was a lane marked off to swim in, and the pool was busy with kids as was Easter Holidays. I have no problem with kids in there or it being busy, although they kept jumping in the swimming lane and playing in there, no lifeguard / leisure team member (or parents!) told them to move so they had to be swum round.
There wasn't a toilet in the spa (that we could find) so we had to go through to the changing rooms of the pool area. The floors in here were dripping wet, my local council pool sweep theres on a regualr basis - these were like this the whole 3 hours. They were full of screaming kids running around, kind of undid some of the relaxing we had done considering we had come on a spa break to escape kids!! Both of the toilets in the ladies changing rooms had faeces smeared all over the seats so to me were unusable. The staff with leisure team tshirts on just seemed to spend the 3 hours we were there sitting chatting to each other rather than actually do any work.They appeared to be the only staff members at this hotel who let them down on customer service as all other staff seemed to be attentive and helpful - and doing a job.
Dinner was really nice and the staff friendly. Although we were the only people in the restaurant who didn't get given a bread roll, and quite a few people were served before us despite us coming in some time before then. We also asked for tap water and never got it. The food was nice though, generous portions and carvery food was topped up regularly and was tasty and hot. Deserts were chosen from a selection in cabinet, and these were nice too with good choice.
We however did have an awful nights sleep, the beds were comfy so no complaints there. Our problem was despite it having snowed most of the day on and off, the room was boiling all night and the radiators had been off all day so no idea why! At 2.30 we ended up having to have the window wide open and still were hot so didn't get much sleep at all.
Breakfast was really good, loads of choice and really well cooked and hot.
Overall, despite a bad nights sleep and a few niggles (and dirty toilets!) we had a lovely stay, I would recommend this hotel and spa break to people as it was great value for money and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazeedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us such a detailed account of your stay - we always find them very helpful to know where we get things right and where we can improve. We do franchise out the management of our health club & spa and so your comments regarding the leisure team being the only staff who in your opinion, let us down customer service wise, we can assure you will be immediately taken up with their manager - thank you.

You also mentioned that your bedroom was very hot - we can only apologise about that - the rooms have only just been fully refurbished and we were made aware after the first few days of use that there was a problem with the heating in bedrooms in that section of the hotel - and was immediately fixed by our maintenance team.

We were pleased that you still felt overall though that your stay with us was great and you will certainly come back to stay with us again. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

we stayed here before with friends had really good time so decided when we had chance to stay again went for it. great hotel and surroundings excellent staff. highly recommended. rooms are spotless had a balcony looking over golf course wonderful view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyt105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Stan
Thank you for your superb 5 out of 5 review especially as you have now stayed with us on 2 seperate occassions and both times have found the quality of rooms & food excellent as well as good value for money. Very reassuring to know.

We very much hope you will return for a 3rd time very soon.

Kind regards
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The room was basic, decor tired. Two tiny pillows and 1 cushion on bed looked very lost and unwelcoming. Hospitality tray, cheap and nasty. Food in in bar inedible - when is a simple pie, not a pie? When it is lumps of dry meat with a puff pastry lid that disintegrated when you cut it. The breakfast was lukewarm and my table was cleared before I had finished! Chopped fruit was all tinned. I expected a lot better for £109. I was asked to wait an hour when I wished to speak to the manager!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyH263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Wendy
We were so sorry to read that you had such a bad exerience at Ufford Park and we have taken on board all your comments - some we are resolving immediately (and appologise for), whilst others will become part of a longer term solution.

We understand that our General Manager is in fact already in direct contact with you following on from you bringing your complaint to our attention at the time of your stay and by filling in a guest questionnaire. In fact prior to submitting your tripadvisor review, therefore we trust that provided the lines of communication remain open we will be able to reassure you that we will endeavour to improve on the issues you raised to your satisfaction very soon.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

didn't really know what to think about this place really , lot of people banged on about it, for me it was really bit washed out to be honest, naf décor varnished wood through-out, we had a "Platted" breakfast at nearly £12 pp wasn't anything amazing, could of got better for less at a greasy spoon to be honest, in fact it was like eating in a greasy spoon but just in nicer surroundings, nothing to match the so called greatness of this hotel, sauces in sachets, cutlery wrapped up in a napkin, all your coffee stuff left on your table on a tray, it was far from what people had said to me about it, but I was hungry and the breakfast was ok and the waitress was very friendly so all in all not that bad but certainly not great

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquiietpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

We appreciate any reviews from customers however harsh they may be - we are of course disappointed to read that your first experience eating at Ufford Park was such a poor one despite the lovely surroundings and staff - we really do receive numerous excellent reviews about the quality and value of our breakfasts so we will urgently look into what when wrong for you. There is one thing I would like to clarify though which is the price of your breakfast , because if you did pay £12pp that should have been for our Full English Buffet ie. fruit, yoghurt, juices, danishes, toast, cooked breakfast and Tea or Coffee. Our plated breakfasts are considerably cheaper - can you therefore please email me directly so I can be sure you were not over charged.

We do hope you give us a 2nd chance to prove to you that all the other reviews and personal recommendations you received before coming are in fact true!

Kind regards
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
8.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,040 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
354 reviews
23.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Woodbridge Hotel Ufford Park, Woodbridge IP12 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £70 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa is set in 120 acres of historic parkland less than 12 miles from Ipswich town centre and is therefore the perfect affordable destination for Spa, Leisure & Golf Breaks. Either as a couple, a group or as a family - With golf course, swimming pool & gym, thermal Suite Spa, bar & restaurant it is an excellent family owned and run modern hotel. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic views. Children & Pets welcomed. Open all year round - great Winter Break options. Top Winter golf course. 4 Star Luxury Spa. Ample free parking & Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf Hotel Woodbridge
Best Western Woodbridge
Woodbridge Best Western
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing