We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for golf break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Group of 12 stayed at the end of March on a golf break, everything was well organized from start to finish, the staff on reception were very quick and efficient. Our evening meal and breakfast were both cooked well and very fresh (excellent), the staff in the dining room could not have done any more to look after us. The rooms were clean and of a good standard, we hope to be staying again one day.The golf course was in very good condition for the time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review, we were very pleased to read that your golfing group had such a good time. We will pass on your praise to our housekeeping staff, reception & restaurant team, chefs and of course green keeping staff. It is always reassuring to read positive reviews when we get everything right.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you all back again - remember we have an award winning winter course due to excellent natural drainage so it is playable all year round !!

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

I recently stayed here for a family weekend away which overall was very lovely. I agree with previous reviews re Stuart who was very on the ball and the lady who looked after our family meal on the Sunday.
Just one or two things that made me think it wasn’t quite worth the money we paid and interestingly my partner agreed when he found out the price.
We had premium/superior rooms which were very spacious. However we had a golf pencil with the stationary not a pen and only one bath robe for a room for two. Not an issue as my other half wouldn’t wear one but I do know other members of our family didn’t have any bath robes and where in the same rooms. There was also no furniture on the balcony which was a shame and for the price I would expect. These are all very minor things which I would expect as standard for the price/type of room.
The food on the Sat night was very good but a shame the profiteroles weren’t the same on the Sunday and the Sat night ones looked very good.
Finally there was a wedding on that day and unfortunately we could hear the music in our room when we returned. However on this occasion didn’t prevent me sleeping but could have caused an issue.
Overall the weekend was lovely but there was just a few things which I didn’t feel matched the price paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ER0885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had some very positive comments. Regarding your room - there should have been a Bathrobe for every adult staying in the room - something we offer in all our Premier Rooms, so we are very sorry this had been overlooked by housekeeping. Regarding patio furniture, we were actually planning to purchasing new patio furniture this year but have been taken by surprise with the unusually early Spring weather - so again this is something which is being sorted out but we are just sorry it was not done in time for your stay.
We therefore hope that you will come back again soon, when we are confident that you will not only have a great time again but will also feel your stay is excellent value for money too.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I took 70 seniors for a Mystery weekend and the hotel we stayed at was Ufford Park, everyone without exception said what a great hotel. The rooms were clean, all the staff lovely, particularly in the restaurant where nothing was too much trouble, and the food was excellent.
Stuart the Maitre D went out of his way to be helpful, even when two of us had to go to hospital and didnt arrive back until nearly 3 hours after our dinner time, he had arranged for our meal to be waiting, always with service with a smile.
Excellent value for money I will be recommending this hotel to the travel trade brochures that I use.
Thankyou we really appreciated the service that we received at Ufford Park.

Room Tip: We had room 116 looked out over golf course very quiet and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwynneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Gwynneth
Thank you so much for your superb review - we were delighted to read that your group had such a wonderful time at Ufford Park and that you felt our staff and service perfect throughout. We would greatly appreciate your recommendations to your travel brochure too - thank you.
The fact that you commented that you found us 'Excellent Value for Money' too - we trust we will be welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent weekend here. Gripes first: our bathroom was "a tad grubby" and the bedroom felt a little tired. The safes need to accommodate tablets and small laptops.
The furniture in the treatment room was dated and uncomfortable.

However, the location and the food are both superb. Breakfast was excellent and our evening meal was wonderful. All staff were attentive and helpful but we found Stuart, the Maitre D, especially welcoming, friendly and accommodating.
We enjoyed the spa and treatment facilities but it is disappointing when facilities are unavailable for a weekend (steam room).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Colin
Firstly can we say how delighted we were to read your comments about your breakfast and dinner, as well as our fantastic Maitre'D Stuart. Thank you and will pass these on to them.
Sorry to hear about your room we will pass this on to our Head Housekeeper so she can investigate the matter and to our Spa Manager too. Thank you for highlighting this so we can do something about it - sadly some things are out of our control eg. the Steam Room because when things like this break we almost always have to wait for the necessary part to arrive (often from abroad) before an engineer can even start repairing it.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon though when we are confident you will have no 'gripes' at all and everything will be superb not just the good and staff.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here due to a wedding locally and this was the only place with enough available rooms for us and some friends. The Hotel is pretty dated its a bit like stepping back to the 1980's with some interesting decor! At over £100 a night I expected more. The room (228) was just OK, the matress felt a bit ropey a bit like our pull out z-bed at home. The bathroom was pretty grim, lots of mould spots around grout the bath and shower corners and also along the rear ceiling. I would reccommend buying some HG mould spray, paint ceilings with mould resistant paint and get a better extractor system. The toilet wasn't cleaned very well either, always a bad sign. There is a balcony which overlooks the golf course but no seating and lots of moss on the concrete slabs.

Breakfast was OK and was a bit like a service station along with fake plastic box hedgrows! (nice). They served cheap juices (concentrated and sweetened), tinned fruit and rock hard pastries. The cooked buffet breakast was a little better and the sausages weren't bad. Our friends commented that their rooms got very hot in the night and also one couple had a room with 2 x single beds although they booked a double,

Overall for me this place was overpriced. We didn't use the pool or spa area so I couldn't comment on that. I noticed a cheap sign displaying "lift out of order" in the morning when checking out, which might just have been a coincidence but kind of summed up the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odie1kenobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review we were of course sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay though - we appreciate decor is a personal thing but we are also in the process of modernising the hotel, it just takes time due to having over 90 bedrooms. The bedroom you stayed in is in fact one of the 10 rooms we are planning to do next so please do not let this put you off staying again.
We will look into the breakfast quality because the quality of our food is something we regularly get very high praise for (this can be seen in many other reviews) so hard pastries is very unusual and disappointing.
All our bedrooms do have windows, patio doors &/Or velux's so if guests are hot during the night they can be easily opened. As you appreciate we have just had unusually mild weather for March during the day but there have been many nights where the temperature has dropped down dramatically, so we have not felt it time to turn the heating off altogether yet - sorry.

Thank you for your feedback and if you would like to speak to our GM directly please contact us directly.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

It's in a nice setting the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough, the room was big and clean needed a couple of things only had one bedside drawer but was loads of room for two , some of the light bulbs didn't work and the flow of water from the tap in sink was odd but overall the bed was very comfy and it was nice and warm .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Linda
Thank you for your great review. Sorry about the couple of maintenance matters we will see to those as soon as possible. But very pleased to hear the room was clean and comfortable and our staff were wonderful throughout your stay.

We very much hope to welcome you back again next time you are up visiting family.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I felt as a lone traveller that their security is poor; side doors are not locked at night. I was put at the end of a corridor right next to an outside door to the car park that was open all night i.e. unsecured, and completely unattended, which was in poor contrast to Premier Inn, who make sure all lone female travellers are placed securely within their buildings. I did not feel very safe. It was also noisy. I was woken by noise in the corridor the first night in the early morning and by other guests the second night who were unaware of the flimsy walls.
The Bar food choice is limited-Pubs in Woodbridge have more choice and are cheaper. Breakfast was disappointing if you are vegetarian. The View from the window was beautiful. I didn't have time to use the pool or see it, as I was working, which was a shame, and it clearly is a big bonus to staying here which would appeal to most people. The Staff were friendly in the Bar.
I imagine it is Golfers who like this Hotel or spa users but I am not sure I would stay again on my own, despite the beautiful surroundings, or bonus of pool, as I did not relax due to being aware there was just a flimsy Hotel door between me and the night..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Hilary
Thank you for your review - we understand your comments about security and would like to take this opportunity to assure you that we do take security of all our guests very seriously, not just our female ones and can reassure you that all our external doors are locked in the evenings by our night managers (one is in fact a lady herself so is very conscious about being safe at night). Of course several doors are fire doors so although they can be easily opened from the inside they can not from the outside. However, when you made your booking wish us you did specifically say that you would have many bags with your (more than usual for a 2 night stay) due to your job - so it was for that reason we specifically chose you a room where you could park your car nice and close and on the ground floor so you would not have to carry all your bags up and down stairs. We honestly thought we were being helpful but if you had brought your security concerns to our attention at the time, we would have tried to move you to a 1st or 2nd floor room.
We agree being on the ground floor corridor can sometimes be noisy as guests walk back to their rooms - we do our best to remind all our visitors to be considerate to others but some forget this and for this of course we apologise.
We hope you do come back to stay with us again and next time we will do our best to appoint you a different room - also please try our Park Restaurant, which offers an alternative menu to our bar meals. All our food is prepared from fresh so if you can not find a suitable vegetarian dish on either of our 2 menus, we would ask our chef to cook you something of your liking.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,054 reviews
8.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
23.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Woodbridge Hotel Ufford Park, Woodbridge IP12 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa is set in 120 acres of historic parkland less than 12 miles from Ipswich town centre and is therefore the perfect affordable destination for Spa, Leisure & Golf Breaks. Either as a couple, a group or as a family - With golf course, swimming pool & gym, thermal Suite Spa, bar & restaurant it is an excellent family owned and run modern hotel. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic views. Children & Pets welcomed. Open all year round - great Winter Break options. Top Winter golf course. 4 Star Luxury Spa. Ample free parking & Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf Hotel Woodbridge
Best Western Woodbridge
Woodbridge Best Western
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing