We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overall a very good experience. We had a complimentary upgrade as it was our wedding night which was great gesture. The premier room was very clean which I am very fussy about. If I pay to stay somewhere I expect it to be very clean!! I liked that a card was left saying who cleaned our room. The bed was comfy but there was only 2 pillows on the bed although we found 2 more in the wardrobe.
If I was to be picky I would say the room was dated in decor and design.
Our night included a three course meal in the restaurant and I have to say I was very unimpressed with the food. It was all cooked ok but it lacked creativity and tasted average. I ordered salmon with a chilli sauce and the sauce that covered the salmon was just the same as the sweet chilli sauce that you might dip your prawn crackers in, ok but certainly not made on sight and poured from a catering jar. Not what I would expect from ufford park hotel. The rest of the meal was uninspired and bland. Some of the waiting staff looked bored and didn't give service with a smile! Others were very friendly.
The buffet breakfast in the morning was a different story. There was plenty of choice and my new husband and I chose a cooked breakfast where you helped yourself. This was delicious and the serving staff brought a teapot of tea straight away so we could refill our cups as we wished.
Reception was very helpful too.
We spent time in the spa and that was lovely with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

First of all may we take this opportunity to say congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for chosing us for your honeymoon night. We were very pleased to read that your room was spotless and your breakfast superb. We will pass on your comments about dinner (food & service) to our Head Chef to look into further as ordinarily we do get excellent feedback about our restaurant food and in particular service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon.

Best wishes and congratulations again.
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

on arrival we could not enter the hotel by the main entrance as the revolving doors wouldn't allow our pram through so the receptionist let us through a rear door. our room was located a long way from reception so with a pram and 3 suitcases in tow off we went, to find we had to go down steps to our room and a lift was not in the area which was easy. on entering the family room, it was incredibly cramp with a cot bed and the first thing I noticed was the really dirty net curtains, it was late when we checked in and I had to settle our baby for the night, thank god I took sheets for the cot! the remote control for the tv was sticky and filthy. the bathroom was no better and I had to clean the hairs out of the bath before we could use it. the bathroom floor was dirty and the hinge for the toilet was broken and there was no soap in the bathroom either so I used my shampoo to wash our hands! we went to breakfast and it was poor, the full English was incredibly creasy and there was no continental left so had to had all that crease and fat yuk! we went out for the day as planned and decided we could stay another night, so we went back to the hotel packed our bags and drove all the way home that night, best decision I ever made and I will never pay up front for a hotel room again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 510b_rowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Having investigated your comments fully it appears that you are already in direct contact with our General Manager who has written to you personally addressing all your points. Something we do for all complaints raised either directly with a member of the team or highlighted in our bedroom guest questionaires.

We would however like to take this opportunity to apologise for the housekeeping issues and assure you that they will be raised with our Head Housekeeper urgently as being unacceptable and not up to our normal high standards of cleanliness. Thank you.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Returned to this hotel for at least 5th time - we return yearly as we love the relaxed atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and helpful, food very good, the spa facilities are very good - this time we had treatments which were very good. The golf course was as tough and as beautiful as always - we will certainly return next year - for value for money it can not be bettered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 375Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Sally
Thank you for your superb review - and should we say welcome back too :-)
We were so pleased that having stayed with us for the last 4-5yrs you have kindly put a review onto Tripadvisor for us telling everyone else how you feel and in particular that you have not only always found us good value for money, but have consistently provided you with excellent food, staff and facilities.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year - or even before now you have discovered our Spa.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding. When we arrived we were given a room on the ground floor round the back of the sauna. The room had no windows only a single door which opened onto the car park. I had specifically booked a double room but I was given a family room which with a double bed and a single bed left no room to move. Also on what was a rather warm weekend I did not want to have to sleep with the door open on the ground floor. The reception staff were able to find us another room which was on the first floor and this at least had a large double bed. Again no opening window but it was not such a problem having a door open when you are on the first floor. There is no a/c so the room was quite stuffy unless you kept the door open. We paid extra to have breakfast on our first morning but this was definately not worth the £12. This is a typical buffet style breakfast with food left out under heat lamps. The bacon was so hard it was inedible and getting a refill of coffee was almost impossible. Probably a good place to stay if you come for a golf break or a spa weekend but not worth the £200 we paid for two nights.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the golf course and avoid the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review - we were of course disappointed to read that you felt your 2 night stay with us was not good value for money at £100 per night for a double room in peak season. We endeavour to provide great value to all our guests by offering a range of bedroom styles, excellent customer service (eg. happily moving you into a more acceptable bedroom), free unlimited access to our health club which includes swimming pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub & gymnasium, free wifi & parking and for over half of our rooms, fabulous views over the 120 acres of golf course. We appreciate you were using our hotel on this occassion as a base to attend a wedding, but nevertheless all these facilities would have been available to you throughout your stay as part of your room rate.
We offer a choice of continental and/or full English breakfast buffet which if prebooked would have cost you only £10pp and again most of our guests feel this is very good value money due to huge range of food and drink included in this price but we do accept that you personally did not agree with this.

We hope you will stay with us again on a leisure, golf or spa break in the future, when you will have more time to take full advantage of everything we have on site resulting in you feeling instead that compared to our competitors, we are great value for money.

Kind regards
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I found hotel staff excellent, food was to die for, the hotel rooms were basic but we spent no time in them. The spa pool and facilities were also very good. The golf on Saturday was 5 hours and on sunday was 5 and a half hours which is not really acceptable, I would go back if I was not playing golf but all my weekends away are golf orientated so I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarharry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Oscar
We were so pleased to read that almost everything about your stay was perfect - we are so sorry about the slow play - we do our best to stop this but sometimes due to volumn it can be very difficult, despite having a course marshall out on the course. But please do not put this off coming back when everything else was so good - the time it took you is unusually slow even at weekends in high season - for which we apologise.

We do hope you will come back again soon and give us the opportunity to prove that what you experienced is certainly not the norm!!

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

the last time i visited here back in March 2013 and this time my stay was much better. Again i was staying on a business trip on 21st May. This time I was in on of the refurbished roooms and what a difference the bed was lovely and comfortable and the food i ate in the bar was OK. I have have one little complaint its that why oh why does the hotel fix the shower pole on the wall so that tall people (i'm 6'4") have to stoop to shower when it could have easily been fixed a little higher. I can only think that the hotel has a lot of vertically challenged people stay as i'm sure they don't have to be fixed so low.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Paul
Thank you for your positive review - we were absolutely thrilled to read that having returned to Ufford Park on business after 12months you have noticed some of the upgrades we have been making. We still have more to do but were really pleased you noticed what we had accomplished so far - we take on board your comments about the shower height and will certainly see what we can do to improve this if possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are working in the area.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for three days as we were going to a friends wedding and this hotel takes dogs. We had two good sized rooms, good buffet breakfast and very good spa facilities. Managed to get a hairdresser on site along with a very good massage. Staff were friendly. The main dining room is very hot, I do not know why they would not use the air conditioning units. The evening meal on the first night was not at the same standard as the hotel, limited menu with lots of fried food. Good basic menus with a reasonable selection, however not much for vegetarians. We went in to Ipswich for our second night's evening meal. Large car park and an iron was provided by request which was helpful when getting ready for the wedding.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Macleod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your review - it was interesting to read that one of the reasons for selecting our hotel was because we were dog friendly as well as having ample on site facilities. We were pleased to read that you found your rooms spaceous and comfortable, our staff friendly and helpful, and your massage top quality. We were of course sorry to hear that you found the restaurant hot and we will of course investigate as to why the A/C was either not on or not cool enough for you to eat in comfort. You mentioned your breakfast was lovely but was a little disappointed with range of dishes we offered, particularly being a vegetarian - we will bring this to the attention of our Head Chef, thank you. We do our best to offer all our mix of guests a wide choice of dishes both in our Park Restaurant (Table D'Hote & Daily Specials menu) and in our bar area (Bar snacks & healthy option dishes). If the hotel is exceptionally busy we do sometimes need to offer a Carvery Menu in our restaurant to cope with the demand.

We hope the wedding you attended was fantastic and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in the area.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,093 reviews
9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
11 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
11.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Yarmouth Road | Melton, Woodbridge IP12 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa is set in 120 acres of historic parkland less than 12 miles from Ipswich town centre and is therefore the perfect affordable destination for Spa, Leisure & Golf Breaks. Either as a couple, a group or as a family - With golf course, swimming pool & gym, thermal Suite Spa, bar & restaurant it is an excellent family owned and run modern hotel. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic views. Children & Pets welcomed. Open all year round - great Winter Break options. Top Winter golf course. 4 Star Luxury Spa. Ample free parking & Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf Hotel Woodbridge
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Woodbridge
Woodbridge Best Western
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing