We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: has been closed for a while but recently reopened, completely refurbished. Part of the Deben Inns group
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Came here with the family on fathers day and sat outside. The barstaf were really nice, they never kept us waiting to order and were very friendly. We really enjoyed the food and thought it was nicely presented and reasonably priced. We liked that they did food all day as we turned up at an odd time. All in all we were happy campers and would recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veebee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    190
    53
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldeburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fathers day”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family visited this restaurant for dinner on fathers day. Overall the food was ok but it was the service that really was the only thing that was disappointing. We can understand that they had a busy day as it was fathers day and a lovely day weather wise but its still no excuse. When we ordered but starter was wrong and had to be sent back. We had a little wait between starters and mains which was fine but it wasn't really busy at 8pm. We had to ask for dessert menus although we asked for them when mains were cleared by a supervisor. And to top it off we were over charged for somebody else's drinks!!!

All in all not a good experience and its a shame as we use the Maybush all the time and have never had a problem before. I feel perhaps they have a new intake of staff and they maybe still training.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anre160711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing food and attention to detail”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We managed to get the last table tonight, and really pleased we did.

The starters were really great value and quite large portions.

The main meals were exceptional value and could have been served in any top restaurant. The chicken I had was moist and the array of fish dishes was impressive. None of the four dining could find a fault with anything!

The waiting staff were friendly and unobtrusive.

Would recommend!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gertbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The menu had a good selection of meals to choose from, and a good specials menu.
The food was delicious, and the service was very good. The staff were very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Three of us went to the Coach and Horses at Woodbridge in Suffolk. I had a very large Cod fried in batter made from beer with salad, peas , chips etc. The Cod was so large it only just fitted onto a very large plate. It was delicious. Both the fish and crispy batter were mouth watering. It was followed by my favourite Sticky Toffee Pudding. My companions had different choices to mine from the menu but they were suitably impressed and we all agreed we would certainly be visiting that watering hole again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing