We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay - but do upgrade”
Review of Grove House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place to stay - but do upgrade”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here with a bunch of friends all attending the same wedding. The hotel (B&B) has around 20 rooms of varying sizes and quality. Our friends booked the standard double rooms which I believe were £80 a night and - because I booked late - had to book a superior double room for £10 a night more.

This proved to be a very smart move - the room (no. 20) was double the size of the others and had a dedicated bathroom with shower, toilet, sink and bath generously spaced out. All rooms were clean and the hotel staff were very polite, if a bit thin on the ground from time-to-time - expect a short delay at reception, because they may be off tending to the bar or restaurant area.

The hotel is based right on the A12, but noise was never a problem with the double-glazing. The bed was firm but comfortable and the shower so strong it wasn't far off an acid skin peel, which works for me but some may find uncomfortable. My friends told me their showers were adequate, but it sounds like this one gets the lion's share of the water pressure!

Breakfast was surprisingly early - 08:00 to 09:30 - on a weekend, but we made both days and it's a good quality breakfast (included in the price).

I'd happily stay here again, it's very reasonably-priced and of a good standard. Complaints? Well, the floorboards are a bit creaky which might annoy someone below, but we were above the restaurant. The decor isn't ultra-modern, but they do have some nice art on the walls.

Have the bargain stay if you must, but otherwise I'd recommend you pay just a little more for a very generous room.

Room Tip: Ask for room 20 - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    59
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
69
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just spent five nights with our friends at this great value for money small hotel. We found the location perfect for exploring the area between South Wold and Constable country .
Room sizes vary ,ours was a small double at the side of the house but we knew this when we booked, our friends had a larger twin at the back of the hotel. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, with a change of soft white towels daily. A slightly bigger bigger duvet would have been appreciated by my husband.
The breakfast was very fresh ,with perfect eggs and warm toast and as much tea and coffee as you wished. We also ate in the evening twice and were equally impressed by the standard of the food .
The hotel has a lounge and small bar area which we found most convenient , the owner and staff were always about and were friendly and efficient.
We recommend The Grove.

Room Tip: Discuss what is available before you go , the side room 16 was small but was not noisy, room 1 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 804stomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We just stayed overnight so wanted somewhere easy to find and convenient for everything we wanted to do. Booking was simple on their website and we paid when we checked out in the morning. We received a friendly welcome and the service throughout the stay could not be faulted, we were even greeted at the door when we returned to the hotel around 11pm. It was probably around 20 minutes walk to the centre of Woodbridge, we ate in town but meals are available at the hotel too. The room was quite large, very clean and nicely decorated, although we did experience some noise from the kitchens below us - mostly the sound of fans - it did not interrupt our sleep (unless you wanted a lie in past 8!). We had a room to the side of the building and so the traffic noise was minimal, obviously the location of the hotel itself isn't beautiful but there is a lot nearby. The shower was a bit weak but satisfactory. Breakfast was simple but very tasty, we had some fruit and yoghurt to start with toast and juice. This was followed by a full English breakfast which arrived within 10 minutes with everything piping hot. Other options included eggs on toast, a cheese selection and a champagne breakfast if you wanted to pay more. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the convenience of this small hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulalisuffolk, Owner at Grove House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Many thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Not as advertised.... Room 21... We paid for an en suite and we got a shower room a short walk from our bedroom. As we had to pass another bedroom we had to lock our bedroom door every time we popped to the toilet! We also requested a double bed & a back bedroom and got twin beds on the front of the house.... Located on a busy main dual track road, it was 3am before the traffic noise was bearable.... We wouldn't use again...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsZzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulalisuffolk, Owner at Grove House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I am extremely disappointed you did not have the stay you wished for. We endeavour to accommodate whenever possible.
When you booked it states that it was a twin room - this is a feature of our booking system, and when you arrived I also said there was nothing I could do as we were full - otherwise we would have moved you.
As a result I knocked £20 off the bill as a gesture of good will and you were asked if that was satisfactory - to which you replied yes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Have just spent four nights at the Grove House. It is rated 4* Guest House by the AA and it lives up to its rating. Our King Sized room was exactly that with a king sizes bed comfortable armchairs and plenty of room. The bathroom was the largest I have seen in any hotel in which I have stayed. It had a full sized bath and a separate shower unit and still had plenty of room to move. Breakfast was large and freshly cooked using local products. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday and Sunday and there was a very good choice again freshly cooked mainly local produce at a reasonable price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The whole place had been recenly decorated. Fully recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: If possible choose a king size room but other roms are a reasonable size with the same level of comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulalisuffolk, Owner at Grove House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Well situated on a quite part of the A12 Woodbridge by-pass, we experienced no traffic noise at all. Check in was quick and friendly and an offer to carry our luggage was made by the staff. Room was clean, comfortable and had everything in it we needed, a request for extra coffee sachets was promptly dealt with. Breakfast was excellent as were the two evening meals, the menus for both being comprehensive and suited to all tastes. Ed the manager was amazing, not only as a manager but as a chef, he was absolutely on the ball the whole time ensuring that guests were attended to in a friendly, polite and professional manner. Free Wi-fi is a bonus and it worked well at all times, free parking was also welcome. Nice gardens behind the hotel if you get the weather to spend time outside. The Hotel is painted cream sp don't look for a teracotta coloured building as per direction. We would certainly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whittlesf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulalisuffolk, Owner at Grove House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
many thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding in the area, so we didn't spend a huge amount of time at the hotel but were impressed with everything while we were there. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. They helped us out with taxi numbers and were more than happy for us to check in an hour early so we could get to the wedding on time. Breakfast was very nice and we didn't have to wait for long either. All in all a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaHenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulalisuffolk, Owner at Grove House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Many thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
503 reviews
4.6 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
35 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House Hotel

Property: Grove House Hotel
Address: 39 Grove Road, Woodbridge IP12 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House Hotel is a small, friendly, family run Hotel situated just on the outskirts of the beautiful market town of Woodbridge, Suffolk. Providing 10 en-suite bedrooms, fully licensed Bar and Restuarant, and plenty of free parking, the Hotel is located within easy reach of Woodbridge and access to the A!2 and all of the Heritage Coast. Once you have visited, you will return, whether you are on business, holiday, golfing trip or visiting friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Grove House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing